Thread: SLI Question

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    enough007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Earth C-137
    Posts
    1,685
    Reputation
    29
    Thanks
    2,098
    My Mood
    Doh

    SLI Question

    Hello.
    I used to have an expensive (1200€ T.T) pc with an i7 3770 and a shitty 650 ti. I have changed almost everything from it (even the case i have the s340 razer edition because it's my favourite) I have a 970 itx (because the normal 970 didn't fit in my old case) but now that i have changed it and i'm willing to pay 600€ to change the mother base to a SLI one and another 970. I would like to ask if I can SLI a normal 970 and an itx 970 (it's the same gpu i don't think there should be any problem but i don't wanna get a 970 for nothing haha) The big one looks better and it even has leds if it can't be done i'm ok with 2 970 itx sli.








    Cheap GTA service that uses a detected menu starter pack it's so fucking accurate
     

    maxrager12 - Time waster and poor kid
    Casper Donders (casper_9_1_1) - SE/refund attempt
    Dahso Nah (live:dahsonah) - Time waster w/ scam attempt
    Dapper_Gaming (xx_skate_xx) - Time waster
    Maudiy (the.black.pgm) - Time waster
    Kevin L (uniquelykevin) - SE/refund attempt

  2. #2
    Fatal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    .
    Posts
    329
    Reputation
    20
    Thanks
    24
    yea that shouldn't be a problem.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Fatal For This Useful Post:

    enough007 (02-06-2016)

  4. #3
    filipjablan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    13
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    1
    My Mood
    Cynical
    It'll work, don't worry.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to filipjablan For This Useful Post:

    enough007 (02-06-2016)

  6. #4
    Allen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    96
    Reputation
    52
    Thanks
    22
    My Mood
    Amused
    Yes, a mini 970 will work with a regular 970 in SLI. However, coming from experience I would recommend going with a single GPU setup. There is always room for incompatibility or driver issues when using SLI cards. It'd be a lot safer and actually not too much more expensive to go single card. Would definitely recommend going GTX 980 Ti.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Allen For This Useful Post:

    enough007 (02-06-2016)

  8. #5
    enough007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Earth C-137
    Posts
    1,685
    Reputation
    29
    Thanks
    2,098
    My Mood
    Doh
    Thank you guys. @Allen the problem is that i already got the 970 (xmas) and i don't feel like throwing it out, and if i get a single 980 ti it's too expensive because i have to get a new cpu and motherboard (i have a pre built pc mother board my current cpu is good but it'll go for a secondary pc where i'll run gta services). Spending around 600€ on mobo and cpu + another 360 for the 970. If I get another 980 i'd have to spend 600 + around 600

    EDIT: I have heard that the new nvidia gpu generation is coming this year i don't know if i have to wait, i can "future-proof" my other components like cpu, mobo and ddr4 ram (because yeah it's skylake).
    Last edited by enough007; 02-05-2016 at 11:12 AM.








    Cheap GTA service that uses a detected menu starter pack it's so fucking accurate
     

    maxrager12 - Time waster and poor kid
    Casper Donders (casper_9_1_1) - SE/refund attempt
    Dahso Nah (live:dahsonah) - Time waster w/ scam attempt
    Dapper_Gaming (xx_skate_xx) - Time waster
    Maudiy (the.black.pgm) - Time waster
    Kevin L (uniquelykevin) - SE/refund attempt

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to enough007 For This Useful Post:

    Windoge 10 (02-08-2016)

  10. #6
    Allen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    96
    Reputation
    52
    Thanks
    22
    My Mood
    Amused
    Quote Originally Posted by enough007 View Post
    Thank you guys. @Allen the problem is that i already got the 970 (xmas) and i don't feel like throwing it out, and if i get a single 980 ti it's too expensive because i have to get a new cpu and motherboard (i have a pre built pc mother board my current cpu is good but it'll go for a secondary pc where i'll run gta services). Spending around 600€ on mobo and cpu + another 360 for the 970. If I get another 980 i'd have to spend 600 + around 600

    EDIT: I have heard that the new nvidia gpu generation is coming this year i don't know if i have to wait, i can "future-proof" my other components like cpu, mobo and ddr4 ram (because yeah it's skylake).
    Ah, I gotcha. Yeah it requires quite a budget to make it all happen.

  11. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Allen For This Useful Post:

    enough007 (02-06-2016),Windoge 10 (02-08-2016)

  12. #7
    Windoge 10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Got the GTX 1080!
    Posts
    2,271
    Reputation
    180
    Thanks
    1,884
    My Mood
    Psychedelic
    You could try selling the 970 and getting like a 980 or 980 Ti?

  13. #8
    enough007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Earth C-137
    Posts
    1,685
    Reputation
    29
    Thanks
    2,098
    My Mood
    Doh
    Quote Originally Posted by Windoge 10 View Post
    You could try selling the 970 and getting like a 980 or 980 Ti?
    I'm trying to get a refund for the 970 xD. But I'm not sure if they'll refund me, I think they'll just send me a replacement but I don't lose anything for trying, if i don't get the refund and i get a replacement (which i'll try convincing them to give me the msi 970 instead of the itx one) i'll get another one, because when you sell something you have the risk of getting scammed (you know when they say that the card was broken or something to send you a broken card they had while keeping the good one you sent them)
    Last edited by enough007; 02-12-2016 at 02:22 PM.








    Cheap GTA service that uses a detected menu starter pack it's so fucking accurate
     

    maxrager12 - Time waster and poor kid
    Casper Donders (casper_9_1_1) - SE/refund attempt
    Dahso Nah (live:dahsonah) - Time waster w/ scam attempt
    Dapper_Gaming (xx_skate_xx) - Time waster
    Maudiy (the.black.pgm) - Time waster
    Kevin L (uniquelykevin) - SE/refund attempt

  14. #9
    Windoge 10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Got the GTX 1080!
    Posts
    2,271
    Reputation
    180
    Thanks
    1,884
    My Mood
    Psychedelic
    Good Point. But yea good luck with the refund

  15. #10
    enough007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Earth C-137
    Posts
    1,685
    Reputation
    29
    Thanks
    2,098
    My Mood
    Doh
    I think i'll get it because i told them that my 970 is not working very well and that it has only 3.5 fast vram and 0.5 "slow" vram (in their website it says that it has 4 normal gb or vram.)








    Cheap GTA service that uses a detected menu starter pack it's so fucking accurate
     

    maxrager12 - Time waster and poor kid
    Casper Donders (casper_9_1_1) - SE/refund attempt
    Dahso Nah (live:dahsonah) - Time waster w/ scam attempt
    Dapper_Gaming (xx_skate_xx) - Time waster
    Maudiy (the.black.pgm) - Time waster
    Kevin L (uniquelykevin) - SE/refund attempt

  16. #11
    aranurea2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    39
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    4
    My Mood
    Amazed
    You may as well sell/refund the 970 and get 2 390s rather than the SLI on the 970s, due to the fact that most games only recognize 3.5GB installed, unless forced to recognize the slower 0.5GB. Games can lose up to 50% performance if they begin using over 3.5GB. However, the 390 offers the same performance, and in some cases, slightly better performance, and 8GB of VRAM, and is slightly cheaper than the 970. They also don't require a 30 dollar tethering bridge, as they tether through the PCI-E ports, which have INSANE bandwidth. So you save some money, and squeeze better performance out of them, and can get even more if you choose to overclock.

  17. #12
    enough007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Earth C-137
    Posts
    1,685
    Reputation
    29
    Thanks
    2,098
    My Mood
    Doh
    Quote Originally Posted by aranurea2 View Post
    You may as well sell/refund the 970 and get 2 390s rather than the SLI on the 970s, due to the fact that most games only recognize 3.5GB installed, unless forced to recognize the slower 0.5GB. Games can lose up to 50% performance if they begin using over 3.5GB. However, the 390 offers the same performance, and in some cases, slightly better performance, and 8GB of VRAM, and is slightly cheaper than the 970. They also don't require a 30 dollar tethering bridge, as they tether through the PCI-E ports, which have INSANE bandwidth. So you save some money, and squeeze better performance out of them, and can get even more if you choose to overclock.
    Yeah but I'm getting a 980 ti (I can sli 2 980 Ti together and they have 6gb VRAM). I already have 600 euros and i need to sell my 970 for 300 euros or so (I have some people interested).








    Cheap GTA service that uses a detected menu starter pack it's so fucking accurate
     

    maxrager12 - Time waster and poor kid
    Casper Donders (casper_9_1_1) - SE/refund attempt
    Dahso Nah (live:dahsonah) - Time waster w/ scam attempt
    Dapper_Gaming (xx_skate_xx) - Time waster
    Maudiy (the.black.pgm) - Time waster
    Kevin L (uniquelykevin) - SE/refund attempt

  18. #13
    aranurea2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    39
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    4
    My Mood
    Amazed
    [QUOTE=enough007;11403323]Yeah but I'm getting a 980 ti (I can sli 2 980 Ti together and they have 6gb VRAM)./QUOTE]

    You do realize this will need a HUGE power supply? Which is pretty expensive.

  19. #14
    enough007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Earth C-137
    Posts
    1,685
    Reputation
    29
    Thanks
    2,098
    My Mood
    Doh
    [QUOTE=aranurea2;11406277]
    Quote Originally Posted by enough007 View Post
    Yeah but I'm getting a 980 ti (I can sli 2 980 Ti together and they have 6gb VRAM)./QUOTE]

    You do realize this will need a HUGE power supply? Which is pretty expensive.
    Yeah i know, i have a 1100w psu so that won't be a problem








    Cheap GTA service that uses a detected menu starter pack it's so fucking accurate
     

    maxrager12 - Time waster and poor kid
    Casper Donders (casper_9_1_1) - SE/refund attempt
    Dahso Nah (live:dahsonah) - Time waster w/ scam attempt
    Dapper_Gaming (xx_skate_xx) - Time waster
    Maudiy (the.black.pgm) - Time waster
    Kevin L (uniquelykevin) - SE/refund attempt

  20. #15
    enough007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Earth C-137
    Posts
    1,685
    Reputation
    29
    Thanks
    2,098
    My Mood
    Doh
    I had some problems with paypal but i got a r9 fury x (i have to sell my 970 now xDDD) it was 70 euro cheaper haha i'll get it tomorrow. Thank you guy.

    (R9 fury x is better for dx 12 and some games that are not that partnered with nvidia with the new crimson drivers).








    Cheap GTA service that uses a detected menu starter pack it's so fucking accurate
     

    maxrager12 - Time waster and poor kid
    Casper Donders (casper_9_1_1) - SE/refund attempt
    Dahso Nah (live:dahsonah) - Time waster w/ scam attempt
    Dapper_Gaming (xx_skate_xx) - Time waster
    Maudiy (the.black.pgm) - Time waster
    Kevin L (uniquelykevin) - SE/refund attempt

Similar Threads

  1. WPE Pro Question...
    By OutZida in forum General Game Hacking
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-08-2011, 01:02 AM
  2. Hacking world of warcraft? & a noob question
    By arsholio in forum General Game Hacking
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-08-2006, 01:55 PM
  3. Photoshop Question
    By arunforce in forum Art & Graphic Design
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-15-2006, 11:38 AM
  4. Quick Question..Please Answer
    By ypg_gamer in forum WarRock - International Hacks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-04-2006, 10:32 AM
  5. question
    By wardo1926 in forum WarRock - International Hacks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-30-2005, 07:36 PM