Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    3kc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    181
    Reputation
    103
    Thanks
    15
    My Mood
    Sneaky

    [help needed] HIS ICEQ 7870 2Gb GHz Edition FPS issue

    so about a week ago i installed my new gpu (full name in the title). it has been running just fine until last night. i hopped on dayz and this happened...

    normal fps: 30 to 35 in cherno and elektro / 50 to 60 in country side and small towns on "High"
    last night: never got above 25 no matter where i was. fps didn't get any higher if i went into "low" and "very low" settings.

    other things to note. i have not fiddled with anything in iTurbo (the software that comes specifically with the HIS ICEQ and i have all my drivers up to date (so i think!). my temps are doing just great and always have been doing just fine my cpu idles at about 27 to 30 degrees Celsius and under load is about 38 to 40 Celsius. my gpu idles at about 25 Celsius and under load is about 40 to 45 Celsius. after about ten minutes of gaming on skyrim with every setting maxed out my average fps went from 60 to about 34. seems to be a pattern here just takes different times for fps to drop.

    my specs are...
    AMD FX 6100 3.3 GHz
    8 Gb Ram 1600 Mhz
    7870 2gb Ghz Edition
    1 TB HDD 7200 rpm
    corsair h60
    cx 500m
    ASUS m5a97LE 2.0

  2. #2
    uhZylon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    192.168.1.1
    Posts
    809
    Reputation
    39
    Thanks
    364
    My Mood
    Amused
    I did a bit of research and couldn't find any "fixes".
    I would just play around with the settings, turning things like post process off could make a difference.
    Make sure you have the latest drivers, and i would always recommend having the latest beta drivers as i never have problems with stability and they sometimes increase performance. (Although, i'm on Nvidia soo.)
    It is possible it was the server, (try less than 100 ping servers. Less than 50 is always better imo.)
    I would have vsync disabled.
    Shadows on high/very high. (High/very high shadows are dealt by GPU not CPU so less load on CPU)

    Those are things i can think of from the top of my head. At the end of the day its a mod, optimizations of arma itself are horrible and sometimes they just play up. Many people will say that for a last resort, re install arma and if not that, restore windows. Could be something that is dragging down performance.

    Il post back if i find any more info

  3. #3
    3kc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    181
    Reputation
    103
    Thanks
    15
    My Mood
    Sneaky
    Quote Originally Posted by uhZylon View Post
    I did a bit of research and couldn't find any "fixes".
    I would just play around with the settings, turning things like post process off could make a difference.
    Make sure you have the latest drivers, and i would always recommend having the latest beta drivers as i never have problems with stability and they sometimes increase performance. (Although, i'm on Nvidia soo.)
    It is possible it was the server, (try less than 100 ping servers. Less than 50 is always better imo.)
    I would have vsync disabled.
    Shadows on high/very high. (High/very high shadows are dealt by GPU not CPU so less load on CPU)

    Those are things i can think of from the top of my head. At the end of the day its a mod, optimizations of arma itself are horrible and sometimes they just play up. Many people will say that for a last resort, re install arma and if not that, restore windows. Could be something that is dragging down performance.

    Il post back if i find any more info
    Pp effects have always been off
    have swept and cleanly re installed my drivers more than a handful of times
    i only have dsl so theres only a small number of servers with less than 100 ping, but i've tested about 8 that i had about a 20 to 80 ping to and they didn't change anything
    vsync has always been disabled
    the shadow thing is surprising, i usually just have it disabled.

    but also, it happens on other games that are much newer and much more optimized.

  4. #4
    The amazing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    United states
    Posts
    1,250
    Reputation
    14
    Thanks
    44
    My Mood
    Cool
    Quote Originally Posted by 3kc View Post
    Pp effects have always been off
    have swept and cleanly re installed my drivers more than a handful of times
    i only have dsl so theres only a small number of servers with less than 100 ping, but i've tested about 8 that i had about a 20 to 80 ping to and they didn't change anything
    vsync has always been disabled
    the shadow thing is surprising, i usually just have it disabled.

    but also, it happens on other games that are much newer and much more optimized.
    dayz is CPU intensive game not gpu

    try highering ur grahpics and lower AA Shadows PP And make sure ur resoultion isnt higher then 100% not 200%

    my HIS 7970 I5 4670k gets around 30-40 fps on dayz

  5. #5
    3kc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    181
    Reputation
    103
    Thanks
    15
    My Mood
    Sneaky
    Quote Originally Posted by The amazing View Post
    dayz is CPU intensive game not gpu

    try highering ur grahpics and lower AA Shadows PP And make sure ur resoultion isnt higher then 100% not 200%

    my HIS 7970 I5 4670k gets around 30-40 fps on dayz
    already tried all of those things. idk if i originally said this but it doesn't matter what settings i play on, its the same fps consistently 15 to 25.

  6. #6
    The amazing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    United states
    Posts
    1,250
    Reputation
    14
    Thanks
    44
    My Mood
    Cool
    Quote Originally Posted by 3kc View Post
    already tried all of those things. idk if i originally said this but it doesn't matter what settings i play on, its the same fps consistently 15 to 25.
    try this also read the description and do tip 1


  7. #7
    3kc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    181
    Reputation
    103
    Thanks
    15
    My Mood
    Sneaky
    Quote Originally Posted by The amazing View Post
    try this also read the description and do tip 1

    I've already tried that video as well

  8. #8
    The amazing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    United states
    Posts
    1,250
    Reputation
    14
    Thanks
    44
    My Mood
    Cool
    Quote Originally Posted by 3kc View Post
    I've already tried that video as well
    maybe something is bottlenecking ur gpu

  9. #9
    3kc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    181
    Reputation
    103
    Thanks
    15
    My Mood
    Sneaky
    Quote Originally Posted by The amazing View Post
    maybe something is bottlenecking ur gpu
    what would it be though???? like the FX6100 is a decent gpu. all 6 cores are unlocked and working properly according to windows.

  10. #10
    The amazing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    United states
    Posts
    1,250
    Reputation
    14
    Thanks
    44
    My Mood
    Cool
    Quote Originally Posted by 3kc View Post
    what would it be though???? like the FX6100 is a decent gpu. all 6 cores are unlocked and working properly according to windows.
    maybe try reinstalling ur gpu.... Is ur gpu up to date?

  11. #11
    3kc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    181
    Reputation
    103
    Thanks
    15
    My Mood
    Sneaky
    Quote Originally Posted by The amazing View Post
    maybe try reinstalling ur gpu.... Is ur gpu up to date?
    i'll try to re install it later. if you mean drivers, then yes they are up to date.

  12. #12
    opzkiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    54
    Reputation
    49
    Thanks
    7
    You most likely installed something that fucked up your fps, i had speed fan installed once to control my fan speeda and it dropped my fps by 30 on bf3.

  13. #13
    segerydrth's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,266
    Reputation
    13
    Thanks
    112
    My Mood
    In Love
    Quote Originally Posted by opzkiller View Post
    You most likely installed something that fucked up your fps, i had speed fan installed once to control my fan speeda and it dropped my fps by 30 on bf3.
    how does one's fan fuck up fps?

    Beware of imposters, only add me using this button.

  14. #14
    Aborted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Shitpost Defense
    Posts
    17,471
    Reputation
    3076
    Thanks
    6,395
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Quote Originally Posted by segerydrth View Post
    how does one's fan fuck up fps?
    ​If a GPU is over-heating, it will automatically lower its voltage to minimalize damage, thereby reducing performance.
    When the earth is changed into a humid dungeon,
    In which Hope like a bat
    Goes beating the walls with her timid wings
    And knocking her head against the rotten ceiling;
    When the rain stretching out its endless train
    Imitates the bars of a vast prison
    And a silent horde of loathsome spiders
    Comes to spin their webs in the depths of our brains,
    All at once the bells leap with rage
    And hurl a frightful roar at heaven,
    Even as wandering spirits with no country
    Burst into a stubborn, whimpering cry.
    — And without drums or music, long hearses
    Pass by slowly in my soul; Hope, vanquished,
    Weeps, and atrocious, despotic Anguish
    On my bowed skull plants her black flag.

  15. #15
    Destenyofenemy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    YouTube :3
    Posts
    706
    Reputation
    82
    Thanks
    44
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by Aborted View Post

    ​If a GPU is over-heating, it will automatically lower its voltage to minimalize damage, thereby reducing performance.
    ^ This is so true.


    If you did know, then all PC's like your are not build for AMD, try Nvidia.

    And you might use Ccleaner, it cleans up registry.. And also I'd clean up the dust inside the case.

    One of my old computers, had specs like that:
    AMD processor 64bit
    Nvidia 310 (I don't remember exactly)
    1GB of ram.

    It was working fine, and as soon as I put AMD Radeon HD 5ksomething, then I saw really weird things on screen.
    AMD > AMD wont work together, i dunno, but it might be cuz of that
    Last edited by Destenyofenemy; 10-29-2013 at 04:20 AM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [Help Request] HUNTED MAN NEED YOUR HELP WITH Meltdown injector v1.5 + Hex edit video!
    By sinke0608 in forum Alliance of Valiant Arms (AVA) Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-09-2013, 06:00 PM
  2. Need help with GG2 V0.09.00 MPGH Edition
    By carlitosrose in forum MapleStory Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-29-2012, 04:42 PM
  3. [Help Request] Texture won't work, help needed :(
    By Kikimo900 in forum Combat Arms Mod Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-29-2011, 02:28 AM
  4. [Help Request] Help needed!
    By FailBladez in forum Combat Arms Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-06-2011, 05:37 AM
  5. [Help Request] Some help needed
    By Julma Henri in forum Combat Arms Mod Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-28-2011, 02:25 AM