Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    AndySw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    2
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0

    BO 2 Network protocol

    Have anyone analyzed the network packets for BO2? My theroy is that the game events all are streamed over the network. I.e. all player movements gets updated to all connected players.

    Instead of injecting anything, then it would be possible to build a VSAT type tool, by just listening to trhe network protocol, and you would know where all players are, at all times. Make sense? It would work also for xbox/ps3 as you would connect it just on the same network and listen to the traffic.

    While not technically a hack, it would work out to be 100% undectectable. Anyone have done any analysis of the network protocol for bo2?

    Andy

  2. #2
    Horror's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    51,4.
    Posts
    6,940
    Reputation
    574
    Thanks
    5,004
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Quote Originally Posted by AndySw View Post
    and you would know where all players are
    You'd need to be host, and quite frankly, that's not possible on PC.
     

    Minion+ : February 2014 - January 2015
    Counter Strike: Global Offensive Minion : November 2014 - January 2015
    Alliance of Valiant Arms Minion : August 2014 - January 2015
    Need For Speed World Minion : January 2014 - January 2015
    Rust Minion : January 2014 - January 2015
    Call of Duty Minion : January 2013 - January 2015
    Editor : December 2012 - April 2013
    Donator : March 2014 - Current
    Member : October 2010 - Current

    Previously known as "Isaakske".

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Horror For This Useful Post:

    Lovroman (08-16-2013)

  4. #3
    AndySw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    2
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Are you sure about that? The radar hacks that seems to work, would imply that all of the data of player locations are sent out to every player connected. I'm quite certain that is how it work, as the game engine is based on a heavily modified quake arena code-base.

    I do have programming background, so I'm 99% certain that the location data is sent out. Question is: have they obfuscated it or is it easy to read the data.

  5. #4
    Horror's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    51,4.
    Posts
    6,940
    Reputation
    574
    Thanks
    5,004
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Quote Originally Posted by AndySw View Post
    Are you sure about that? The radar hacks that seems to work, would imply that all of the data of player locations are sent out to every player connected. I'm quite certain that is how it work, as the game engine is based on a heavily modified quake arena code-base.

    I do have programming background, so I'm 99% certain that the location data is sent out. Question is: have they obfuscated it or is it easy to read the data.
    What radar hacks ?
    And everything is encrypted, and I mean everything
     

    Minion+ : February 2014 - January 2015
    Counter Strike: Global Offensive Minion : November 2014 - January 2015
    Alliance of Valiant Arms Minion : August 2014 - January 2015
    Need For Speed World Minion : January 2014 - January 2015
    Rust Minion : January 2014 - January 2015
    Call of Duty Minion : January 2013 - January 2015
    Editor : December 2012 - April 2013
    Donator : March 2014 - Current
    Member : October 2010 - Current

    Previously known as "Isaakske".

  6. #5
    Ullman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    7
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Most games do send player locations to other players before they are visible. It's easier programming, it's less computationally intense, and most importantly, latency requires it. Especially in fast paced games, if you waited until a player is visible before sending his coordinates, there would be serious issues with perceived lag.

    So yes, the info you are interested in is in there.

    Getting at it is a different story. As Horror says, the data is likely to be encrypted. Most game protocols are these days and the Quake engines definitely were. If it is using network code based on the Quake engines, expect to also find Huffman encoding and delta encoding which will make it more difficult to program to.

    Your best bet would be to disassemble the executable and dead listing it along with some active reversing using something like ollydbg. It wouldn't be easy, but I've done that sort of thing before... When I had that kind of time.

Similar Threads

  1. [Help Request] Network Protocol
    By qwerty01 in forum Realm of the Mad God Help & Requests
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-09-2013, 01:11 PM
  2. [Help Request] COD 4 Network protocol specification
    By Horkyze in forum Call of Duty Modern Warfare Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-12-2013, 07:54 AM
  3. [Solved] Modern Warfare 3 Network Protocol
    By kenny_michael in forum C++/C Programming
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 02-28-2012, 07:51 AM
  4. Wireless Networking
    By Jackal in forum Hardware & Software Support
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-05-2006, 09:48 AM
  5. Help me with my Email to K2 Job Network
    By styx23 in forum WarRock - International Hacks
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 06-04-2006, 12:08 AM