Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    HeartCard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Gender
    female
    Posts
    2
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    My Mood
    Cynical

    Changing CA Models?

    I'm sure more than a few of us have seen the youtube videos were someone changed the model/skin of their gun(ex: into the old tommy gun).

    Now I've got some models I'd like to swap, but I haven't the foggiest concept of how to swap the models in CA for my personal models/skins.

    Directly, I'm wanting to swap one of the BASE Character Models for a model I made, I'd also like to swap the knife model with my own personal weapon model.

    I simply have no clue how at the moment.

    So, any help?

  2. #2
    Dark_fail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    10
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    My Mood
    Happy
    im sure to

  3. #3
    eric565's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    82
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    2
    My Mood
    Bored
    okay cool me to

  4. #4
    Shadowraccon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    California
    Posts
    161
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    3
    My Mood
    Amused
    Hmm... try asking a mod lets c what they tell u

  5. #5
    Ugleh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    House, Where you live?
    Posts
    274
    Reputation
    17
    Thanks
    196
    My Mood
    Blah
    I believe its the same concept of editing textures. I will look into this more.

    I will also see if you can use tools like Blender to make your own models.

  6. #6
    LegendaryAbbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    5,244
    Reputation
    23
    Thanks
    546
    My Mood
    Relaxed
    Quote Originally Posted by Ugleh View Post
    I believe its the same concept of editing textures. I will look into this more.

    I will also see if you can use tools like Blender to make your own models.
    talk to whitten liz blackangel.... I think they be doing this.

  7. #7
    Shadowraccon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    California
    Posts
    161
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    3
    My Mood
    Amused
    tell corndog about it i think he started this
    Last edited by Shadowraccon; 10-04-2009 at 10:07 PM. Reason: hi

  8. #8
    Grim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    5,362
    Reputation
    112
    Thanks
    3,781
    My Mood
    Cynical
    its just a visual effect from editing the texture files.. its of no actual use.
    Want to see my programs?
    \/ CLICK IT BITCHES \/

  9. #9
    HeartCard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Gender
    female
    Posts
    2
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    My Mood
    Cynical

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by WarPathSin666 View Post
    its just a visual effect from editing the texture files.. its of no actual use.
    Huh? You're not very knowledgeable, are you?
    Editing the model files is not allowed for a rather obvious reason.
    Animations.

    Things like Reload, Fire Rate, Draw time, and even the Sniper Scope "Breathing" motion are all controlled by the model file's animations.
    If the reload animation takes 3.5 seconds to play, then the gun will take 3.5 seconds to reload. Things like "Quick Reload Clip" and "Ammo Clip" multiply that particular animation speed. Which is why they say "-15% reload speed/time" instead of "-0.475 reload seconds".

    So if you take the model of a Law which has like a 5 second reload animation, and edit that "Reload" animation, you could have a instant-reload Law.
    Likewise, you could have a rapid-fire Law by also cutting the fire animation time to 0 seconds. And have it instantly firable by cutting out the draw time animation to 0 seconds.


    The variety of it's uses are extensive.
    Imagine a L9 Sniper with a Machine Gun's fire rate and a M16 reload speed.


    And think of the Sniper "Breathing" motion when you go into scope mode. That can be removed. I'm think it's probably an animation on each Character model, rather than each sniper rifle. I could be wrong of course.


    While some models such as the Scorpion and Viper are Server-sided and thus not replaceable, regular models such as Mei and the Base characters are client-sided and 100% replaceable just like several guns are.



    Saying this has no use is sheerly ignorance.
    I'm not going "OMG PLZ BE MAKIN DIS HAKK", but I just thought I'd let you know that this is worth looking into.

    Instant reload/Max firerate/instant draw time, no sniper scope "breathing" motion, there are alot of possibilities.
    All that needs to be done is someone needs to explain how to replace CA models and that'll be that.

Similar Threads

  1. Changing Character Models
    By bladeofgrim in forum Vindictus Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-27-2011, 09:17 AM
  2. [REQUEST/IDEA] Changing the models for accesories
    By loopyman in forum Combat Arms Mod Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-28-2010, 11:52 PM
  3. how do i change a model into a nx model
    By mongoose5697 backup in forum Combat Arms Mod Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-06-2009, 11:42 AM
  4. about changing models
    By mongoose5697 in forum Combat Arms Mod Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-04-2009, 05:31 PM
  5. Changing Models
    By Dillonz in forum Combat Arms Mod Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-30-2009, 09:35 PM