Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    dubs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,120
    Reputation
    14
    Thanks
    382
    My Mood
    Devilish

    Update windows xp to win7

    I recently updated my windows xp to windows 7
    Win7 rockkkkkks =)
    I got it for free =D

  2. #2
    ROUGHS3X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    MPGH's resident persona non grata.
    Posts
    3,368
    Reputation
    38
    Thanks
    481
    My Mood
    Amused
    I hope you downgraded to XP and that's how you had it. If your PC shipped with XP you might have problems now. If it shipped with Vista and you downgraded to XP you should be fine. Vista and 7 have roughly the same system requirements but XP far differs and consumes fewer system resources.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to ROUGHS3X For This Useful Post:

    dubs (01-06-2010)

  4. #3
    dubs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,120
    Reputation
    14
    Thanks
    382
    My Mood
    Devilish
    Quote Originally Posted by ROUGHS3X View Post
    I hope you downgraded to XP and that's how you had it. If your PC shipped with XP you might have problems now. If it shipped with Vista and you downgraded to XP you should be fine. Vista and 7 have roughly the same system requirements but XP far differs and consumes fewer system resources.
    My computer when i first got it it had win xp
    so ill have problems now ?

    thanks for the info
    im not gettin any errors or anything yet.

    am I allowed to upload windows 7 to mpgh so people can get it free ?

  5. #4
    ROUGHS3X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    MPGH's resident persona non grata.
    Posts
    3,368
    Reputation
    38
    Thanks
    481
    My Mood
    Amused
    That's debatable. It depends on the specs. Vista and 7 require almost 1 GB of RAM just to operate. A program like CA would require almost another GB. So if it seems to be running slow or freezing at all that's why. Usually, but not always, XP systems were single core machines with right around 1-2 GB of RAM and fewer than 2 GHz. So it all depends on what you're running. If you're running a dual-core, 2x(1.9) GHz processor with 4 GB of RAM you'll be just fine if not better off.

  6. #5
    Stephen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Engine.exe
    Posts
    4,690
    Reputation
    184
    Thanks
    1,147
    My Mood
    Aggressive
    Never do upgrade... Do Clean install....

  7. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Stephen For This Useful Post:

    dubs (01-06-2010),[MPGH]KING (01-06-2010),wilson97 (01-06-2010)

  8. #6
    ROUGHS3X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    MPGH's resident persona non grata.
    Posts
    3,368
    Reputation
    38
    Thanks
    481
    My Mood
    Amused
    That's probably what he means. Most people consider upgrading to be moving from one OS to a newer OS.

  9. #7
    immortalxgod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    166
    Reputation
    11
    Thanks
    19
    My Mood
    Amused
    win 7 was already uploaded here. If you got it from a torrent feel free to send it to me. But don't upload it here at this time.

  10. #8
    Stephen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Engine.exe
    Posts
    4,690
    Reputation
    184
    Thanks
    1,147
    My Mood
    Aggressive
    Torrents Fail...

    Usenet FTW!

  11. #9
    mooserman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    529
    Reputation
    7
    Thanks
    29
    My Mood
    Busy
    Quote Originally Posted by dubs View Post
    I recently updated my windows xp to windows 7
    Win7 rockkkkkks =)
    I got it for free =D
    wow you cheap bastard...
    [YOUTUBE]NsOG1khq8Rs[/YOUTUBE]

    ^^^Check Out the Crazy Black Chick that was on my Bus^^^






  12. #10
    bloddyapache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    1,273
    Reputation
    15
    Thanks
    107
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by dubs View Post
    I recently updated my windows xp to windows 7
    Win7 rockkkkkks =)
    I got it for free =D
    your guna lag so much on combat arms but also if you have a bad video card then your guna lag even more because win7 windows needs more MB for the video cards (because of i windows media center and the newer directx updates etc.) ... most ppl with windows xp have semi good video cards but not enough to support a new operating system
    add me on psn ---> vlackops

  13. #11
    NuB_GhOsT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,083
    Reputation
    18
    Thanks
    60
    My Mood
    Devilish
    Like Stephen do a clean install it's the easiest way and like the name says the cleanest way...

  14. #12
    Stephen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Engine.exe
    Posts
    4,690
    Reputation
    184
    Thanks
    1,147
    My Mood
    Aggressive
    LOL, Listen to me! Bow down to me!

  15. #13
    Mouzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Saegertown
    Posts
    9,151
    Reputation
    520
    Thanks
    2,036
    My Mood
    Happy
    Quote Originally Posted by bloddyapache View Post
    your guna lag so much on combat arms but also if you have a bad video card then your guna lag even more because win7 windows needs more MB for the video cards (because of i windows media center and the newer directx updates etc.) ... most ppl with windows xp have semi good video cards but not enough to support a new operating system
    Actually, video cards takes up little space sense they are part of the PC, not the OS.

    I have a Nvidia gaming PC

    http://di1.shopping.com/images1/pi/7...case+wo+PS.jpg

    Looks like but I have a special edition which have the Nvidia 'eye' as the side window.

    I have two 8600GXT Nvidea card on it, a 2.5 Duel Core Processor and countless memory and ram, this beast can play GTA4 and FarCry2 on it. (which you'll need a very high spec to play them).

    They don't take much space, Window 7 are more faster and stable then Vista and XP.

  16. #14
    NuB_GhOsT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,083
    Reputation
    18
    Thanks
    60
    My Mood
    Devilish
    all hail Stephen?

  17. #15
    Solley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    because we all dont know eachother
    Posts
    2,763
    Reputation
    28
    Thanks
    289
    My Mood
    Yeehaw
    Lol my computer was made with xp but the specs own it . Intel 2duo e8500, 4gig ram and nvidia dual core 9800 gt
    Quote Originally Posted by Nexon View Post
    Attention Soldiers!
    Me and Sam 69.
    --Combat Arms Command--
    good to know, Nexon.

    (\__/)
    (>_<)
    ('') ('')

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [Help] Windows 7(64 bit)not working for new update
    By GS-HITMAN in forum CrossFire Hacks & Cheats
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 02-21-2010, 12:13 PM
  2. Windows XP is obselete. Get Win7.
    By raghib33 in forum Combat Arms Discussions
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 02-01-2010, 08:53 PM
  3. Windows Shitty Vista Update Hangs.
    By redangel00 in forum Hardware & Software Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-21-2009, 02:21 AM
  4. Windows Update
    By blueduece2 in forum Flaming & Rage
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-10-2009, 08:58 AM
  5. Replies: 39
    Last Post: 04-25-2009, 12:14 PM