Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    riolux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    8
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0

    MW2 menu/lobby background issues

    Hi I am having some issues with creating my own mw2 menu/lobby background,
    I have
    - converted the menu_mp_image.iwi to a .dds
    - edited the dds in photoshop
    - I save (have tryed saving as ***1 and ***5)
    - droped .dds file into dds2iwi
    - added .iwi file to iw_03.iwd

    when i load game it says "cannot load menu_mp_image"
    Any help to where I ahve gone wrong? I could not find a step by step tutorial anywhere, only for weapon camos.

  2. #2
    Heartview's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    KY Cygni
    Posts
    9,208
    Reputation
    717
    Thanks
    2,872
    It is not possible at this time because the files are in ARGB 8.8.8.8 format, and even if you can save it in that way in photoshop, dds2iwi will not convert it. I scoured the internet for a iwi converter that supports 8.8.8.8 but none exist. Unless pointy upgrades his program, we cant edit the bg image. The clod file is possible, but thats it.
    Texture Mods


    Obedear, the sky is low

  3. #3
    riolux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    8
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    but there are people who have done it, i've seen various threads of people showing and allowing to download their backgrounds for it.
    look here
    http://alteriw.net/viewtopic.php?f=98&t=28724

  4. #4
    Heartview's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    KY Cygni
    Posts
    9,208
    Reputation
    717
    Thanks
    2,872
    Ah, thats clever. I was about to tell you some more technical stuff why it only sorta works, but I read the topic closer and found out what it is.

    That person edited the cloud file, not the actual bg image. He probably also changed the alpha so that it was not transparent, so you cant see the background (the 3 guys) through the cloud image.
    Texture Mods


    Obedear, the sky is low

  5. #5
    greeen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    7
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    2
    you wrote about these 3 guys? I did it!

    [YOUTUBE]Odn5nF02iIs[/YOUTUBE]

  6. #6
    riolux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    8
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    I tryed editing the cloud file, it didnt give me an error message but it didn't look right, it just made the nice smoke effect that goes over the background all fuzzy/pixely. The guy that makes those backgrounds on that thread said on how to install his is

    Just rename the iwi you want to:
    menu_mp_image for a menu background
    and menu_background for a lobby background.

    So you definatly use the mp_menu_image file

  7. #7
    Heartview's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    KY Cygni
    Posts
    9,208
    Reputation
    717
    Thanks
    2,872
    Quote Originally Posted by riolux View Post
    I tryed editing the cloud file, it didnt give me an error message but it didn't look right, it just made the nice smoke effect that goes over the background all fuzzy/pixely. The guy that makes those backgrounds on that thread said on how to install his is

    Just rename the iwi you want to:
    menu_mp_image for a menu background
    and menu_background for a lobby background.

    So you definatly use the mp_menu_image file
    Simply renaming the file is not going to change the fact that it is not saved correctly.
    dds2iwi conversion formats = D.X.T.1, D.X.T. 5
    conversion that you need = ARGB 8.8.8.8

    Without a proper conversion it wont work. But you can go on ahead and try it and tell us what happens.
    Texture Mods


    Obedear, the sky is low

  8. #8
    riolux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    8
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Ok, you said it can be done by editing the cloud file, I changed the cloud file to the picture I wanted, made the alpha transparent(all black) and saved and all that, it worked and I didn't get the error message but the background was just a mess of all fuzzy pixels and messed up colours.

  9. #9
    Heartview's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    KY Cygni
    Posts
    9,208
    Reputation
    717
    Thanks
    2,872
    Quote Originally Posted by riolux View Post
    Ok, you said it can be done by editing the cloud file, I changed the cloud file to the picture I wanted, made the alpha transparent(all black) and saved and all that, it worked and I didn't get the error message but the background was just a mess of all fuzzy pixels and messed up colours.
    I have only changed colors of clouds so I cant be sure of your problem, but if you have it working now, that just means you need to perfect it

    Take some screens of it and Ill see if I can help with the problem.
    Texture Mods


    Obedear, the sky is low

  10. #10
    riolux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    8
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    like this



    Edit: also when trying to make a custom skin for my spas 12, the texture looks much like the pixel fuzzy colours shown in the iamge above.
    Last edited by riolux; 12-07-2010 at 01:19 PM.

  11. #11
    Heartview's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    KY Cygni
    Posts
    9,208
    Reputation
    717
    Thanks
    2,872
    Ah. That comes from either not saving right, and not having the CRC right.

    So when you save, make sure that you save it as D.X.T.5 (I am assuming 5 because there is an alpha layer) with NO MIPmaps. Then you have to hex edit the file and do the CRC fix properly.

    And when you put them back into the game files make sure they are the same size.
    http://www.mpgh.net/forum/281-call-d...c-matches.html

    Follow that to do it right. It will be a lot easier if you use 0rbits iwifixer btw.
    Texture Mods


    Obedear, the sky is low

  12. #12
    riolux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    8
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    EDIT:
    I finally got my image in, but half the background is fuzzed up/ messed up colours?
    the picture is 1280by700
    saved as D.X.T.1
    so annoying I can see half my picture in game!
    *picture*
    Last edited by riolux; 12-08-2010 at 10:58 AM.

  13. #13
    Heartview's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    KY Cygni
    Posts
    9,208
    Reputation
    717
    Thanks
    2,872
    Make sure you are only editing the cloud file and nothing else. And idk how it would only get half of it to work. If I could take a look at the files that would be a lot more helpful.
    Texture Mods


    Obedear, the sky is low

  14. #14
    riolux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    8
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thankyou for the help and time , I finally have it working.
    I edited the menu_mp_images.iwi file
    here is my result-

  15. #15
    Heartview's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    KY Cygni
    Posts
    9,208
    Reputation
    717
    Thanks
    2,872
    Well its good to see you got it working. Make a bunch and release a pack here
    Texture Mods


    Obedear, the sky is low

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast