Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Sunstreaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    DEUTSCHLAND
    Posts
    649
    Reputation
    446
    Thanks
    61
    My Mood
    Psychedelic

    help, new graphic card....

    so basically i want to buy a new graphic card. (gtx 680) can anybody tell me what i need to look for that it fits right etc. if you know what i mean lol

  2. #2
    segerydrth's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,266
    Reputation
    13
    Thanks
    112
    My Mood
    In Love
    First things first get a 7970ghz
    More performance cheaper price

    Beware of imposters, only add me using this button.

  3. #3
    Crumbs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    if(evt.getID() == 200) {
    Posts
    569
    Reputation
    36
    Thanks
    345
    My Mood
    Amazed
    First i recommend u the company : EVGA, then for the lowest price just go for a normal edition (without OC, or hydro cooler)

  4. #4
    MrGlovebox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    North Pole
    Posts
    155
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    28
    My Mood
    Cold
    Get AMD 7970 unless this a dual graphics card setup (SLI Xfire)

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to MrGlovebox For This Useful Post:

    Hey Walrus (04-25-2013)

  6. #5
    Sunstreaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    DEUTSCHLAND
    Posts
    649
    Reputation
    446
    Thanks
    61
    My Mood
    Psychedelic
    kk, ill get that then, but isnt there stuff i need to look out for?

  7. #6
    segerydrth's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,266
    Reputation
    13
    Thanks
    112
    My Mood
    In Love
    Quote Originally Posted by Sunstreaker View Post
    kk, ill get that then, but isnt there stuff i need to look out for?
    all u got to see is if
    your mobo has pcie 3.0
    you can fit it in ur case

    Beware of imposters, only add me using this button.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to segerydrth For This Useful Post:

    Sunstreaker (04-27-2013)

  9. #7
    Sunstreaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    DEUTSCHLAND
    Posts
    649
    Reputation
    446
    Thanks
    61
    My Mood
    Psychedelic
    Quote Originally Posted by segerydrth View Post
    all u got to see is if
    your mobo has pcie 3.0
    you can fit it in ur case
    kk, ill check that in a sec, but isnt there something with powersupppy to?

  10. #8
    ricky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    71
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    4
    7970 ghz edition saphire vapor-x=amazing card

  11. #9
    Horror's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    51,4.
    Posts
    6,940
    Reputation
    574
    Thanks
    5,005
    My Mood
    Twisted
    nVidea > AMD.
    I mean, dem PsyhX

    EVGA should be the best indeed, and just look for a closeby shop.
    There are loads of cheap sites out there, but in my case, shipping fees immedeately ruin it
     

    Minion+ : February 2014 - January 2015
    Counter Strike: Global Offensive Minion : November 2014 - January 2015
    Alliance of Valiant Arms Minion : August 2014 - January 2015
    Need For Speed World Minion : January 2014 - January 2015
    Rust Minion : January 2014 - January 2015
    Call of Duty Minion : January 2013 - January 2015
    Editor : December 2012 - April 2013
    Donator : March 2014 - Current
    Member : October 2010 - Current

    Previously known as "Isaakske".

  12. #10
    Heartview's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    KY Cygni
    Posts
    9,208
    Reputation
    717
    Thanks
    2,872
    Quote Originally Posted by Isaakske View Post
    nVidea > AMD.
    I mean, dem PsyhX

    EVGA should be the best indeed, and just look for a closeby shop.
    There are loads of cheap sites out there, but in my case, shipping fees immedeately ruin it
    Except you are wrong. The 7970Ghz pretty much beats out the 680 in every area.
    Texture Mods


    Obedear, the sky is low

  13. #11
    Horror's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    51,4.
    Posts
    6,940
    Reputation
    574
    Thanks
    5,005
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Quote Originally Posted by Heartview View Post
    Except you are wrong. The 7970Ghz pretty much beats out the 680 in every area.
    Please consider thinking before posting lies.
    nVidea is better in every aspect except price. And AMD may have 5Hz more.
    But:
    -nVidea has PsyhX
    -nVidea automaticly stretches your resolution to a fullscreen one, in AMD, when you select 800x600 on a 1920x1080 screen, it'll only take up so much of your screen, as in nVidea, it will still take up 1920x1080, but all the images will be stretched and the pixels will start to show. Still better than not using 1/4 of your screen. As we all know decreasing resolution hugely increases your performance.
    -nVidea has the nVidea configuration screen. Obv.
    -nVidea has a huge customer service, as with AMD, there's none to almost none.
     

    Minion+ : February 2014 - January 2015
    Counter Strike: Global Offensive Minion : November 2014 - January 2015
    Alliance of Valiant Arms Minion : August 2014 - January 2015
    Need For Speed World Minion : January 2014 - January 2015
    Rust Minion : January 2014 - January 2015
    Call of Duty Minion : January 2013 - January 2015
    Editor : December 2012 - April 2013
    Donator : March 2014 - Current
    Member : October 2010 - Current

    Previously known as "Isaakske".

  14. #12
    Heartview's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    KY Cygni
    Posts
    9,208
    Reputation
    717
    Thanks
    2,872
    Quote Originally Posted by Isaakske View Post

    Please consider thinking before posting lies.
    nVidea is better in every aspect except price. And AMD may have 5Hz more.
    But:
    -nVidea has PsyhX
    -nVidea automaticly stretches your resolution to a fullscreen one, in AMD, when you select 800x600 on a 1920x1080 screen, it'll only take up so much of your screen, as in nVidea, it will still take up 1920x1080, but all the images will be stretched and the pixels will start to show. Still better than not using 1/4 of your screen. As we all know decreasing resolution hugely increases your performance.
    -nVidea has the nVidea configuration screen. Obv.
    -nVidea has a huge customer service, as with AMD, there's none to almost none.
    Huh? Are you a dumb?

    Like 2 games out now use Physx. Physx has been dying since it came out, and only like 4 or 5 games ever utilized it well enough to mention. And with new consoles pretty much confirmed to use AMD setups, Physx will be even more of a thing in the past. And using Physx as a way to buy GPUs is insane, unless you are spending $700+ for a computer to play like 2 games.


    I literally have no idea what the hell you are talking about. I have a 1920x1080 monitor and that is what it looks like at 1600x900. Obviously it will not take up your entire screen if you do not match the aspect ratio, but afaik, nvidia cards will do that too. So either you have 0 clue as to how resolutions work, or you are just fanboying harder than anyone. (The white space was leftover area on the canvas in paint that I didnt bother cropping out. The last image I had open in paint was much larger in width than my monitor)

    There is another picture at 1600x900 showing it really is taking up my entire monitor. Phone quality sucks though.

    Catalyst Control Center. Please see the last pic. Does pretty much the exact same thing as the nVidia control panel, minus some fringe applications that nobody really uses in the first place.

    AMD has some of the best customer service, but to say its any worse or better than nVidia is a joke. Any company can have great or bad customer service. I have never had a problem with either. Stop being an idiot and using a one time example like its some kind of common place.

    Also, not counting the fact that you know, it gets better benchtests than the 680 and all, but hey. It has nVidia on the side so that makes it better right?
    The Best Graphics Cards: Nvidia vs. AMD Current-Gen Comparison > Benchmarks: Battlefield 3, Borderlands 2 - TechSpot
    The only one place where the 680 beats the 7970 is a very small difference in one game at an extremely high reso. And go figure, its the only AAA game off the top of my head that actually uses Physx too. Note how at normal reso's, the 7970 beats it, even though BL2 has a FPS cap.

    So how about you stop posting lies instead? Unless you can actually provide proof to your unsubstantiated claims, please stop foaming at the mouth about nvidia.
    Last edited by Heartview; 04-27-2013 at 02:06 PM.
    Texture Mods


    Obedear, the sky is low

  15. #13
    Horror's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    51,4.
    Posts
    6,940
    Reputation
    574
    Thanks
    5,005
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Quote Originally Posted by Heartview View Post
    Huh? Are you a dumb?

    Like 2 games out now use Physx. Physx has been dying since it came out, and only like 4 or 5 games ever utilized it well enough to mention. And with new consoles pretty much confirmed to use AMD setups, Physx will be even more of a thing in the past. And using Physx as a way to buy GPUs is insane, unless you are spending $700+ for a computer to play like 2 games.


    I literally have no idea what the hell you are talking about. I have a 1920x1080 monitor and that is what it looks like at 1600x900. Obviously it will not take up your entire screen if you do not match the aspect ratio, but afaik, nvidia cards will do that too. So either you have 0 clue as to how resolutions work, or you are just fanboying harder than anyone. (The white space was leftover area on the canvas in paint that I didnt bother cropping out. The last image I had open in paint was much larger in width than my monitor)

    There is another picture at 1600x900 showing it really is taking up my entire monitor. Phone quality sucks though.

    Catalyst Control Center. Please see the last pic. Does pretty much the exact same thing as the nVidia control panel, minus some fringe applications that nobody really uses in the first place.

    AMD has some of the best customer service, but to say its any worse or better than nVidia is a joke. Any company can have great or bad customer service. I have never had a problem with either. Stop being an idiot and using a one time example like its some kind of common place.

    Also, not counting the fact that you know, it gets better benchtests than the 680 and all, but hey. It has nVidia on the side so that makes it better right?
    The Best Graphics Cards: Nvidia vs. AMD Current-Gen Comparison > Benchmarks: Battlefield 3, Borderlands 2 - TechSpot
    The only one place where the 680 beats the 7970 is a very small difference in one game at an extremely high reso. And go figure, its the only AAA game off the top of my head that actually uses Physx too. Note how at normal reso's, the 7970 beats it, even though BL2 has a FPS cap.

    So how about you stop posting lies instead? Unless you can actually provide proof to your unsubstantiated claims, please stop foaming at the mouth about nvidia.
    Not fanboying, just posting my experiences.
    My older laptop had an AMD card, and as soon as I lowered the resolution lower as the default one, it would no longer use the whole screen, but the smaller resolution, leaving 1/4 of the screen black. nVidea doesn't do that.
    Games that use PsyhX, and I can name of the top of my head :
    -Borderlands 2
    -Hawken
    -Planetside 2
    And they are all pretty popular games.
    Again, my own experience :
    Catalyst Control Center doesn't even allow you to switch between multiple GPU's or use built in graphics (Intel HD 4xxx).
    And the customer service was merely a friend needing help, and noone helping him. I myself have never tried to contact AMD or get help for it.
     

    Minion+ : February 2014 - January 2015
    Counter Strike: Global Offensive Minion : November 2014 - January 2015
    Alliance of Valiant Arms Minion : August 2014 - January 2015
    Need For Speed World Minion : January 2014 - January 2015
    Rust Minion : January 2014 - January 2015
    Call of Duty Minion : January 2013 - January 2015
    Editor : December 2012 - April 2013
    Donator : March 2014 - Current
    Member : October 2010 - Current

    Previously known as "Isaakske".

  16. #14
    Heartview's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    KY Cygni
    Posts
    9,208
    Reputation
    717
    Thanks
    2,872
    Quote Originally Posted by Isaakske View Post

    Not fanboying, just posting my experiences.
    My older laptop had an AMD card, and as soon as I lowered the resolution lower as the default one, it would no longer use the whole screen, but the smaller resolution, leaving 1/4 of the screen black. nVidea doesn't do that.
    Games that use PsyhX, and I can name of the top of my head :
    -Borderlands 2
    -Hawken
    -Planetside 2
    And they are all pretty popular games.
    Again, my own experience :
    Catalyst Control Center doesn't even allow you to switch between multiple GPU's or use built in graphics (Intel HD 4xxx).
    And the customer service was merely a friend needing help, and noone helping him. I myself have never tried to contact AMD or get help for it.
    So you have essentially admitted that everything you posted was wrong. It helps if you are actually talking about something you know about, rather than just spouting shit that has no base.

    And all of those games have no need for Physx, or dont have it really even be noticeable. Most effects that Physx does are being simulated on any card these days anyways. As for your laptop, well thats a laptop for you. They are designed to run at that reso and that one only. Dropping the reso in game is what helps performance, not your desktop anyways. If that was the case, it could very well be a game issue.
    Texture Mods


    Obedear, the sky is low

  17. #15
    Horror's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    51,4.
    Posts
    6,940
    Reputation
    574
    Thanks
    5,005
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Quote Originally Posted by Heartview View Post
    So you have essentially admitted that everything you posted was wrong.
    Lol 1/4 of my reasons = all of em.
    Obviously.
     

    Minion+ : February 2014 - January 2015
    Counter Strike: Global Offensive Minion : November 2014 - January 2015
    Alliance of Valiant Arms Minion : August 2014 - January 2015
    Need For Speed World Minion : January 2014 - January 2015
    Rust Minion : January 2014 - January 2015
    Call of Duty Minion : January 2013 - January 2015
    Editor : December 2012 - April 2013
    Donator : March 2014 - Current
    Member : October 2010 - Current

    Previously known as "Isaakske".

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [Help Request] New graphics card?
    By Thaz in forum Hardware & Software Support
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-07-2013, 05:45 AM
  2. [Help Request] New Graphics Card
    By luka186 in forum Hardware & Software Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-19-2012, 11:21 AM
  3. Need Help With Graphic Card
    By RezInPeace2 in forum General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-01-2010, 09:48 PM
  4. getting a new graphics card
    By megaflcl in forum General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-20-2009, 05:47 PM
  5. My new graphics card
    By Hispiforce in forum General
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-29-2008, 03:56 PM