Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    zifty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    102
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    2
    My Mood
    Amused

    Help with my FPS.

    Sorry if this is in the wrong section, but not sure where to post this. I just purchased left 4 dead over steam, and it's running at about 10-12 fps. I set all graphic settings to minimum, and resolution to minimum. After about 2 hours of trying to get it up, I'm posting on here for any help. Downloaded gamebooster, using that got me up to a whole 15!! Lol. Disabled antivirus, did virus scan, malware scan, spyware (etc.). Defragged computer, ran CCleaner about 4 times. Ran it in XP and Vista compatibility mode. So, if there's anything im missing please tell me. Thank you. Also, heres system spec. Well above minimum.

    Windows 7
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8700 @ 2.53GHz
    6 GB ram
    GeForce GTX 260M
    Realtek High Definition Audio
    335.6 GB Free space

  2. #2
    Jabuuty671's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    21,221
    Reputation
    1468
    Thanks
    4,093


  3. #3
    zifty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    102
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    2
    My Mood
    Amused
    Thank you, running Advanced system care right now. Followed other steps.

  4. #4
    Jailbroken671's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    13 28 N, 144 47 E
    Posts
    9,021
    Reputation
    704
    Thanks
    2,054
    My Mood
    Devilish
    disable Aero theme for less lag.

  5. #5
    zifty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    102
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    2
    My Mood
    Amused
    Blah.. i should go to sleep -.- Jail, your sig made me think an actual bug was on my screen. It took me about 5 seconds of tryin to shoo it off before i realised. But thank you, turned that off.

  6. #6
    Jailbroken671's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    13 28 N, 144 47 E
    Posts
    9,021
    Reputation
    704
    Thanks
    2,054
    My Mood
    Devilish
    Quote Originally Posted by zifty View Post
    Blah.. i should go to sleep -.- Jail, your sig made me think an actual bug was on my screen. It took me about 5 seconds of tryin to shoo it off before i realised. But thank you, turned that off.
    LMAO!
    yea
    Aero alone takes up about 50MB of RAM on your graphics card.

  7. #7
    Scrcrw VIII's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    538
    Reputation
    4
    Thanks
    38
    didnt do the one thing you shouldve
    opened up your driver software for your GPU to make sure its set up right
    its obviously a problem with the card so that wouldve made sense
    ++latest++



    Quote Originally Posted by shaheenster View Post
    Until i googled it, i though bokeh was a type of jap porn

    sums up wat i though

  8. #8
    Mr.1337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    1,002
    Reputation
    -52
    Thanks
    32
    My Mood
    Bashful
    Are you running a laptop?

  9. #9
    Pindrop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    106
    Reputation
    30
    Thanks
    3
    its a GTX 260M i think the M is a Laptop version so i think his on a laptop yeah
    its probably the processor. or else you got viruses making it slow?

  10. #10
    /b/oss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    13,652
    Reputation
    795
    Thanks
    3,543
    put everythink

    (in game AND in your monitor) on lowest quality.. or check the TUT in AVA TUT section

  11. #11
    dddrrr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Yesterday it was USA but todays lookin more like China
    Posts
    2,199
    Reputation
    5
    Thanks
    152
    My Mood
    Tired
    mine sux too but i dont play ca

  12. #12
    kaszana5678's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    5
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    1

  13. #13
    Thaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    3,842
    Reputation
    111
    Thanks
    1,653
    no outside links.

    MEMBER SINCE:
    08-23-2010

  14. #14
    zifty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    102
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    2
    My Mood
    Amused
    oh Yay. Woke up to find the advanced system care pro scan finished. Restarted it like it asked. And now it's stuck on blue screen of death. Happy days. Asus sucks. It's broke about 4 times in the past 2 years. One of which they had to replace the entire computer. Thank god for warranties. -.- I dont know if I'll even repair it this time. Had to buy a new charger for it a week ago, since their chargers suck. 3rd time I've had to replace it.

  15. #15
    Alen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Liquid Generator
    Posts
    27,930
    Reputation
    2539
    Thanks
    4,216
    My Mood
    Fine
    Eh, if you really want to play you can always try installing a new OS (preferably XP), removing all the crappy programs and unnecessary things, installing the latest DirectX, the latest drivers and then try to run the game after GameBooster / Smartclose.

Similar Threads

  1. Help with new Fps
    By Smooth-haX in forum Suggestions, Requests & Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-31-2011, 09:46 AM
  2. [Help Request] need help with mod
    By .:MUS1CFR34K:. in forum Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 GSC Modding Help/Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-01-2011, 01:40 PM
  3. [Help Request] need help with modding
    By BayBee Alyn in forum Combat Arms Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-27-2011, 10:06 PM
  4. Fraps some help with FPS
    By SeventhSky in forum CrossFire Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-12-2010, 01:18 AM
  5. Help with FPS, please.
    By Toxin in forum CrossFire Hacks & Cheats
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-17-2009, 09:21 AM