Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 46
  1. #16
    ZeroTroubles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Whereever I feel like.
    Posts
    3,052
    Reputation
    145
    Thanks
    505
    My Mood
    Amused
    Currently running 4.6 Ghz, 4.8 is the max in the setting, but when using that it wont boot.. Solutions?

    Last edited by ZeroTroubles; 03-16-2013 at 05:08 PM.

  2. #17
    yugurt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Back on friday
    Posts
    3,372
    Reputation
    364
    Thanks
    668
    My Mood
    Tired
    Quote Originally Posted by ZeroTroubles View Post
    Currently running 4.6 Ghz, 4.8 is the max in the setting, but when using that it wont boot.. Solutions?

    More Vcore! or you might have bad ram that complains

  3. #18
    ZeroTroubles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Whereever I feel like.
    Posts
    3,052
    Reputation
    145
    Thanks
    505
    My Mood
    Amused
    Quote Originally Posted by Abbadon The Despoiler View Post


    More Vcore! or you might have bad ram that complains
    How! and howmuch!


    It's now actually doing 1.3-1.4V
    Last edited by ZeroTroubles; 03-16-2013 at 05:37 PM.

  4. #19
    yugurt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Back on friday
    Posts
    3,372
    Reputation
    364
    Thanks
    668
    My Mood
    Tired
    Quote Originally Posted by ZeroTroubles View Post


    How! and howmuch!
    try setting your Vcore to 1.4 manually also set turbo voltage to the lowest possible if you have it. LLC should be at 75% or lvl 2

  5. #20
    ZeroTroubles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Whereever I feel like.
    Posts
    3,052
    Reputation
    145
    Thanks
    505
    My Mood
    Amused
    Quote Originally Posted by Abbadon The Despoiler View Post


    try setting your Vcore to 1.4 manually also set turbo voltage to the lowest possible if you have it. LLC should be at 75% or lvl 2
    It´s on 1.4 , look at my edit.
    When running prime95 for a minute or two, I got ~80C , so I'm lowering from 4.6 to 4.4 GhZ, I don't want to risk it too much.


    ---------- Post added at 04:53 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:43 PM ----------



    4.4 GhZ now. SuperPi takes 8 seconds to calculate 1 Million Pi digits.

    Above are the results of Prime95 Torture Test (2nd option, full usage etc.) and CoreTemp.

    So, I'll keep it running over night now and in the morning hope my house isn't burned down or my PC has a BSoD?


    ---------- Post added at 04:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:53 PM ----------

    after running for ~10 min




    Please respond if it's safe for my hardware to let this test run over night.

  6. #21
    yugurt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Back on friday
    Posts
    3,372
    Reputation
    364
    Thanks
    668
    My Mood
    Tired
    Quote Originally Posted by ZeroTroubles View Post


    It´s on 1.4 , look at my edit.
    When running prime95 for a minute or two, I got ~80C , so I'm lowering from 4.6 to 4.4 GhZ, I don't want to risk it too much.
    should really not go higher then


    ---------- Post added at 12:04 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:03 AM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by ZeroTroubles View Post


    It´s on 1.4 , look at my edit.
    When running prime95 for a minute or two, I got ~80C , so I'm lowering from 4.6 to 4.4 GhZ, I don't want to risk it too much.


    ---------- Post added at 04:53 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:43 PM ----------



    4.4 GhZ now. SuperPi takes 8 seconds to calculate 1 Million Pi digits.

    Above are the results of Prime95 Torture Test (2nd option, full usage etc.) and CoreTemp.

    So, I'll keep it running over night now and in the morning hope my house isn't burned down or my PC has a BSoD?


    ---------- Post added at 04:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:53 PM ----------

    after running for ~10 min




    Please respond if it's safe for my hardware to let this test run over night.
    should be safe. if it gets to hot your pc will automatically turn off

  7. #22
    ZeroTroubles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Whereever I feel like.
    Posts
    3,052
    Reputation
    145
    Thanks
    505
    My Mood
    Amused
    Quote Originally Posted by Abbadon The Despoiler View Post


    should really not go higher then
    Running @4.4 GhZ for about 15 minutes, and it is ~85 degrees C.. Do I have to keep running the test overnight or should I stop the test, is this overclock even safe for my hardware like this? or should I go back to @4.2 GhZ , or just not OC at all..?

  8. #23
    Stevenom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Summoner's Rift
    Posts
    17,746
    Reputation
    1087
    Thanks
    1,916
    My Mood
    Doubtful
    Try running lower voltages.
    You should always try to get the lowest stable VCORE.

  9. #24
    Heartview's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    KY Cygni
    Posts
    9,208
    Reputation
    717
    Thanks
    2,872
    Quote Originally Posted by ZeroTroubles View Post


    Running @4.4 GhZ for about 15 minutes, and it is ~85 degrees C.. Do I have to keep running the test overnight or should I stop the test, is this overclock even safe for my hardware like this? or should I go back to @4.2 GhZ , or just not OC at all..?
    Air cooling is generally not recommended for OCing at higher rates. It can work, but is not optimal. Lower OCs will run good but pushing them too hard will require more suitable cooling options. Though to be fair, some guy got his i7 to 5Ghz with just a Noctua HSF.

    Anyways, it should not be hitting those temps on idle. At load, sure, but its still kinda high. Over 90 is a dangerous area, so keeping it far away from that is preferable. But your computer has fail-safes in it that prevent it from doing major damage. Your PC will just turn off if it hits critical stages.
    Texture Mods


    Obedear, the sky is low

  10. #25
    ZeroTroubles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Whereever I feel like.
    Posts
    3,052
    Reputation
    145
    Thanks
    505
    My Mood
    Amused
    Quote Originally Posted by Heartview View Post
    Air cooling is generally not recommended for OCing at higher rates. It can work, but is not optimal. Lower OCs will run good but pushing them too hard will require more suitable cooling options. Though to be fair, some guy got his i7 to 5Ghz with just a Noctua HSF.

    Anyways, it should not be hitting those temps on idle. At load, sure, but its still kinda high. Over 90 is a dangerous area, so keeping it far away from that is preferable. But your computer has fail-safes in it that prevent it from doing major damage. Your PC will just turn off if it hits critical stages.
    Those were Prime95 temperatures, not idle temps ~60ish were idle.
    Anyway
    http://www.mpgh.net/forum/2-general/...peratures.html

  11. #26
    Arrar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    223
    Reputation
    14
    Thanks
    102
    Go to your BIOS and activate it there. Simples.

  12. #27
    Heartview's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    KY Cygni
    Posts
    9,208
    Reputation
    717
    Thanks
    2,872
    Quote Originally Posted by Arrar View Post
    Go to your BIOS and activate it there. Simples.
    Best option OP. Just go into your BIOS, and there will be a huge button that says "CLICK HERE TO OVERCLOCK YOUR PC"

    Super easy.

    /s
    Texture Mods


    Obedear, the sky is low

  13. #28
    ZeroTroubles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Whereever I feel like.
    Posts
    3,052
    Reputation
    145
    Thanks
    505
    My Mood
    Amused
    Quote Originally Posted by Heartview View Post
    Best option OP. Just go into your BIOS, and there will be a huge button that says "CLICK HERE TO OVERCLOCK YOUR PC"

    Super easy.

    /s
    Yeah, there were a ton of settings and a bunch of profiles for those, i chose optimal over clock 4.2 profile

  14. #29
    Heartview's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    KY Cygni
    Posts
    9,208
    Reputation
    717
    Thanks
    2,872
    Quote Originally Posted by ZeroTroubles View Post

    Yeah, there were a ton of settings and a bunch of profiles for those, i chose optimal over clock 4.2 profile
    A lot of MBs these days actually do have an 'easy OC' option, but its usually pretty bland. UEFI is actually really sweet, and makes OCing a lot easier than it used to be.
    Texture Mods


    Obedear, the sky is low

  15. #30
    Stevenom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Summoner's Rift
    Posts
    17,746
    Reputation
    1087
    Thanks
    1,916
    My Mood
    Doubtful
    Should learn to manually overclock.
    Usually the Auto OC will run higher voltages.
    Last edited by Stevenom; 03-16-2013 at 07:40 PM.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [Help Request] Help about overclocking a HP p2-1322
    By Starfan503 in forum Overclocking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-28-2013, 11:36 PM
  2. [Help Request] need help in overclock my desktop
    By strydezz in forum Overclocking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-04-2012, 12:14 PM
  3. Need help with an overclock
    By Mufasa#1 in forum Overclocking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-07-2010, 04:48 PM
  4. overclock help!
    By DontFuckWithMe in forum General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-05-2010, 05:45 PM
  5. overclock help
    By mat2609 in forum General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-11-2010, 07:40 AM