Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    w4ssup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    1,433
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    318

    can I overclock with this? [and should i?]

    so I had this pc for a year now and i'm planning on over clocking my cpu, but I was wondering if it's a good idea to oc the cpu with the mobo? (i've never over clock before and i plan on not going way to high... like .2 or .3 ghz higher)

    cpu: amd phenom II x4 965 B.E
    mobo: m5a78L-M LX
    note: im waiting for my hyper 212 plus to arrive

    also, is there a program i can use to over clock instead of going into the mobo bios?

  2. #2
    Sunstreaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    DEUTSCHLAND
    Posts
    649
    Reputation
    446
    Thanks
    61
    My Mood
    Psychedelic
    going 2-3 ghz higher will fry everything in your case. go in small steps and watch the temperature of the cpu, e.g. with "Speecy". Programm to overclock: MSI Afterburner?

    Your CPU has 3.40GhZ if im correct, try going up to something like 4 maybe 4,2... For stuff higher than that you probably need watercooling.
    Last edited by Sunstreaker; 07-21-2013 at 09:26 PM.

  3. #3
    w4ssup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    1,433
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    318
    Quote Originally Posted by Sunstreaker View Post
    going 2-3 ghz higher will fry everything in your case. go in small steps and watch the temperature of the cpu, e.g. with "Speecy". Programm to overclock: MSI Afterburner?

    Your CPU has 3.40GhZ if im correct, try going up to something like 4 maybe 4,2... For stuff higher than that you probably need watercooling.
    no i ment like from 3.4 to 3.6 or something... not 5 ghz lol

  4. #4
    oenigmaa's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Arma2OA.exe
    Posts
    545
    Reputation
    108
    Thanks
    118
    My Mood
    Devilish
    Oh, hell no. The 3.4 Ghz to 3.6 jump is going to do little to nothing at all.

    "The purpose of a business is to create a customer." - Peter Drucker


    Sooper Amazing PC Specs:
    GPU(S): 2x Signature 2 Superclocked GTX 680's
    CPU: i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
    PSU: Corsair Platinum AX1200W
    MOBO: Asus Sabertooth Z77
    CASE: NZXT Phantom
    STORAGE: 1x 256 GB Intel SSD/1x 2TB Western Digital HDD

  5. #5
    w4ssup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    1,433
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    318
    Quote Originally Posted by oenigmaa View Post
    Oh, hell no. The 3.4 Ghz to 3.6 jump is going to do little to nothing at all.
    lol really? then what should i go for? that not a danger zone for aircooler

  6. #6
    jwgering's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    84
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    8
    My Mood
    Cool
    Quote Originally Posted by w4ssup View Post
    .
    Don't overclock that. With the hardware you have, the only overclocking you could safely do wouldn't make a difference.

  7. #7
    w4ssup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    1,433
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    318
    Quote Originally Posted by jwgering View Post
    Don't overclock that. With the hardware you have, the only overclocking you could safely do wouldn't make a difference.
    really? why?

  8. #8
    jwgering's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    84
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    8
    My Mood
    Cool
    Quote Originally Posted by w4ssup View Post


    really? why?
    Like others said; it will fry your components if you truly overclock it.

  9. #9
    w4ssup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    1,433
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    318
    Quote Originally Posted by jwgering View Post
    Like others said; it will fry your components if you truly overclock it.
    I don't want to over clock it too much, just enough where i can notice a different..

  10. #10
    jwgering's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    84
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    8
    My Mood
    Cool
    Quote Originally Posted by w4ssup View Post


    I don't want to over clock it too much, just enough where i can notice a different..
    Your components will more than likely be damaged.

  11. #11
    w4ssup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    1,433
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    318
    Quote Originally Posted by jwgering View Post
    Your components will more than likely be damaged.
    for real? fuck

  12. #12
    jwgering's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    84
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    8
    My Mood
    Cool
    Quote Originally Posted by w4ssup View Post
    .
    You need to upgrade to newer components before considering to overclock.

  13. #13
    FaZeApex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    My Room
    Posts
    29
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    4
    My Mood
    Amazed
    I agree with jwgering. Unless you uprade a little more, it would be a bad idea to overclock unless you get it looked at by a "professional".

  14. #14
    Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    female
    Location
    In your meatus
    Posts
    23,560
    Reputation
    2912
    Thanks
    5,336
    My Mood
    Twisted
    I don't think you'll get much out of it with your motherboard. If your CPU is the C3 revision (Thuban E0 Revision) then the CPU will easily be able to reach up to 4GHz on pretty much any decent air cooler, but your limiting factor will be the motherboard and the quality of your power supply. But if it's also your first time overclocking then I highly suggest you do a lot more research before you go fucking around with the multipliers and voltages and end up with a burnt out CPU. Another thing to remember is that when you increase voltages you need more and more cooling as the stable temp ceiling gets lower and lower.

    I know some people who are running that CPU with just a hyper 212+ and have overclocked to 4.2GHz@1.388vcore. But they also have quality motherboards and a good stable PSU. Not to mention their rig's are setup for maximum airflow.

    I stress that you do a lot of research before you go fucking around with your only CPU.

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to Doc For This Useful Post:

    w4ssup (07-31-2013)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-03-2013, 07:10 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-16-2013, 12:57 PM
  3. [Solved] I only need help with this and my server will be 100% COmpleted
    By Ameer in forum Minecraft Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-17-2012, 05:06 PM
  4. What can i get with this?
    By gerbilad in forum Marketplace Price Check / Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-03-2011, 11:34 PM
  5. can som1 help with this plz?
    By Obey in forum WarRock - International Hacks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-10-2008, 05:59 PM