Thread: Steam Error

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    iiRomano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    70
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    8
    My Mood
    Cool

    Steam Error

    Hello every1,
    When i try to start steam or any steam game im getting this error:
    Steam.Exe (Main Exception): Unable To Write To The Current Steam Application Folder. Please Move Steam To A Folder Where You Have Write Privileges
    Any1 knows how to fix it?

    Thanks, Romano

  2. #2
    tylergott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Manehattan-Equestria
    Posts
    209
    Reputation
    11
    Thanks
    594
    My Mood
    Devilish
    Take the steam folder off read only i think ,.... Goto C:/>Program Files>Steam> Right Click On Steam Folder And UNCHECK Read Only
    Also I dont know if this is something else but im just going by the log lol im prolly wrong
    Please THANK ME IF I HELPED YOU <3

    My Content!
    Master131's MW3 EXTERNAL ESP TUTORIAL:http://www.mpgh.net/forum/586-call-d...torial-v2.html
    [CS 1.6] A Whole Shit-Ton Of Scriptshttp://www.mpgh.net/forum/105-counte...ripts-3-a.html
    MW3 PRO-SNIPE QUICKSCOPING SCRIPT

  3. #3
    iiRomano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    70
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    8
    My Mood
    Cool
    Quote Originally Posted by tylergott View Post
    Take the steam folder off read only i think ,.... Goto C:/>Program Files>Steam> Right Click On Steam Folder And UNCHECK Read Only
    Also I dont know if this is something else but im just going by the log lol im prolly wrong
    Its in my D:/All The Stuff/Steam xD

  4. #4
    Nachos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Between Equator and The North Pole
    Posts
    2,986
    Reputation
    176
    Thanks
    913
    My Mood
    Blah
    Quote Originally Posted by iiRomano View Post
    Its in my D:/All The Stuff/Steam xD
    Run the Steam ad administrator?

    Can you give us the full path and have you checked that the folder isn't "Read only"?


    The lines in my Steam are i's

  5. #5
    iiRomano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    70
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    8
    My Mood
    Cool
    Quote Originally Posted by Nachos View Post


    Run the Steam ad administrator?

    Can you give us the full path and have you checked that the folder isn't "Read only"?
    Yes when i run steam as admin i dont get that error but its annyoing to run steam as admin and then starting any game.

    Path:

    D:/All The Stuff/Steam

  6. #6
          ( ° ͜ʖ͡°)╭∩╮
    Former Staff
    MarkHC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    2,751
    Reputation
    66
    Thanks
    14,310
    My Mood
    Angelic
    Quote Originally Posted by iiRomano View Post
    Yes when i run steam as admin i dont get that error but its annyoing to run steam as admin and then starting any game.

    Path:

    D:/All The Stuff/Steam
    You don't have Admin privilegies then. Even if Windows says that you have, sometimes you can't do a lot of stuff.. This happened to me before, here's what I did.

    1. Right-click on My Computer icon on Desktop and select "Manage", it'll open "Computer Management" window. ( You can also open it by giving "compmgmt.msc" command in RUN dialog box or Startmenu Search box).


    2. Go to "Local Users and Groups -> Users". In right-side pane double-click on "Administrator" account. It'll open its Properties. Deselect "Account is disabled" option and Apply it.


    Now every time you login, use this account instead of yours
    Last edited by MarkHC; 08-13-2012 at 11:48 AM.


    CoD Minion from 09/19/2012 to 01/10/2013

  7. #7
    Horror's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    51,4.
    Posts
    6,940
    Reputation
    574
    Thanks
    5,004
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Disable UIC ... No more admins on ur PC (everybodys admin then) I find this extremely usefull ... No more errors with hacks, etc
     

    Minion+ : February 2014 - January 2015
    Counter Strike: Global Offensive Minion : November 2014 - January 2015
    Alliance of Valiant Arms Minion : August 2014 - January 2015
    Need For Speed World Minion : January 2014 - January 2015
    Rust Minion : January 2014 - January 2015
    Call of Duty Minion : January 2013 - January 2015
    Editor : December 2012 - April 2013
    Donator : March 2014 - Current
    Member : October 2010 - Current

    Previously known as "Isaakske".

  8. #8
    iiRomano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    70
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    8
    My Mood
    Cool
    Quote Originally Posted by General Shepherd View Post
    You don't have Admin privilegies then. Even if Windows says that you have, sometimes you can't do a lot of stuff.. This happened to me before, here's what I did.

    1. Right-click on My Computer icon on Desktop and select "Manage", it'll open "Computer Management" window. ( You can also open it by giving "compmgmt.msc" command in RUN dialog box or Startmenu Search box).
    [IMG]http:/dia.askvg.com/articles/images3/Enable_Hidden_Administrator_Account.png[/IMG]

    2. Go to "Local Users and Groups -> Users". In right-side pane double-click on "Administrator" account. It'll open its Properties. Deselect "Account is disabled" option and Apply it.


    Now every time you login, use this account instead of yours


    Thanks ill try this.
    But the weirdist part is i got this problem since 4days but before those 4days i could run steam/steam games w/o that error...

    Edit: i tried to do it but i dont even have Local Users and Groups
    Last edited by iiRomano; 08-13-2012 at 02:53 PM.

  9. #9
    tylergott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Manehattan-Equestria
    Posts
    209
    Reputation
    11
    Thanks
    594
    My Mood
    Devilish
    Quote Originally Posted by iiRomano View Post
    Its in my D:/All The Stuff/Steam xD
    If That's The Case Right Click on The Steam Folder Then Check If Its Read Only Or Not


    ---------- Post added at 07:36 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:35 AM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Isaakske View Post
    Disable UIC ... No more admins on ur PC (everybodys admin then) I find this extremely usefull ... No more errors with hacks, etc
    Lol That Can Work But I'm Sure EVERYONE Wants control Of their PC
    Please THANK ME IF I HELPED YOU <3

    My Content!
    Master131's MW3 EXTERNAL ESP TUTORIAL:http://www.mpgh.net/forum/586-call-d...torial-v2.html
    [CS 1.6] A Whole Shit-Ton Of Scriptshttp://www.mpgh.net/forum/105-counte...ripts-3-a.html
    MW3 PRO-SNIPE QUICKSCOPING SCRIPT

Similar Threads

  1. [HELP] STEAM ERROR
    By DigitalMind in forum Suggestions, Requests & Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-29-2011, 03:25 AM
  2. [Solved] Steam error
    By S|W|P in forum Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-27-2011, 04:44 PM
  3. Steam error
    By S|W|P in forum Alliance of Valiant Arms (AVA) Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-27-2011, 01:54 PM
  4. [SOLVED]steam error for mw2
    By craig1690 in forum Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-16-2010, 05:38 AM
  5. Steam Error? Help pl0x?
    By -V3ngeance in forum General
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 03-21-2009, 09:11 AM