Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Nick90601k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    32
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    2
    My Mood
    Amazed

    Question about fraps...

    Not sure if this belongs here...if it doesn't no harm was intended just have a quick question about FRAPS.

    I'm trying to make a new montage, however, I'm having troubles with in game lag. Every time I hit the hotkey for my FRAPS to start recording, the game begins to lag and slow down. I realize this is a framerate issue. I need to know how do I know what framerate to set FRAPS to when recording Combat Arms. Any help will be greatly appreciated as well as names in the thanks section of the montage.

    Thank you and have a nice day,

    Pwn

  2. #2
    ROUGHS3X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    MPGH's resident persona non grata.
    Posts
    3,368
    Reputation
    38
    Thanks
    481
    My Mood
    Amused
    That's typical and bound to happen unless you possess some godly video card and you're running on a great ISP. To counter it though make sure you're using the least taxing settings in Combat Arms. Also try changing the settings in Fraps to half-size, lower the frame rate to 28 or so, and try not to leave it running for too long.

  3. #3
    supernova2131's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Under Your Bed
    Posts
    1,811
    Reputation
    7
    Thanks
    99
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Buy a new computer
    /done

  4. #4
    Zoom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Your going on my 24/7 DDoS hit list.
    Posts
    8,561
    Reputation
    127
    Thanks
    5,912
    My Mood
    Happy
    Try record with lower fps!
    -Rest in peace leechers-

    Your PM box is 100% full.

  5. #5
    supernova2131's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Under Your Bed
    Posts
    1,811
    Reputation
    7
    Thanks
    99
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by hejsan1 View Post
    Try record with lower fps!
    Lower FPS makes a worse quality montage...

  6. #6
    Nick90601k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    32
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    2
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by supernova2131 View Post

    Lower FPS makes a worse quality montage...
    True...what would Half-size do?

  7. #7
    supernova2131's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Under Your Bed
    Posts
    1,811
    Reputation
    7
    Thanks
    99
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Half size lowers the resolution by half, if you are recording at half size and your game is at 800X600, your video will be 400X300

  8. #8
    Nick90601k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    32
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    2
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by supernova2131 View Post
    Half size lowers the resolution by half, if you are recording at half size and your game is at 800X600, your video will be 400X300
    If posted on youtube would it fit to screen? or would it be like a little tiny screen within the youtube screen.

  9. #9
    supernova2131's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Under Your Bed
    Posts
    1,811
    Reputation
    7
    Thanks
    99
    My Mood
    Amazed
    400X300 is horrible, HQ=800x600 HD=1280X800

    These are some of my videos

    High Def 1280X800


    High Quality 800x600


    I recommend 1280x800
    Last edited by supernova2131; 11-13-2009 at 12:08 PM.

  10. #10
    ChelseaSmile's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    female
    Posts
    9
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    ya do wat he said

  11. #11
    Azathᴏth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    49°51′S 128°34′W
    Posts
    13,526
    Reputation
    1136
    Thanks
    1,683
    My Mood
    Lurking
    Quote Originally Posted by ChelseaSmile View Post
    ya do wat he said
    Well aren't you helpful...

    Anyway back on topic. For some reason the higher fps I do, the less lag gets generated. I run at 75fps. I run on decent integrated graphics and probably a good ISP, because I have zero lag.

    What's you memory, graphics card, ISP and cpu?

  12. #12
    Azathᴏth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    49°51′S 128°34′W
    Posts
    13,526
    Reputation
    1136
    Thanks
    1,683
    My Mood
    Lurking
    Quote Originally Posted by ChelseaSmile View Post
    ya do wat he said
    Well aren't you helpful...

    Anyway back on topic. For some reason the higher fps I do, the less lag gets generated. I run at 75fps. I run on decent integrated graphics and probably a good ISP, because I have zero lag.

    What's you memory, graphics card, ISP and cpu?

    Crap, sorry for double, internet lagged out for a sec.
    Last edited by Azathᴏth; 11-13-2009 at 03:34 PM. Reason: accidental double post

Similar Threads

  1. Questions about Torrents.
    By SadisticGrin in forum Hardware & Software Support
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 12-20-2006, 04:34 PM
  2. Question About Invisible Hack
    By wafflele in forum WarRock - International Hacks
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 08-06-2006, 01:40 AM
  3. A question about NFV2
    By vomer in forum WarRock - International Hacks
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 08-02-2006, 07:02 PM
  4. Questions about making colored models
    By zelda803 in forum WarRock - International Hacks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-04-2006, 07:36 PM
  5. question about zoom
    By yocinfluence in forum WarRock - International Hacks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-26-2006, 11:12 PM

Tags for this Thread