Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Xenocide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,499
    Reputation
    2486
    Thanks
    9,745

    m2 drive and ram cache

    As m2 drives are super fast already, I started to think about the ram cache feature some asus boards have.
    Is m2 faster than ram? If not, is it worth using ram cache on top of an m2 drive?
    Are there any risks of data loss?

  2. #2
    Vice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Gender
    female
    Location
    👹👹👹👹👹👹👹👹👹👹👹
    Posts
    1,767
    Reputation
    173
    Thanks
    1,294
    My Mood
    Devilish
    Dont know much about it either :/
    5/22/2017

  3. #3
    Aborted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Shitpost Defense
    Posts
    17,609
    Reputation
    3137
    Thanks
    6,445
    My Mood
    Twisted
    M2's are fast, but NVMe's are even faster.
    Both are still slower than RAM, but they're non-volatile unlike RAM is.

    RAM cache is only worth it if you have enough overhead (such as having 32GB, but only using 8GB of it on a regular basis), and once again RAM is completely volatile, and you'll lose all your data as soon as your machine turns off. Using it for quick read/writes cycles like encoding videos may be worth it, and then transferring it over to a HDD,SSD,M2, or NVMe.


    Last edited by Aborted; 09-09-2016 at 08:19 PM.
    I am the seer in the dark,
    the vagabond of yore,
    valediction.
    I am the sum of all your parts,
    and proprietor of all.
    A miasma,
    the conclusion,
    blackmonger of Inlé,
    valediction.
    Synapses fray,
    my form now vivid,
    as torpor sets and blood grows tepid.
    With every ounce of flesh now offered,
    I hold your corpse within my coffers.
    Knitted cells now split asunder,
    stand alongside me brother.

  4. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Aborted For This Useful Post:

    Poseidon (09-09-2016),[MPGH]Raple (09-09-2016),[MPGH]Xenocide (09-09-2016)

  5. #4
    Raple's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    8,278
    Reputation
    2514
    Thanks
    7,385
    Quote Originally Posted by Aborted View Post
    M2's are fast, but NVMe's are even faster.
    Both are still slower than RAM, but they're non-volatile unlike RAM is.

    RAM cache is only worth it if you have enough overhead (such as having 32GB, but only using 8GB of it on a regular basis), and once again RAM is completely volatile, and you'll lose all your data as soon as your machine turns off. Using it for quick read/writes cycles like encoding videos may be worth it, and then transferring it over to a HDD,SSD,M2, or NVMe.


    Literally universal genius, you never cease to surprise me.

    Quote Originally Posted by arunforce View Post
    WHEN HE DIES IT WILL BE THE ULTIMATE INSULT
     
    PM me to get a banner in my sig ^
    Donations: 12JR4DDbCgZRdAGAXf1NzSSwh55icfXZPW
    +0.007412 BTC from Joker

    Official Publicist - May 2017
    Moderator - May 2017
    Other MMORPGs Minion - May 2017
    Steam Minion - May 2017
    Minecraft Minion - May 2017
    Realm of the Mad God Minion - May 2017




     
    Demoted for Inactivity - March 2017
    Steam Minion - November 2016
    Moderator - October 2016
    Other MMORPGs Minion - August 2016
    Minion+ - April 2016
    Runescape Minion - March 2016
    Official News Team Editor - March 2016
    Official News Team Interviewer - March 2016
    Official News Team (Global News) - February 2016
    AVA Minion - November 2015
    Minecraft Minion - October 2015
    Realm of the Mad God Minion - July 2015
    Official Publicist - April 2015
    Official Middle Man - April 2015



    I will strive to be GM one day, I swear on that.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Raple For This Useful Post:

    Aborted (09-09-2016)

  7. #5
    Poseidon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    6,981
    Posts
    3,254
    Reputation
    576
    Thanks
    2,104
    My Mood
    Bored
    Quote Originally Posted by Aborted View Post
    M2's are fast, but NVMe's are even faster.
    Both are still slower than RAM, but they're non-volatile unlike RAM is.

    RAM cache is only worth it if you have enough overhead (such as having 32GB, but only using 8GB of it on a regular basis), and once again RAM is completely volatile, and you'll lose all your data as soon as your machine turns off. Using it for quick read/writes cycles like encoding videos may be worth it, and then transferring it over to a HDD,SSD,M2, or NVMe.


    Please. You explain it and it made sense. How you do this. Please teach me.
    Please press +Rep and/or Thanks if I assisted you or was of service in any way.




  8. #6
    Xenocide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,499
    Reputation
    2486
    Thanks
    9,745
    Quote Originally Posted by Aborted View Post
    M2's are fast, but NVMe's are even faster.
    Both are still slower than RAM, but they're non-volatile unlike RAM is.

    RAM cache is only worth it if you have enough overhead (such as having 32GB, but only using 8GB of it on a regular basis), and once again RAM is completely volatile, and you'll lose all your data as soon as your machine turns off. Using it for quick read/writes cycles like encoding videos may be worth it, and then transferring it over to a HDD,SSD,M2, or NVMe.


    Is it possible to have it write information to drive periodically?
    Say every five minutes, preventing complete data loss?
    I'd love to have an NVMe setup as a system drive, having ram cache on top as I did intend to work my way towards 64gb's worth of DDR4's.
    Progressing to having a bigger amount of storage with pretty much lightning fast bootups and transfers.

  9. #7
    Aborted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Shitpost Defense
    Posts
    17,609
    Reputation
    3137
    Thanks
    6,445
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Gray View Post
    Is it possible to have it write information to drive periodically?
    Say every five minutes, preventing complete data loss?
    I'd love to have an NVMe setup as a system drive, having ram cache on top as I did intend to work my way towards 64gb's worth of DDR4's.
    Progressing to having a bigger amount of storage with pretty much lightning fast bootups and transfers.
    So basically you want to create a 64GB persistent Ramdisk, with your OS on an NVMe.
    Yeah you can do that, most RAM Disk software allows for the scheduled creation of system images; creating an active system image of your RAM disk, and saving it on to your non-volatile NVMe drive, and if anything goes wrong it can easily boot the last saved image.
    I am the seer in the dark,
    the vagabond of yore,
    valediction.
    I am the sum of all your parts,
    and proprietor of all.
    A miasma,
    the conclusion,
    blackmonger of Inlé,
    valediction.
    Synapses fray,
    my form now vivid,
    as torpor sets and blood grows tepid.
    With every ounce of flesh now offered,
    I hold your corpse within my coffers.
    Knitted cells now split asunder,
    stand alongside me brother.

  10. #8
    Xenocide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,499
    Reputation
    2486
    Thanks
    9,745
    Quote Originally Posted by Aborted View Post

    So basically you want to create a 64GB persistent Ramdisk, with your OS on an NVMe.
    Yeah you can do that, most RAM Disk software allows for the scheduled creation of system images; creating an active system image of your RAM disk, and saving it on to your non-volatile NVMe drive, and if anything goes wrong it can easily boot the last saved image.
    That sounds exactly like what I need. I'd likely have out of the 64gb at least 32gb worth of cache.
    So that everything else that may be running have more than enough space to work on.

    Would you say that the extra speed is worth it?
    How much would it affect the bootup time, would I be looking at a few seconds to boot the PC up?

    Say I get a Samsung 950 Pro Series MZ-V5P256BW 256GB as a the drive to have it store on, with the ram cache.
    The speed is already around 2200mb/s for read and 900mb/s for write, what speeds would be expected with all of this? Is there like a percentual increase, is there a drop off point where it's simply not worth it anymore?

    How much will the clocking speed of the ram affect this in terms of work speed? Because I'm looking at 3200, 3333 and 3400's.

Similar Threads

  1. Razer blade , prepaid shipment and ram
    By Same0ldm3 in forum Social Engineering Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-19-2016, 12:05 PM
  2. [WTB] VPS/RDP Admin Access , high internet and ram !!!
    By Unicorn-Pussy in forum Buying Accounts/Keys/Items
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-13-2016, 09:51 AM
  3. My new GPU and Ram.
    By Dot in forum Computer Builds & Upgrades
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 12-04-2015, 01:03 PM
  4. [Release] New #10 Jeep Jump And Ramming Speed
    By siahtekrr in forum Battlefield Heroes Hacks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-31-2011, 02:53 PM
  5. rimming and ramming
    By Sjoerd in forum General
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-01-2010, 06:09 AM