Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Sydney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Germany...
    Posts
    1,358
    Reputation
    37
    Thanks
    1,144
    My Mood
    Amused

    PTC String Pointer Usage

    Is It Possible to Nop the Address of the PTC String to call the PTC Command ?

    /Discuss
    Last edited by Sydney; 03-12-2011 at 10:19 AM.

    Thanks Cosmos


  2. #2
    CAFlames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Where ever my imagination takes me
    Posts
    3,014
    Reputation
    202
    Thanks
    2,934
    My Mood
    Twisted
    uhh most likely not....

    NOP is changing the value of something...

    PTC is changing where pointer are directed... so I doubt it.

    Current Works:
    ---Horror Game






    Special thanks to drgnforce9 for my sig picture

    Quote Originally Posted by m_t_h View Post

    CAflames is one epic coder.

    Rep and thanks him.. or you're perma banned.

  3. #3
    whit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    7,170
    Reputation
    490
    Thanks
    2,252
    Its possible ...
    How you think they did it before PTC methods was released

  4. #4
    kotentopf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    602
    Reputation
    26
    Thanks
    251
    if im right:
    cshell load the strigns from a pointer. u can give the pointer an address of one of ur strings, than its will work with ur custom string.
    The Internet SHOULD Be Illegal

    When you say
    "Java is a great programming language because it works on all platforms"
    it is just like
    "anal sex is great because it works on all genders"

    Are YOU a Troll?

  5. #5
    +CodeDemon+'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    31
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by CAFlames View Post
    uhh most likely not....

    NOP is changing the value of something...

    PTC is changing where pointer are directed... so I doubt it.
    An NOP does not change the value of something, it removes the operation present at that address in memory. Hence "No Operation Present".

    Quote Originally Posted by Sydney View Post
    Is It Possible to Nop the Address of the PTC String to call the PTC Command ?

    /Discuss
    You would not be NOPing the string, you would NOPing the operation that Pushes the value of the string onto the stack.

    Here is some of the radar function that is responsible for the NX chams.

    Code:
    ___:37347FF4                 push    edi
    ___:37347FF5                 mov     ecx, esi
    ___:37347FF7                 mov     [esi+1B0h], eax
    ___:37347FFD                 call    sub_37347C30
    ___:37348002                 push    1
    ___:37348004                 push    offset aSkelmodelstenc ; "SkelModelStencil"
    ___:37348009                 call    sub_373F9A60
    ___:3734800E                 mov     ecx, off_3781BD50
    ___:37348014                 mov     edx, [ecx]
    Currently push offset aSkelmodelstenc is pushing a value of 0 onto the stack, meaning the Chams are not enabled. By removing that operation you are stopping the value from being pushed onto the stack, turning the chams on.

    By writing the original bytes back, you are writing the original operation back, turning the chams off.

  6. #6
    mmbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    ja
    Posts
    655
    Reputation
    70
    Thanks
    1,156
    My Mood
    Bitchy
    Well, it can work and it can not work. Basically, if you NOP the string then the PTC is locked at its current value. So if you NOP it when it's on, it will stay on.

  7. #7
    Sydney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Germany...
    Posts
    1,358
    Reputation
    37
    Thanks
    1,144
    My Mood
    Amused
    Quote Originally Posted by mmbob View Post
    Well, it can work and it can not work. Basically, if you NOP the string then the PTC is locked at its current value. So if you NOP it when it's on, it will stay on.
    So does that mean it will work, but you just cant change it off ?

    Thanks Cosmos


  8. #8
    +CodeDemon+'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    31
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by Sydney View Post
    So does that mean it will work, but you just cant change it off ?
    He mean's that if you NOP the address that pushes the value, while the chams are on, meaning its pushing a value of 1 onto the stack, the chams will still be on.
    Last edited by +CodeDemon+; 03-12-2011 at 10:54 AM.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to +CodeDemon+ For This Useful Post:

    Sydney (03-12-2011)

  10. #9
    RagedYet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    California
    Posts
    221
    Reputation
    -3
    Thanks
    34
    My Mood
    Devilish
    Quote Originally Posted by Sydney View Post
    Is It Possible to Nop the Address of the PTC String to call the PTC Command ?

    /Discuss
    to code for 5years and say ur a vip? u ask dumb shit there boy. lulz learn something else than compile run.



  11. #10
    Sydney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Germany...
    Posts
    1,358
    Reputation
    37
    Thanks
    1,144
    My Mood
    Amused
    Calm Down Dude, Lie is a Lie.
    Last edited by Sydney; 03-12-2011 at 05:22 PM.

    Thanks Cosmos