Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    deokishiisu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    28
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    3
    My Mood
    Daring

    Freezing (Radeon HD 6950)

    Does anyone get freezing in this game? I've owned it since last night (had extra money, bought it while in line for Skyrim last night), and this is how it went when I got home. I installed Skyrim on my computer from the DVD, and played it a little. (No spoilers) A few seconds into the game, I got these vertical lines across the screen. They looked similar to the GPU stress test when using ATI Overdrive. I had to restart my computer, and now, I decided, to retry. I opened the game up once again, and the same thing happened, a few seconds in. I tried Modern Warfare 3, and this is when I started troubleshooting. Everything worked fine, I set graphics fine, the main menu came up, etc., and I joined a lobby. The level loading screen came up, and it loaded. But as soon as it said "Waiting for other players..." it froze. Needed to restart my computer. Used one monitor. Same thing. Windowed mode, same thing. MW3 Safe Mode, same thing. Now get this, Skyrim and MW3 don't run on my desktop, which has a Radeon HD 6950, but they run on my laptop, with an Nvidia GeForce GT 435M. They don't run well, but they at least run. I can get into games and play on my laptop in MW3. On my desktop, I thought it might have been my graphics card dying, like intense graphics wants to kill it or something. So I booted up BF3, played fine. All highest settings. Minecraft, fine.

    I'm not sure what the problem could be. I even moved my card down a PCIE slot. Nothing happened, is it just the games' ATI compatibility being messed up? All my drivers are the latest, I've even just reinstalled Windows. Seriously, I'm out of options here.

  2. #2
    Insane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    9,055
    Reputation
    1007
    Thanks
    1,997
    Story time children!

    Once upon a time, someone didn't buy an NVIDIA card for his Desktop.
    His life was miserable, the end.

    To be serious: I would contact your manufacturer about it, have you tried to OC the card? Maybe it over-heated?



    That guy can play fine, so It's probably your card.
    Last edited by Insane; 11-11-2011 at 04:29 PM.
    Insane
    Ex Middleman
    [
    PM|VM]
    |x|x|x|x|x|x|x|



    Quote Originally Posted by Boombox View Post
    Shut the fuck up insane you pussy bitch.
    Quote Originally Posted by arunforce View Post
    Shut the fuck up kid, everything that comes out of your mouth sounds retarded as fuck.

  3. #3
    rename's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    704
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    27
    My Mood
    Relaxed
    nah dude just turn anti anylizing or something like that off im using Radeon HD too i had freezes now i ok.

  4. #4
    MohNeuker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    83
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    4
    i've got the same videocard, no probs trough. But that could be becouse i'm overclocking it.

  5. #5
    Insane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    9,055
    Reputation
    1007
    Thanks
    1,997
    Quote Originally Posted by rename View Post
    just turn anti anylizing or something like that
    That doesn't do anything. Anti-aliasing smooths jagged edges, it shouldn't be powerful enough to make him freeze.
    Insane
    Ex Middleman
    [
    PM|VM]
    |x|x|x|x|x|x|x|



    Quote Originally Posted by Boombox View Post
    Shut the fuck up insane you pussy bitch.
    Quote Originally Posted by arunforce View Post
    Shut the fuck up kid, everything that comes out of your mouth sounds retarded as fuck.

  6. #6
    deokishiisu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    28
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    3
    My Mood
    Daring
    Quote Originally Posted by Insane View Post


    That doesn't do anything. Anti-aliasing smooths jagged edges, it shouldn't be powerful enough to make him freeze.
    Exactly.


    I've managed to fix the problem, by adding more power to my graphics card. It's in the ATI Overdrive menu if anyone else is having trouble.

  7. #7
    Moto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    13,057
    Reputation
    707
    Thanks
    13,439
    My Mood
    Blah
    Check if your card is overheated. Since you have an ATI card, go to Catalyst Control Center and make sure everything is set to default.

  8. #8
    Occidi de Pax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Back To The Drum!
    Posts
    3,069
    Reputation
    102
    Thanks
    180
    My Mood
    Bored
    De-overcloack the Card because its probably overheating....
    Or get a a custom made cooler...
    By the way wich AMD manufacturer is your 6950 from?
    Music historian here to please and displease,learning to teach all you peeps,so stop by the music part of the forum,and ask the question to your needs.

  9. #9
    Skyline.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    10,160
    Reputation
    403
    Thanks
    1,613
    they mentioned it somewhere that you may need special ATI drivers for mw3/La noire/skyrim/BF3

    instead of the normal factory drivers from the website.


  10. #10
    aIW|Convery's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    2,876
    Reputation
    124
    Thanks
    595
    My Mood
    Cynical
    Quote Originally Posted by Skyline. View Post
    they mentioned it somewhere that you may need special ATI drivers for mw3/La noire/skyrim/BF3

    instead of the normal factory drivers from the website.
    Nah, those were some hotfixes that were included in the latest release.. had some effect on performance but not too many bug fixes..

Similar Threads

  1. Freezing adresses
    By radnomguywfq3 in forum Visual Basic Programming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-02-2007, 09:56 PM
  2. Cant freeze, please help
    By t3lazy1 in forum Visual Basic Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-07-2007, 10:52 AM
  3. VB6 SUPERJUMP VALUE FREEZING!!!???problem
    By jokuvaan11 in forum WarRock - International Hacks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-10-2007, 04:37 AM
  4. Visual Basic 6 FREEZING
    By jokuvaan11 in forum WarRock - International Hacks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-08-2007, 03:26 PM
  5. freeze this?
    By jkmacnak in forum WarRock - International Hacks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-02-2007, 05:52 PM