Thread: PS3 or PC?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    ExplosionSlash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    63
    Reputation
    17
    Thanks
    153

    PS3 or PC?

    I am definetly planning to get Battlefield 3.
    As of now, I've taken my Dad's old desktop, which runs FPS's averagely, much better than my old desktop and extremely better than my laptop.
    It runs CA at a decently high 50-60 FPS, and Assassins Creed Brotherhood with Max Settings pretty smoothly.

    I have friends that will be playing both on PC and PS3.
    I'd also like to know if I pre-order / buy it, will it be able to activate my steam account? As of now, I have no purchased steam games, and I cannot add friends, ect.

    Here are my PC specs.
    I will be playing on a 22" 1080p Monitor for PC, or a 63" 1080p Plasma for PS3.

    Windows 7 64-Bit SP1
    AMD Athlon II X2 250
    8GB RAM
    ATI Radeon HD 4800 [1GB]

    Thank you very much!
    ~ES

    edit : I'd also like to play BF3 at reasonable settings, not necessarily Max, but enough to compare to BF:BC2 At least.
    Last edited by ExplosionSlash; 09-19-2011 at 09:22 PM.
    ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ஜ۩۞۩ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
    Ohaider.
    ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ஜ۩۞۩ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬


  2. #2
    Moshos1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Outside your window.
    Posts
    333
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    14
    My Mood
    Lonely
    I'm not very good with computers, but it looks like you should be able to play at least on low settings, probably medium I'm so keen aswell, very excited! <3







  3. #3
    Jakob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    4,722
    Reputation
    237
    Thanks
    505
    My Mood
    Psychedelic
    First off: Get it on PC.
    With only reading the title, i knew the answer.
    It's a PC game, ported to other consoles (unlike cod).
    On PC you get the 64 player game mode = sexy.

    Although, most the specs are good, but the GPU (graphics card) might hold you back a touch. But I'd say you'd be able to play on medium settings with a decent FPS.

    Personal opinions also come into play though, like:
    PS3 = more players = better chance of getting a closer host.
    PS3 = less hackers = better gaming experience.
    PS3 = cheaper to run/play in the long term.
    PS3 = less features than PC.


    I'd still say PC though
    RIP MINECRAFT SECTION!
    03.10.2010 - 26.09.2011

  4. #4
    Stevenomra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    316
    Reputation
    5
    Thanks
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by Jakob View Post
    First off: Get it on PC.
    With only reading the title, i knew the answer.
    It's a PC game, ported to other consoles (unlike cod).
    On PC you get the 64 player game mode = sexy.

    Although, most the specs are good, but the GPU (graphics card) might hold you back a touch. But I'd say you'd be able to play on medium settings with a decent FPS.

    Personal opinions also come into play though, like:
    PS3 = more players = better chance of getting a closer host.
    PS3 = less hackers = better gaming experience.
    PS3 = cheaper to run/play in the long term.
    PS3 = less features than PC.


    I'd still say PC though
    Closer host?
    There will be server filters on PC.
    And you can check your ping.

  5. #5
    Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    female
    Location
    In your meatus
    Posts
    23,560
    Reputation
    2912
    Thanks
    5,336
    My Mood
    Twisted
    You'll be able to run on low I know that for sure. However I'm not sure if anything higher because I don't know how extensive their scaling is.

  6. #6
    Jakob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    4,722
    Reputation
    237
    Thanks
    505
    My Mood
    Psychedelic
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevenom View Post


    Closer host?
    There will be server filters on PC.
    And you can check your ping.
    If he doesn't live in the city, like myself, he'll know that he'd have a better chance finding a good nearby host, rather then a server hosted in a city.

    guess it depends on his location but eh
    RIP MINECRAFT SECTION!
    03.10.2010 - 26.09.2011

  7. #7
    IHaxYou!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    HaxLand
    Posts
    937
    Reputation
    -18
    Thanks
    382
    My Mood
    Cynical
    Upgrade your graphics card and you might have a chance of running it.

  8. #8
    Faux's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    Posts
    1,344
    Reputation
    33
    Thanks
    272
    My Mood
    Pensive
    Your graphics card is really hurting your chances.

    Go on a limb, and get what i have. GTX 560 ti.

    Although it costs around $275, it will still be able to play the game at basically max.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Faux For This Useful Post:

    Fogest (09-20-2011)

  10. #9
    ExplosionSlash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    63
    Reputation
    17
    Thanks
    153
    Thank you everyone.
    I'm planning to get a new Graphics Card soon, but I'll go ahead and Pre-Order PC to get the beta on the 27th x]
    I live in a suburb, and my DL speed is 50~60mbps.

    ~ES
    edit : Would this be fine?
    http://www.jr.com/xfx/pe/XFX_HD557XZHL2/
    or
    http://www.walmart.com/ip/Gigabyte-T...00000029469730
    Last edited by ExplosionSlash; 09-20-2011 at 03:57 PM.
    ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ஜ۩۞۩ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
    Ohaider.
    ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ஜ۩۞۩ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬


  11. #10
    Gamerusher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Ragecon.com
    Posts
    863
    Reputation
    25
    Thanks
    44
    My Mood
    Bored
    Quote Originally Posted by ExplosionSlash View Post
    Thank you everyone.
    I'm planning to get a new Graphics Card soon, but I'll go ahead and Pre-Order PC to get the beta on the 27th x]
    I live in a suburb, and my DL speed is 50~60mbps.

    ~ES
    edit : Would this be fine?
    JR.com: XFX RADEON HD 5570 1GB DDR3 PCI Express 2.1 Video Card - HD-557X-ZHL2 in Computer Video Cards
    or
    Walmart.com: Gigabyte Technology Radeon HD5670 1GB PCIe Graphics Card: Computers
    Thats a Nice speed! But yeah all you need is a new GPU get ahold of a 500 Series and call it good.
    I Dont really like Radeon..

    I Bought a GTX 590 Classified when they released for Overkill, 16Gigs of ram, Level 10 GT case, 1000W PSU, I7 3.4ghz (3.8) OC

  12. #11
    stylos114's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    可憐的母狗世界
    Posts
    375
    Reputation
    45
    Thanks
    54
    My Mood
    Paranoid
    I say pc cause you will hack xD
    WANNAH SMOKE SUM COLOURED WEED? THERE YAH GO --->

  13. #12
    ANG3LM4N's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    45
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    86
    My Mood
    Cynical
    If you can't handle it you can always play PS3 with mouse and keyboard if that's what you're after. The Battleeye is a component which allows people to play with their mouse and keyboard. Overall giving you a nice advantage. But I'm no computer expert so I don't know if you can handle it or not.

  14. #13
    ☬Ξη†τσρîζ Ζσ♍βîε δτσηε☬
    Former Staff
    Premium Member
    Lehsyrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,899
    Reputation
    1281
    Thanks
    3,064
    Quote Originally Posted by Faux View Post
    Your graphics card is really hurting your chances.

    Go on a limb, and get what i have. GTX 560 ti.

    Although it costs around $275, it will still be able to play the game at basically max.
    No, Radeon 6950. Less power consumption for the same performance and price, as well it can be unlocked to be 6970.

  15. #14
    bullpop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,695
    Reputation
    287
    Thanks
    2,168
    My Mood
    Psychedelic
    problem with PC is cheating, otherwise PCPCPCPCPCPCPCPCPCPC
    MPGH Member Since 10/17/2010
    Battlefield Minion Since 01/22/2014 till - 08/27/2014
    APB Minion since 11/12/2011 till 4/16/2012

  16. #15
    ExplosionSlash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    63
    Reputation
    17
    Thanks
    153
    Quote Originally Posted by ANG3LM4N View Post
    If you can't handle it you can always play PS3 with mouse and keyboard if that's what you're after. The Battleeye is a component which allows people to play with their mouse and keyboard. Overall giving you a nice advantage. But I'm no computer expert so I don't know if you can handle it or not.
    Never thought about that, I'll look into this.
    Thank you all for the answers :]

    ~ES
    ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ஜ۩۞۩ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
    Ohaider.
    ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ஜ۩۞۩ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Why the PS3 will win?
    By arunforce in forum Debate Fort
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 09-23-2007, 06:39 PM
  2. PS3 In Action
    By Dave84311 in forum General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-06-2006, 05:05 PM
  3. Do you still want a PS3?!
    By arunforce in forum General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-29-2006, 10:39 AM
  4. PS3 Commercial =>
    By Dave84311 in forum General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-26-2006, 06:20 PM
  5. Who needs WII when u got PS3?
    By Dave84311 in forum General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-09-2006, 10:35 PM