Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    iAmNotSynergy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    199
    Reputation
    12
    Thanks
    2
    My Mood
    Tired

    Do I need to upgrade my graphics card? (FRAPS)

    My specs:

    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2500K CPU @ 3.30GHz
    Microsoft Windows 8 Pro
    8.1 GB RAM
    AMD Radeon HD 6870 1GB

    Frame rates:

    MW2 - 80 (max)
    Black Ops 2 - 60 (max)
    Burnout Paradise - 60 (max)
    Crysis 3 - 45 (max)

    Okay, so I record at 60 FPS (because if you record at 30, you're frame rate in game drops like crazy)
    When I record any game, I get random lag spikes, and they get really annoying.
    I can't record Crysis 3 at all without lag because I only get 45 FPS.
    Should I upgrade my graphics card so I don't get lag spikes?
    Should I upgrade my graphics card to get a higher frame rate on Crysis 3?


    Thanks so much to whoever answers my questions. I appreciate it a lot!

  2. #2
    Crumbs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    if(evt.getID() == 200) {
    Posts
    569
    Reputation
    36
    Thanks
    345
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Yes you should, to enjoy Crysis 3's beautiful graphic, i recommend you upgrade to 79XX model or gtx 680.

  3. #3
    iAmNotSynergy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    199
    Reputation
    12
    Thanks
    2
    My Mood
    Tired
    Quote Originally Posted by Crumbs View Post
    Yes you should, to enjoy Crysis 3's beautiful graphic, i recommend you upgrade to 79XX model or gtx 680.
    Thanks for the reply. Does anyone else know if I should upgrade my graphics card, or if there's a fix to the Fraps issue?

  4. #4
    -Lame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Saudi Arabia
    Posts
    6,783
    Reputation
    263
    Thanks
    658
    My Mood
    Cynical
    Try bandicam before upgrading, a video recording software.

  5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to -Lame For This Useful Post:

    iAmNotSynergy (05-20-2013),segerydrth (05-21-2013)

  6. #5

  7. #6
    yugurt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Back on friday
    Posts
    3,372
    Reputation
    364
    Thanks
    668
    My Mood
    Tired
    Ok list your hdd here because that can actually affect this alot. I had issues before when recording with fraps. It would not lag much but it would have huge lagspikes even if i other than that had 80 fps stable. My problem was that fraps records without any form of compression meaning files get huge. My hdd was basically having issues saving the video while also loading files from it for the game which was making it have huge lagspikes. Since i got my ssd i try running the game from that when i record and that gives me butter smooth recordings.

  8. #7
    Domokun_index's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    1,962
    Reputation
    336
    Thanks
    1,219
    ^ HDD write speed can have a huge effect.
    If you have a decent HDD try Dxtory, it doesn't suck up your RAM/GPU power.

  9. #8
    ickytc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    MPGH
    Posts
    260
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    11
    My Mood
    Amazed
    If you don't want to upgrade your graphics card you can invest in video recording hardware so it takes some load off your PC.

    A good example would be an Avermedia Live Gamer Portable.
    Click the 'Thanks' button at the bottom right if I helped you in some way or if you're a good person looking to thank me for no reason


    My high speed fiber optic internet

  10. #9
    iAmNotSynergy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    199
    Reputation
    12
    Thanks
    2
    My Mood
    Tired
    Thanks so much to everyone for the posts. I am going to try Bandicam out, and if it doesn't work, I will post my HDD specs and stuff.

    ---------- Post added at 04:44 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:38 PM ----------

    Bought Bandicam guys! Workes like a charm, and the quality is like Fraps, if not better. Thanks a lot for all of your suggestions. I might upgrade my graphics card soon to enjoy some high graphics games.

  11. #10
    iSukkHD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Earth... Duh
    Posts
    254
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    17
    My Mood
    Cool
    i would recommend a 7870 Ghz Edition or crossfire 7850's.
    North Korea Bomb Test

  12. #11
    iAmNotSynergy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    199
    Reputation
    12
    Thanks
    2
    My Mood
    Tired
    Quote Originally Posted by iSukkHD View Post
    i would recommend a 7870 Ghz Edition or crossfire 7850's.
    With a Radeon HD 7870 Ghz Edition, will I be able to run Metro: Last Light on the best settings with 60FPS+?

  13. #12
    BioNiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    3
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by iAmNotSynergy View Post
    With a Radeon HD 7870 Ghz Edition, will I be able to run Metro: Last Light on the best settings with 60FPS+?
    I have almost the same specs as you except gtx 660ti and MLL runs smooth and playable all time with lowest framerate being 35 and constant 70fps,you should be good It's 100x better optimized than M2033.
    Also if you do get it disable SSAA,on my second system with x2 gtx690 it just kills my fps to the point where its unplayable.(SSAA makes little to no visual difference in MLL)

  14. #13
    Terror In Paradise's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    3,246
    Reputation
    235
    Thanks
    532
    Quote Originally Posted by iAmNotSynergy View Post
    Thanks for the reply. Does anyone else know if I should upgrade my graphics card, or if there's a fix to the Fraps issue?
    I use to have that card and now that I've got a 680 it's definitely worth it and you should definitely upgrade.
    Error 404 Signature Not Found

  15. #14
    Domokun_index's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    1,962
    Reputation
    336
    Thanks
    1,219
    Quote Originally Posted by TheTerroriser1 View Post
    I use to have that card and now that I've got a 680 it's definitely worth it and you should definitely upgrade.
    Well that's a stupid suggestion. Everyone would upgrade if they could...

  16. #15
    Terror In Paradise's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    3,246
    Reputation
    235
    Thanks
    532
    Quote Originally Posted by Domokun_index View Post


    Well that's a stupid suggestion. Everyone would upgrade if they could...
    Stupid questions get stupid answers.
    Error 404 Signature Not Found

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Need a graphics card [Really cheap]
    By ez2animate in forum Suggestions, Requests & Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-13-2010, 02:32 PM
  2. Replies: 24
    Last Post: 08-13-2010, 05:39 AM
  3. Kinda need some help( i think its the graphic card)
    By PX[Asia] in forum Alliance of Valiant Arms (AVA) Hacks & Cheats
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-06-2010, 05:48 AM
  4. Need Help With Graphic Card
    By RezInPeace2 in forum General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-01-2010, 09:48 PM
  5. Need New PCI Graphics Card Sugestions?
    By TheKamikazes in forum General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-09-2009, 06:35 AM