Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Grå's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,396
    Reputation
    2486
    Thanks
    9,582

    m2 drive and ram cache

    As m2 drives are super fast already, I started to think about the ram cache feature some asus boards have.
    Is m2 faster than ram? If not, is it worth using ram cache on top of an m2 drive?
    Are there any risks of data loss?

  2. #2
    Vice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Gender
    female
    Location
    👹👹👹👹👹👹👹👹👹👹👹
    Posts
    1,513
    Reputation
    140
    Thanks
    1,118
    My Mood
    Stressed
    Dont know much about it either :/
    Selling cheap Spotfiy/Hulu/WWE/Fitbit accounts
    PM, accounts as low as 0.2$

  3. #3
    Aborted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Shitpost Defense
    Posts
    17,482
    Reputation
    3101
    Thanks
    6,406
    My Mood
    Twisted
    M2's are fast, but NVMe's are even faster.
    Both are still slower than RAM, but they're non-volatile unlike RAM is.

    RAM cache is only worth it if you have enough overhead (such as having 32GB, but only using 8GB of it on a regular basis), and once again RAM is completely volatile, and you'll lose all your data as soon as your machine turns off. Using it for quick read/writes cycles like encoding videos may be worth it, and then transferring it over to a HDD,SSD,M2, or NVMe.


    Last edited by Aborted; 09-09-2016 at 09:19 PM.
    When the earth is changed into a humid dungeon,
    In which Hope like a bat
    Goes beating the walls with her timid wings
    And knocking her head against the rotten ceiling;
    When the rain stretching out its endless train
    Imitates the bars of a vast prison
    And a silent horde of loathsome spiders
    Comes to spin their webs in the depths of our brains,
    All at once the bells leap with rage
    And hurl a frightful roar at heaven,
    Even as wandering spirits with no country
    Burst into a stubborn, whimpering cry.
    — And without drums or music, long hearses
    Pass by slowly in my soul; Hope, vanquished,
    Weeps, and atrocious, despotic Anguish
    On my bowed skull plants her black flag.

  4. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Aborted For This Useful Post:

    Athena (09-09-2016),[MPGH]Grå (09-09-2016),Raple (09-09-2016)

  5. #4
    Raple's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    8,000
    Reputation
    2297
    Thanks
    7,165
    Quote Originally Posted by Aborted View Post
    M2's are fast, but NVMe's are even faster.
    Both are still slower than RAM, but they're non-volatile unlike RAM is.

    RAM cache is only worth it if you have enough overhead (such as having 32GB, but only using 8GB of it on a regular basis), and once again RAM is completely volatile, and you'll lose all your data as soon as your machine turns off. Using it for quick read/writes cycles like encoding videos may be worth it, and then transferring it over to a HDD,SSD,M2, or NVMe.


    Literally universal genius, you never cease to surprise me.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Raple For This Useful Post:

    Aborted (09-09-2016)

  7. #5
    Athena's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Gender
    female
    Posts
    2,240
    Reputation
    445
    Thanks
    1,822
    My Mood
    In Love
    Quote Originally Posted by Aborted View Post
    M2's are fast, but NVMe's are even faster.
    Both are still slower than RAM, but they're non-volatile unlike RAM is.

    RAM cache is only worth it if you have enough overhead (such as having 32GB, but only using 8GB of it on a regular basis), and once again RAM is completely volatile, and you'll lose all your data as soon as your machine turns off. Using it for quick read/writes cycles like encoding videos may be worth it, and then transferring it over to a HDD,SSD,M2, or NVMe.


    Please. You explain it and it made sense. How you do this. Please teach me.
    Please press +Rep and/or Thanks if I assisted you or was of service in any way.



    "Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment."

    -Buddha

  8. #6
    Grå's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,396
    Reputation
    2486
    Thanks
    9,582
    Quote Originally Posted by Aborted View Post
    M2's are fast, but NVMe's are even faster.
    Both are still slower than RAM, but they're non-volatile unlike RAM is.

    RAM cache is only worth it if you have enough overhead (such as having 32GB, but only using 8GB of it on a regular basis), and once again RAM is completely volatile, and you'll lose all your data as soon as your machine turns off. Using it for quick read/writes cycles like encoding videos may be worth it, and then transferring it over to a HDD,SSD,M2, or NVMe.


    Is it possible to have it write information to drive periodically?
    Say every five minutes, preventing complete data loss?
    I'd love to have an NVMe setup as a system drive, having ram cache on top as I did intend to work my way towards 64gb's worth of DDR4's.
    Progressing to having a bigger amount of storage with pretty much lightning fast bootups and transfers.

  9. #7
    Aborted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Shitpost Defense
    Posts
    17,482
    Reputation
    3101
    Thanks
    6,406
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Gray View Post
    Is it possible to have it write information to drive periodically?
    Say every five minutes, preventing complete data loss?
    I'd love to have an NVMe setup as a system drive, having ram cache on top as I did intend to work my way towards 64gb's worth of DDR4's.
    Progressing to having a bigger amount of storage with pretty much lightning fast bootups and transfers.
    So basically you want to create a 64GB persistent Ramdisk, with your OS on an NVMe.
    Yeah you can do that, most RAM Disk software allows for the scheduled creation of system images; creating an active system image of your RAM disk, and saving it on to your non-volatile NVMe drive, and if anything goes wrong it can easily boot the last saved image.
    When the earth is changed into a humid dungeon,
    In which Hope like a bat
    Goes beating the walls with her timid wings
    And knocking her head against the rotten ceiling;
    When the rain stretching out its endless train
    Imitates the bars of a vast prison
    And a silent horde of loathsome spiders
    Comes to spin their webs in the depths of our brains,
    All at once the bells leap with rage
    And hurl a frightful roar at heaven,
    Even as wandering spirits with no country
    Burst into a stubborn, whimpering cry.
    — And without drums or music, long hearses
    Pass by slowly in my soul; Hope, vanquished,
    Weeps, and atrocious, despotic Anguish
    On my bowed skull plants her black flag.

  10. #8
    Grå's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,396
    Reputation
    2486
    Thanks
    9,582
    Quote Originally Posted by Aborted View Post

    So basically you want to create a 64GB persistent Ramdisk, with your OS on an NVMe.
    Yeah you can do that, most RAM Disk software allows for the scheduled creation of system images; creating an active system image of your RAM disk, and saving it on to your non-volatile NVMe drive, and if anything goes wrong it can easily boot the last saved image.
    That sounds exactly like what I need. I'd likely have out of the 64gb at least 32gb worth of cache.
    So that everything else that may be running have more than enough space to work on.

    Would you say that the extra speed is worth it?
    How much would it affect the bootup time, would I be looking at a few seconds to boot the PC up?

    Say I get a Samsung 950 Pro Series MZ-V5P256BW 256GB as a the drive to have it store on, with the ram cache.
    The speed is already around 2200mb/s for read and 900mb/s for write, what speeds would be expected with all of this? Is there like a percentual increase, is there a drop off point where it's simply not worth it anymore?

    How much will the clocking speed of the ram affect this in terms of work speed? Because I'm looking at 3200, 3333 and 3400's.

Similar Threads

  1. Razer blade , prepaid shipment and ram
    By Same0ldm3 in forum Social Engineering Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-19-2016, 01:05 PM
  2. [WTB] VPS/RDP Admin Access , high internet and ram !!!
    By Unicorn-Pussy in forum Buying Accounts/Keys/Items
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-13-2016, 10:51 AM
  3. My new GPU and Ram.
    By CaseSensitive in forum Computer Builds & Upgrades
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 12-04-2015, 02:03 PM
  4. [Release] New #10 Jeep Jump And Ramming Speed
    By siahtekrr in forum Battlefield Heroes Hacks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-31-2011, 03:53 PM
  5. rimming and ramming
    By Sjoerd in forum General
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-01-2010, 07:09 AM