Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30
  1. #1
    ProDiiGy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    181
    Reputation
    11
    Thanks
    28
    My Mood
    Sneaky

    How to record with avidemo *better than fraps*

    [TUTORIAL] The smoothest way to record on black ops *BETTER THAN FRAPS* STICKY? - Steam Users' Forums

    Or if you're lazy:

    AVIDEMO BYPASS <

    This is a tutorial on how to get the smoothest recording possible in black ops, since I don't play it any more I thought I might show you guys how to record how I do.

    You will need:
    Vdub (program)
    Little config knowledge.

    Start:
    browse to your common folder in steam
    Go to main/ make 2 new files, avi_on.cfg and avi_off.cfg make sure they're config files or this will NOT work.

    Inside avi_on put this code:
    toggle cl_avidemo "200"

    Inside avi_off put this code:
    toggle cl_avidemo "0"

    Now go back and go to players/ open up config_mp
    Now add these two lines ( you can change the bounded key if you like, although if you record by demo name you HAVE to use F keys)
    :
    bind f5 "exec avi_on"
    bind f6 "exec avi_off"

    For those of you familiar with avidemo you will already know what to do by now.

    Else what you do is go in game, go to the theatre clip or demo you want to record, hit f5 wait until it has taken screenshots up until the frame you want to stop recording at. Now go back to the common folder main/screenshots, you should see a few thousand pictures, ctrl + a and go to the first picture rename it to shot. This will fix any frame drops you recieved so that it will work properly in vdub. Now open vdub drop the first frame in 0.. then go to video framerate and set it to 200. save the avi and enjoy the smoothest recording ever, the game can run at 1 fps and still be smooth so don't worry , just a side note there's no audio so you will have to record that with fraps and sync it back up and also if you want to make the recording faster and are not that fussed about slowmotion/fluidness just use cl_avidemo 120 instead of 200.

    I hope this helps you guys out
    On a side note, yes you can use toggle to bypass any non sv_cheat command such as name/killfeed colours/team aliases and sky colour. The main thing I use in my configs are disable: waypoint and ui_drawcrosshair. Also the cg_drawcrosshairnames is pretty decent as well. Unfortunately ui_hud_hardcore won't work because it's cheat protected [/care]

    My youtube:
    YouTube - AiMProDiiGy's Channel

    PROOF OF CONCEPT 1000 FPS GODLY VIDEO:



    Other nice commands:

    Sky colour temp: 1650 - 6500: toggle r_skycolorTemp
    toggle r_skycolorTemp 6500 default
    toggle r_skycolorTemp 1650 bright orange (looks sweet on some maps)
    toggle r_skycolorTemp 3250 mid colour

    Random stuff I use and bind to O.

    toggle g_TeamColor_Axis "0 1 0 1"
    toggle g_TeamColor_Allies "0 1 1 1"
    toggle lowAmmoWarningColor1 "1 0 0 0.5"
    toggle lowAmmoWarningColor2 "1 0.25 0 0.5"
    toggle lowAmmoWarningNoAmmoColor1 "0 0 0 0"
    toggle lowAmmoWarningNoAmmoColor2 "0 0 0 0"
    toggle lowAmmoWarningNoReloadColor1 "0 1 1 0.5"
    toggle lowAmmoWarningNoReloadColor2 "0 1 0 0.5"
    toggle g_ScoresColor_Allies "0 1 1 1"
    toggle g_ScoresColor_Axis "0 1 0 1"
    toggle g_ScoresColor_EnemyTeam "0 1 0 1"
    toggle g_ScoresColor_Free "1 1 1 1"
    toggle g_ScoresColor_MyTeam "0 1 1 1"
    toggle g_TeamName_Allies "^2DEFENCE"
    toggle g_TeamName_Axis "^1ATTACK"

  2. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to ProDiiGy For This Useful Post:

    Bandicoot (01-27-2011),floni (01-27-2011),sasoritail (02-19-2011),shortimidgit (01-30-2011),Turbulence (02-14-2011)

  3. #2
    Heartview's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    KY Cygni
    Posts
    9,208
    Reputation
    717
    Thanks
    2,872
    I see you actually decided to tell everyone this :3

    Ive been using this for a while and know it works.
    Texture Mods


    Obedear, the sky is low

  4. #3
    Skyline.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    10,160
    Reputation
    403
    Thanks
    1,613
    so this is more smoother/less lag, but same quality recording than fraps or just performance..? nice find.


  5. #4
    Heartview's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    KY Cygni
    Posts
    9,208
    Reputation
    717
    Thanks
    2,872
    Quote Originally Posted by toobanooba View Post
    so this is more smoother/less lag, but same quality recording than fraps or just performance..? nice find.
    Its a command that has been around for a while, but unusable since CoD4 (5 maybe) Basically it takes a screenshot every x times per second, x being the number you put after cl_avidemo. It matches the exact quality of your in game graphics, which fraps has quality loss even at full screen recording.

    The only downside is, is that it takes FOREVER to get longer clips.
    Texture Mods


    Obedear, the sky is low

  6. #5
    Skyline.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    10,160
    Reputation
    403
    Thanks
    1,613
    Quote Originally Posted by derpderp View Post
    Its a command that has been around for a while, but unusable since CoD4 (5 maybe) Basically it takes a screenshot every x times per second, x being the number you put after cl_avidemo. It matches the exact quality of your in game graphics, which fraps has quality loss even at full screen recording.

    The only downside is, is that it takes FOREVER to get longer clips.
    f/e thanks for the heads up, i might just stick to normal basic fap fap as im not a massive recorder etc.


  7. #6
    JamesA1994's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    The dark side
    Posts
    1,703
    Reputation
    271
    Thanks
    529
    My Mood
    Psychedelic
    I have a shit GFX card and I normally get lag =\
    I will test this.
    CoD Minion: Jan 13th 2011 to April 11 2011
    MMORPG Minion Since: March 28th 2011 to April 11 2011

    Don't be afraid to rep, you aren't loosing anything!
    Don't forget your P&Q's. Press the thanks button if someone has helped.
    jamesa1994@hotmail.com

  8. #7
    63OR63's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Frozen Hell
    Posts
    240
    Reputation
    92
    Thanks
    2,554
    My Mood
    Cold
    Quote Originally Posted by JamesA1994 View Post
    I have a shit GFX card and I normally get lag =\
    I will test this.
    The main cause of lags while using Fraps isn't your CPU or GPU power (but it affects too), but the speed of your hard drive. At least, some people say so, and when I changed my old Barracuda drive (7200 RPM) to the newest Velociraptor (10000 RPM), all my Fraps-dedicated lags dissapeared. Also, it must be mentioned that RPM isn't the only characteristic determines the rate of hard drive.

  9. #8
    JamesA1994's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    The dark side
    Posts
    1,703
    Reputation
    271
    Thanks
    529
    My Mood
    Psychedelic
    Quote Originally Posted by 63OR63 View Post
    The main cause of lags while using Fraps isn't your CPU or GPU power (but it affects too), but the speed of your hard drive. At least, some people say so, and when I changed my old Barracuda drive (7200 RPM) to the newest Velociraptor (10000 RPM), all my Fraps-dedicated lags dissapeared. Also, it must be mentioned that RPM isn't the only characteristic determines the rate of hard drive.
    PC: AMD x4 Phenom 965 3.4ghz, 9600GT GFX 1GB, Corsair V32 Nova SSD.
    Laptop: Intel i7 720, ATI 5670 1GB, Shitty HDD.

    For my PC I am pretty sure its the GFX and for my laptop its the HDD.
    CoD Minion: Jan 13th 2011 to April 11 2011
    MMORPG Minion Since: March 28th 2011 to April 11 2011

    Don't be afraid to rep, you aren't loosing anything!
    Don't forget your P&Q's. Press the thanks button if someone has helped.
    jamesa1994@hotmail.com

  10. #9
    63OR63's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Frozen Hell
    Posts
    240
    Reputation
    92
    Thanks
    2,554
    My Mood
    Cold
    Well, then I agree there is no doubt graphic card is the bottleneck.

  11. #10
    ProDiiGy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    181
    Reputation
    11
    Thanks
    28
    My Mood
    Sneaky
    Doesn't matter even if you get 1 fps with max settings this will still be perfectly smooth.

  12. #11
    fahedooo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    42
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    1
    My Mood
    Tired
    seems a good program

  13. #12
    ProDiiGy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    181
    Reputation
    11
    Thanks
    28
    My Mood
    Sneaky
    It's not a program ;S

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to ProDiiGy For This Useful Post:

    Skyline. (01-26-2011)

  15. #13
    Leaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    the Netherlands.
    Posts
    2,059
    Reputation
    456
    Thanks
    417
    My Mood
    Cheerful
    makes my whole game lag!
    Ex-



    Previous Names: Leaf, Acinonyx, Fawkes.


  16. #14
    Heartview's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    KY Cygni
    Posts
    9,208
    Reputation
    717
    Thanks
    2,872
    Quote Originally Posted by Acinonyx View Post
    makes my whole game lag!
    Its supposed to. Thats the game taking screenshots.

    What this does is takes a SS so many times a second, so the game slows down to a drag to get the right amount of SS in for the number it needs to hit. But doing this and rendering all the shots into VDUB, will make a video that is as high quality as you can go, without any lag at all.
    Texture Mods


    Obedear, the sky is low

  17. #15
    ProDiiGy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    181
    Reputation
    11
    Thanks
    28
    My Mood
    Sneaky
    Yh it's slightly better than fraps quality wise, but slowmotion is 100x better than fraps.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast