Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    supercarz1991's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    North of Hell, South of Heaven
    Posts
    6,067
    Reputation
    323
    Thanks
    3,320
    My Mood
    Doh

    LNK2001 again -_-

    i've never actually figured out how to fix this, but i only get it when i try to put in S2S hacks

    Code:
    Main.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "public: static int __cdecl LTAssert::RunAssert(char const *,char const *,int,char const *,bool,char const *,...)" (?RunAssert@LTAssert@@SAHPBD0H0_N0ZZ)
    1>C:\Users\Boxxi\Documents\Visual Studio 2010\Projects\Hotkey2\Release\Hotkey2.dll : fatal error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals
    i just wanted to test some stuff i have, idk how to fix it and nothing i googled helped

    commando: You're probably the best non-coder coder I know LOL


  2. #2
    Flengo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    15,693
    Reputation
    3319
    Thanks
    11,105
    My Mood
    Happy
    Code:
    #define DISSABLE_ASSERTS
    In Files.h or wherever.


    I Read All Of My PM's & VM's
    If you need help with anything, just let me know.
     
     
    VM | PM

    Publicist Since 04.04.2015
    Middleman Since Unknown - Unknown
    Global Moderator Since 08.01.2013
    Donator Since 05.29.2013

    Minion+ Since 04.18.2013

    District 187 Minion Since 04.04.2013
    Steam Minion Since 02.26.2013
    WarRock Minion Since 02.19.2013
    A.V.A Minion Since 02.13.2013
    DayZ Minion Since 01.21.2013
    Combat Arms Minion Since 12.26.2012
    Contributor Since 11.16.2012
    Member Since 05.11.2010


  3. #3
    supercarz1991's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    North of Hell, South of Heaven
    Posts
    6,067
    Reputation
    323
    Thanks
    3,320
    My Mood
    Doh
    Quote Originally Posted by comando2056 View Post
    Code:
    #define DISSABLE_ASSERTS
    In Files.h or wherever.
    didn't fix it

    commando: You're probably the best non-coder coder I know LOL


  4. #4
    Flengo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    15,693
    Reputation
    3319
    Thanks
    11,105
    My Mood
    Happy
    Quote Originally Posted by supercarz1991 View Post
    didn't fix it
    Put it in Main.h


    I Read All Of My PM's & VM's
    If you need help with anything, just let me know.
     
     
    VM | PM

    Publicist Since 04.04.2015
    Middleman Since Unknown - Unknown
    Global Moderator Since 08.01.2013
    Donator Since 05.29.2013

    Minion+ Since 04.18.2013

    District 187 Minion Since 04.04.2013
    Steam Minion Since 02.26.2013
    WarRock Minion Since 02.19.2013
    A.V.A Minion Since 02.13.2013
    DayZ Minion Since 01.21.2013
    Combat Arms Minion Since 12.26.2012
    Contributor Since 11.16.2012
    Member Since 05.11.2010


  5. #5
    Herpina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    64
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by comando2056 View Post
    Code:
    #define DISSABLE_ASSERTS
    In Files.h or wherever.
    It is a linking error... how will defining "dissable_asserts" link it for him? Smh.
    @OP You will need to link it in your IDE

  6. #6
    supercarz1991's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    North of Hell, South of Heaven
    Posts
    6,067
    Reputation
    323
    Thanks
    3,320
    My Mood
    Doh
    Quote Originally Posted by comando2056 View Post


    Put it in Main.h
    I don't have a main.h lol, i have

    Addies.h
    classes.h
    message.h
    files.h
    Main.cpp

    that's it lol

    and @Herpina I'm self taught from just doing it overtime... "link it in your ide" does not make sense to me XD

    commando: You're probably the best non-coder coder I know LOL


  7. #7
    Ch40zz-C0d3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    839
    Reputation
    44
    Thanks
    400
    My Mood
    Twisted
    1. The define helps, when you put it in the preprocessor located in:
    Project settings -> C/C++ -> preprocessor -> Processordefinitions. Add the define name there.
    All should work now!

    Progress with my game - "Disbanded"
    • Fixed FPS lag on spawning entities due to the ent_preload buffer!
    • Edit the AI code to get some better pathfinding
    • Fixed the view bug within the sniper scope view. The mirror entity is invisible now!
    • Added a new silencer for ALL weapons. Also fixed the rotation bugs
    • Added a ton of new weapons and the choice to choose a silencer for every weapon
    • Created a simple AntiCheat, noobs will cry like hell xD
    • The name will be Disbanded, the alpha starts on the 18th august 2014



    Some new physics fun (Serversided, works on every client)



    My new AI
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EMSB1GbBVl8

    And for sure my 8 months old gameplay with 2 friends
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Na2kUdu4d_k

  8. #8
    Sixx93's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    673
    Reputation
    21
    Thanks
    250
    My Mood
    Cool
    i'm sure that in a cpp file u have defined a class with some function in it and then, in the header u haven't written that function.. that's the why the IDE says it's unresolved

  9. #9
    Ch40zz-C0d3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    839
    Reputation
    44
    Thanks
    400
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Quote Originally Posted by Sixx93 View Post
    i'm sure that in a cpp file u have defined a class with some function in it and then, in the header u haven't written that function.. that's the why the IDE says it's unresolved
    Dude unresolved functions are 100% the opposite of what youve said!
    Its when you declare a function in a header, but theres no function called so in the cpp...
    Last edited by Ch40zz-C0d3r; 07-26-2012 at 05:03 PM.

    Progress with my game - "Disbanded"
    • Fixed FPS lag on spawning entities due to the ent_preload buffer!
    • Edit the AI code to get some better pathfinding
    • Fixed the view bug within the sniper scope view. The mirror entity is invisible now!
    • Added a new silencer for ALL weapons. Also fixed the rotation bugs
    • Added a ton of new weapons and the choice to choose a silencer for every weapon
    • Created a simple AntiCheat, noobs will cry like hell xD
    • The name will be Disbanded, the alpha starts on the 18th august 2014



    Some new physics fun (Serversided, works on every client)



    My new AI
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EMSB1GbBVl8

    And for sure my 8 months old gameplay with 2 friends
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Na2kUdu4d_k

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Ch40zz-C0d3r For This Useful Post:

    [MPGH]Flengo (07-26-2012)

  11. #10
    Flengo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    15,693
    Reputation
    3319
    Thanks
    11,105
    My Mood
    Happy
    Quote Originally Posted by Herpina View Post
    It is a linking error... how will defining "dissable_asserts" link it for him? Smh.
    @OP You will need to link it in your IDE
    If you've ever use FEAR SDK You would know.


    I Read All Of My PM's & VM's
    If you need help with anything, just let me know.
     
     
    VM | PM

    Publicist Since 04.04.2015
    Middleman Since Unknown - Unknown
    Global Moderator Since 08.01.2013
    Donator Since 05.29.2013

    Minion+ Since 04.18.2013

    District 187 Minion Since 04.04.2013
    Steam Minion Since 02.26.2013
    WarRock Minion Since 02.19.2013
    A.V.A Minion Since 02.13.2013
    DayZ Minion Since 01.21.2013
    Combat Arms Minion Since 12.26.2012
    Contributor Since 11.16.2012
    Member Since 05.11.2010


  12. #11
    Sixx93's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    673
    Reputation
    21
    Thanks
    250
    My Mood
    Cool
    Quote Originally Posted by Ch40zz-C0d3r View Post
    Dude unresolved functions are 100% the opposite of what youve said!
    Its when you declare a function in a header, but theres no function called so in the cpp...
    uhuhu, yup xD sorry for the mistake xD anyway it was what i was thinking

  13. #12
    supercarz1991's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    North of Hell, South of Heaven
    Posts
    6,067
    Reputation
    323
    Thanks
    3,320
    My Mood
    Doh
    Quote Originally Posted by Ch40zz-C0d3r View Post
    1. The define helps, when you put it in the preprocessor located in:
    Project settings -> C/C++ -> preprocessor -> Processordefinitions. Add the define name there.
    All should work now!
    that didn't fix it either haha

    commando: You're probably the best non-coder coder I know LOL


  14. #13
    NotRealPro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    43
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    1
    I get this and 2019 all the time, idk how to fix(yes I have read msdn and things none of it helped/was relevant)

  15. #14
    Broderick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Basement.
    Posts
    100
    Reputation
    42
    Thanks
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by Herpina View Post
    It is a linking error... how will defining "dissable_asserts" link it for him? Smh.
    @OP You will need to link it in your IDE
    With pre-processor conditionals. A lot of commercial code is written this way to allow for production/debug builds with easy switching.

    I.e

    Code:
    #ifndef DISABLE_ASSERTS //debugging
       RunAssert( ... )
    #endif
    By defining/not defining the pre-processor macro, certain parts of the code will remain uncompiled. If all calls to the unresolved function are encased in a preprocessor conditional like that, defining DISABLE_ASSERTS will get rid of the LNK error because no calls to the unresolved external would be compiled any more.. The actual LNK error itself would be due to only having a partial codebase of the original (usually happens when people strip functions from code they don't understand).

    @OP, please tell me you didn't just directly copy and paste
    Code:
    DISSABLE_ASSERTS
    everywhere? It's a spelling mistake (I'm not familiar with the FEAR SDK, but DISSABLE is actually spelled DISABLE).
    Try defining
    Code:
    #define DISABLE_ASSERTS
    Last edited by Broderick; 07-26-2012 at 09:12 PM.
    The fish trap exists because of the fish.
    Once you've gotten the fish you can forget the trap.
    The rabbit snare exists because of the rabbit.
    Once you've gotten the rabbit, you can forget the snare.
    Words exist because of meaning.
    Once you've gotten the meaning, you can forget the words.
    Where can I find a man who has forgotten words so I can talk with him?

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to Broderick For This Useful Post:

    [MPGH]Flengo (07-26-2012)

  17. #15
    Flengo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    15,693
    Reputation
    3319
    Thanks
    11,105
    My Mood
    Happy
    Quote Originally Posted by Broderick View Post


    With pre-processor conditionals. A lot of commercial code is written this way to allow for production/debug builds with easy switching.

    I.e

    Code:
    #ifndef DISABLE_ASSERTS //debugging
       RunAssert( ... )
    #endif
    By defining/not defining the pre-processor macro, certain parts of the code will remain uncompiled. If all calls to the unresolved function are encased in a preprocessor conditional like that, defining DISABLE_ASSERTS will get rid of the LNK error because no calls to the unresolved external would be compiled any more.. The actual LNK error itself would be due to only having a partial codebase of the original (usually happens when people strip functions from code they don't understand).

    @OP, please tell me you didn't just directly copy and paste
    Code:
    DISSABLE_ASSERTS
    everywhere? It's a spelling mistake (I'm not familiar with the FEAR SDK, but DISSABLE is actually spelled DISABLE).
    Try defining
    Code:
    #define DISABLE_ASSERTS
    Yeah, that would work. OP Doesn't "Know" C++ but he works at it pretty close to someone knowing it

    I didn't realize I spelt disable wrong My bad.


    I Read All Of My PM's & VM's
    If you need help with anything, just let me know.
     
     
    VM | PM

    Publicist Since 04.04.2015
    Middleman Since Unknown - Unknown
    Global Moderator Since 08.01.2013
    Donator Since 05.29.2013

    Minion+ Since 04.18.2013

    District 187 Minion Since 04.04.2013
    Steam Minion Since 02.26.2013
    WarRock Minion Since 02.19.2013
    A.V.A Minion Since 02.13.2013
    DayZ Minion Since 01.21.2013
    Combat Arms Minion Since 12.26.2012
    Contributor Since 11.16.2012
    Member Since 05.11.2010


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. bored again
    By yocinfluence in forum General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-19-2009, 01:32 PM
  2. once again.. another picture
    By yocinfluence in forum General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-07-2006, 06:20 PM
  3. Hacking GunZ Server... Again...
    By SpiderByte in forum Gunz General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-19-2006, 01:44 AM
  4. Again and again and AGAIN!
    By Dmx in forum General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-03-2006, 09:00 PM
  5. Bored once again....
    By Chronologix in forum Art & Graphic Design
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-27-2006, 02:46 AM