Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    jobo1291's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    16
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    3

    Upgrading PS4 Hardrive

    1st of all i hope this is in the correct place.

    Has anyone ever upgraded there PS4 harddrive from the 500GB to say a 4TB? If so which is the best way?

    Thanks
    Jobo1291

  2. #2
    Justin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    7,012
    Reputation
    1207
    Thanks
    2,820
    My Mood
    Inspired
    Quote Originally Posted by jobo1291 View Post
    1st of all i hope this is in the correct place.

    Has anyone ever upgraded there PS4 harddrive from the 500GB to say a 4TB? If so which is the best way?

    Thanks
    Jobo1291
    Current limit of PS4 HDD capacity is 2TBs I believe and can only be done with 2.5" drives. It's easy as pie, but make sure you back up your drive to an external first, it will save you having to download all the DLCs and Updates again.

    Minion Statistics

    Ex-Console Minion: 13/01/2011 ~ 19/04/2011
    Console Re-Minion: 14/06/2012 ~ 27/02/2013
    AVA Minion: 22/06/2012 ~ 12/11/2012
    Battlefield Minion: 04/02/2013 ~ 27/02/2013

    Computer Specifications
    Case: NZXT Phantom 820
    PSU: Corsair HX-850W V2
    Mobo: ASUS Z87-Deluxe
    CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K
    CPU Cooling: Swiftech H220 All-In-One Liquid Cooler (Cooled by 2x Noctua NF-F12 PWM 120mm Fans)
    RAM: Corsair Platinum Dominators CMD16GX3M2A2400C10 (2x8GB DDR3 2400Mhz XMP)
    GFX: ASUS GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II OC 2GB
    Monitor: LG 29EB93 29" Ultrawide LED IPS Panel (2560x1080)(29:1 Ratio)
    Mouse: Razer Deathadder 2012
    Keyboard: Ducky DK 9008G2 Cherry MX-Brown Mechanical Keyboard


  3. #3
    Walkyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Zürcher Unterland
    Posts
    304
    Reputation
    22
    Thanks
    88
    My Mood
    Tired
    Quote Originally Posted by Justin View Post
    Current limit of PS4 HDD capacity is 2TBs I believe and can only be done with 2.5" drives.
    Wouldn't it be possible to put in the 4TB Samsung SSD? It's the same type (2.5") so it should be possible as well, right? And SSDs are generally faster so it'd be better to put in a 1TB SSD for faster speeds. Or is PS4 already fast enough to not need a HDD?

  4. #4
    Justin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    7,012
    Reputation
    1207
    Thanks
    2,820
    My Mood
    Inspired
    Quote Originally Posted by Walkyr View Post
    Wouldn't it be possible to put in the 4TB Samsung SSD? It's the same type (2.5") so it should be possible as well, right? And SSDs are generally faster so it'd be better to put in a 1TB SSD for faster speeds. Or is PS4 already fast enough to not need a HDD?
    You can use SSDs if you want, saves a few seconds here and there on load times. Biggest benefit you'll see from SSDs is if you run games straight from the drive.

    Also, correcting my last statement, it does seem that they introduced support for 4TB drivesd in the 3.50 update.

    Use any drive 2.5" drive as long as it's not thicker than 9mm

    Minion Statistics

    Ex-Console Minion: 13/01/2011 ~ 19/04/2011
    Console Re-Minion: 14/06/2012 ~ 27/02/2013
    AVA Minion: 22/06/2012 ~ 12/11/2012
    Battlefield Minion: 04/02/2013 ~ 27/02/2013

    Computer Specifications
    Case: NZXT Phantom 820
    PSU: Corsair HX-850W V2
    Mobo: ASUS Z87-Deluxe
    CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K
    CPU Cooling: Swiftech H220 All-In-One Liquid Cooler (Cooled by 2x Noctua NF-F12 PWM 120mm Fans)
    RAM: Corsair Platinum Dominators CMD16GX3M2A2400C10 (2x8GB DDR3 2400Mhz XMP)
    GFX: ASUS GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II OC 2GB
    Monitor: LG 29EB93 29" Ultrawide LED IPS Panel (2560x1080)(29:1 Ratio)
    Mouse: Razer Deathadder 2012
    Keyboard: Ducky DK 9008G2 Cherry MX-Brown Mechanical Keyboard


  5. #5
    Walkyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Zürcher Unterland
    Posts
    304
    Reputation
    22
    Thanks
    88
    My Mood
    Tired
    Quote Originally Posted by Justin View Post
    You can use SSDs if you want, saves a few seconds here and there on load times. Biggest benefit you'll see from SSDs is if you run games straight from the drive.
    Yeah so if you do a upgrade, might as well switch to SSDs as well to get the speed bonus as well, haha!

  6. #6
    jobo1291's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    16
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanks for the input so far guys/girls.
    I did some reading and lots of people said about something called a nyko data, but that makes it bulky.
    I'll keep digging. Don't really want to spend mega bucks on a SSD for it, may see if i can get a 2.5" 4TB HDD.

    Thanks
    Jobo1291

  7. #7
    olympicwiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    1,682
    Reputation
    66
    Thanks
    126
    My Mood
    Cheeky
    I upgraded mine to 2tb - takes about 20min and its the best (cheaper) to buy the USB drive (Cheap Seagate) and pluck the drive out than the drive itself.
    Not sure about 4tb as 2tb seems plenty!

  8. #8
    jobo1291's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    16
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by olympicwiz View Post
    I upgraded mine to 2tb - takes about 20min and its the best (cheaper) to buy the USB drive (Cheap Seagate) and pluck the drive out than the drive itself.
    Not sure about 4tb as 2tb seems plenty!
    How many games do you have on your hard drive roughly?

  9. #9
    Walkyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Zürcher Unterland
    Posts
    304
    Reputation
    22
    Thanks
    88
    My Mood
    Tired
    Quote Originally Posted by jobo1291 View Post
    How many games do you have on your hard drive roughly?
    You can take PC as an example, seeing as they have usually even bigger amount of games then on the console. With 2TB you'll easily get +200 Games (Of course around 50 are Indie but still)
    When people say they have built their own PC.


  10. #10
    jobo1291's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    16
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Walkyr View Post
    You can take PC as an example, seeing as they have usually even bigger amount of games then on the console. With 2TB you'll easily get +200 Games (Of course around 50 are Indie but still)

    will games from other accounts i've aquired copy across easily aswell?

  11. #11
    Walkyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Zürcher Unterland
    Posts
    304
    Reputation
    22
    Thanks
    88
    My Mood
    Tired
    Quote Originally Posted by jobo1291 View Post
    will games from other accounts i've aquired copy across easily aswell?
    Not sure about PS but with Steam it's always bound to an account and you can't execute it. So I assume it's the same there as well.
    When people say they have built their own PC.


  12. #12
    olympicwiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    1,682
    Reputation
    66
    Thanks
    126
    My Mood
    Cheeky
    Quote Originally Posted by jobo1291 View Post
    How many games do you have on your hard drive roughly?
    I got about 18-20 games on it and I still have 1TB left

  13. #13
    sigura's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Where you live.
    Posts
    346
    Reputation
    139
    Thanks
    148
    Fist step: buy a PC
    Selling BRAZZERS PREMIUM 3$ WARRANTY INCLUDED!

    Skype:
    Sigura.hf
    Thread: http://www.mpgh.net/forum/showthread.php?t=1191344

    I do only accept Bitcoin

  14. #14
    Drama's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    1,603
    Reputation
    223
    Thanks
    412
    My Mood
    Angelic
    Didn't understand why you posted this here lol. Only place for help or not. Need to find a new forum if MPGH doesn't have a Console support thread
    Wanna advertise your shop here? PM me!

    LIKE Grand Theft Auto (GTA)? Wanna get help? enjoy the game? JOIN the official GTA group page! (CLICK GREEN BOX BELOW)


    #1 Dumbasses on MPGH.
    Knives don`t even kill a fraction compared to guns so don`t give me the knife crap.
    Quote Originally Posted by Dab1996426 View Post
    The Only Way You Can Have PC Over Console Is If You Can Build A PC With Better Hardware Than The Console At The Same Price, Which You Can't.
    Quote Originally Posted by Dab1996426 View Post
    "I Mean Sure Yeah It Makes Sense, But It's No Damn Lifesaving Medal", Makes Sense That You'd Have A Medal For Being Justifiably Injured, But It's Not The Same As Earning A Medal That Involves Saving Someones Life
    Quote Originally Posted by Dab1996426 View Post
    "Once Again, Correcting Someones Improper Grammar Is Not An Attack On Their Person."



  15. #15
    jobo1291's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    16
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by sigura View Post
    Fist step: buy a PC
    I have a PC

Similar Threads

  1. [PS4] PS4 Upgrading Hard Drive (500gb - 2TB)
    By Coolaide1601 in forum Playstation Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-25-2016, 03:00 PM
  2. [PS4] Is it possible to Jailbreak a PS4?
    By Red Penguin in forum Playstation Hacking
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 08-19-2015, 08:24 AM
  3. [PS4] PS3/PS4 Accounts
    By TheWits in forum Playstation Marketplace
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-15-2015, 02:08 AM
  4. [PS4] Selling PS4 Account With ★ Minecraft ★ Destiny ★ Knack ★ Driveclub
    By That_Noob-_- in forum Playstation Marketplace
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-28-2015, 06:45 AM
  5. [PS4] PS4 JAILBREAK?
    By donofallah in forum Playstation Hacking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-25-2014, 01:20 PM