Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    iseco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    3
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0

    Memory Editing. Are pointers required?

    I was wondering if Modern Warfare 3 uses static memory addresses or if I need to go find pointers.

  2. #2
    Lovroman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    9,430
    Reputation
    611
    Thanks
    9,822
    My Mood
    Cheerful
    Depends on what you need/want.
    Ammo, health, etc. you don't need to find pointers.
    DVAR's, yes.

  3. #3
    Kenshin13's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Cloud 9
    Posts
    3,473
    Reputation
    564
    Thanks
    5,908
    My Mood
    Psychedelic
    Game functions yes,
    Some dvars are dynamic as well.

    Usually there's something like:

    DWORD * Dvar = RegisterDvar(DvarName);

    Aka the dword "Dvar" is a pointer to the actual offset which makes finding pointers easier as the "Dvar" offset never changes, just the location of the structure.

Similar Threads

  1. [Solved] C# Memory Editing - Pointers
    By jakel007 in forum Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 Coding, Programming & Source Code
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-28-2012, 05:03 AM
  2. [Q] memory editing
    By ~dNkN! in forum C++/C Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-21-2010, 12:30 AM
  3. [Tutorial] Basic C++ Game Hacking (Memory Editing)
    By Tukjedude in forum C++/C Programming
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 06-05-2010, 09:23 AM
  4. memory editing idea/help
    By ihacksumtimes in forum Combat Arms Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-09-2010, 03:43 AM
  5. Memory editing Last chaos?
    By Darkendnox in forum General Game Hacking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-09-2006, 09:25 AM