Thread: Ram upgrading??

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Room101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    chernobyl exclusion zone
    Posts
    177
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    11
    My Mood
    Aggressive

    Ram upgrading??

    Im planning on upgrading my ram, but i dont know if its commpatible with my Mobo

    Please tell me..

    My Motherboard: GA-78LMT-S2P
    The ram i want: Corsair CMX8GX3M2B1600C9 XMS3 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600 Mhz CL9 Performance Desktop Memory Kit: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories


    If its not wright then please link me correct ram

  2. #2
    uhZylon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    192.168.1.1
    Posts
    809
    Reputation
    39
    Thanks
    364
    My Mood
    Amused
    The manufacturers site says it only supports memory speeds up to 1333 and that ram is 1600 so im doubting it will work.

  3. #3
    illusionati's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    63
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    5
    I believe you still can buy that ram and use it. It will just clock down to 1333 by default.

    Edit: Since the mobo says 1333+ OC, I think it can run at higher speeds so you should be fine.
    Last edited by illusionati; 11-15-2013 at 01:08 PM.

  4. #4
    Aborted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Shitpost Defense
    Posts
    17,471
    Reputation
    3076
    Thanks
    6,394
    My Mood
    Twisted
    ​Worth noting that you need a 64-Bit OS in order to use all 8GB.
    When the earth is changed into a humid dungeon,
    In which Hope like a bat
    Goes beating the walls with her timid wings
    And knocking her head against the rotten ceiling;
    When the rain stretching out its endless train
    Imitates the bars of a vast prison
    And a silent horde of loathsome spiders
    Comes to spin their webs in the depths of our brains,
    All at once the bells leap with rage
    And hurl a frightful roar at heaven,
    Even as wandering spirits with no country
    Burst into a stubborn, whimpering cry.
    — And without drums or music, long hearses
    Pass by slowly in my soul; Hope, vanquished,
    Weeps, and atrocious, despotic Anguish
    On my bowed skull plants her black flag.

  5. #5
    Justin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    7,012
    Reputation
    1207
    Thanks
    2,820
    My Mood
    Inspired
    The BIOS will underclock the RAM! Not worth wasting your money. Buy a new MB that supports higher RAM OCs or buy 1333Mhz RAM

    Minion Statistics

    Ex-Console Minion: 13/01/2011 ~ 19/04/2011
    Console Re-Minion: 14/06/2012 ~ 27/02/2013
    AVA Minion: 22/06/2012 ~ 12/11/2012
    Battlefield Minion: 04/02/2013 ~ 27/02/2013

    Computer Specifications
    Case: NZXT Phantom 820
    PSU: Corsair HX-850W V2
    Mobo: ASUS Z87-Deluxe
    CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K
    CPU Cooling: Swiftech H220 All-In-One Liquid Cooler (Cooled by 2x Noctua NF-F12 PWM 120mm Fans)
    RAM: Corsair Platinum Dominators CMD16GX3M2A2400C10 (2x8GB DDR3 2400Mhz XMP)
    GFX: ASUS GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II OC 2GB
    Monitor: LG 29EB93 29" Ultrawide LED IPS Panel (2560x1080)(29:1 Ratio)
    Mouse: Razer Deathadder 2012
    Keyboard: Ducky DK 9008G2 Cherry MX-Brown Mechanical Keyboard


  6. #6
    maddoggy00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    3,414
    Reputation
    637
    Thanks
    5,314
    I would just buy 1333 MHz RAM with lower timings (8 or 7 CAS - lower #s = faster) to match your mobo. The "1333+ (O.C.)" means the 1333 is the oc. There is little benefit to overclocking RAM. I use 1600MHz on a 3930k oc'd to 4400 MHz and other than benchmark scores, I've never noticed any application performance changes when underclocking to 1333, or oc'n to 1866. Unless you're looking to overhaul your system, just stick to the 1333 and go for lower latency timings to increase your speed, if that's a concern.
    ( sidenote: ) Usually if you get a 1600 MHz 9-9-9, like the one you linked, and you underclock to 1333 MHz, you also can probably reduce the timings to 8-8-8 and still be stable.

    As of 9/17, I will be away for a few days due to medical reasons. Should be back up soon. Please refer to a GM or other mods in whatever particular section you need help with.



    Quote Originally Posted by Nico View Post
    I'm playing legit with my hacks
    MSN/Email/Skype: maddoggy00@aol.com
    If you add me on skype without an explicit message stating who you are on MPGH, you will be denied and blocked.

    Feel free to donate if I helped you earn some $$

    Tutorials for consoles and hacks

    Woo.exe Oath Mode with Next Map option, Follow-Bot, Master map (runs any S1 map), Two Moons, Mining. Requires a .dll with hacks for full functionality.

  7. #7
    shoracko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Behind You!
    Posts
    1,005
    Reputation
    33
    Thanks
    60
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by Aborted View Post
    ​Worth noting that you need a 64-Bit OS in order to use all 8GB.
    wait what? you need a 64 bit os to use an 8gb? cuz i am gonna get a 32 bit windows 7........ and i already bought the ram (Crucial Ballistix Sport XT 8GB (1 x 8GB) DDR3-1866 Memory)
     
    Alexiozm123 (m4 patriot account)
    freeasabird (ocg training account)
    Nazmark (shovel X-mas acc)
    Nazmark (Acc for my Brother)
    Nazmark (OCG honorable acc)
    Dosey (Brass Knuckles acc)
    Dosey (m4s crystal acc)
    LosingFaithInHumanity(He went first)(AK-47 Halloween account)
    Dosey(perm axe acc)
    Maxedout (AWM RD acc)
    Anonymous.exe(Perm Axe OCG acc)
    Wassabi(OCG beginner thingy)
    Wassabi(farmed for me to have the OCG account back)
    Dosey(Acc after i got scammed)
    Unsocial(Traded for steam acc)
    xWallee(AK-fury acc)
    Wassabi?(Combat Axe Octane)
    Wassabi?(awm vip)
    Lataler(Awesome Acc)
    Lavigne(Kukri-G Acc)

     

    Natsu14 (recovered his account]
    Ithink(didnt do trade fully when i went first]

    I do not go first unless i know you, or you're trusted(middleman or gm or someone like dosey)
    MSN: finalshotcrossfire@outlook.com
    skype: kriosgraal


  8. #8
    Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    female
    Location
    In your meatus
    Posts
    23,560
    Reputation
    2912
    Thanks
    5,336
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Quote Originally Posted by shoracko View Post


    wait what? you need a 64 bit os to use an 8gb? cuz i am gonna get a 32 bit windows 7........ and i already bought the ram (Crucial Ballistix Sport XT 8GB (1 x 8GB) DDR3-1866 Memory)
    32-bit is limited to 4GB of RAM. Should've done your research first.

  9. #9
    shoracko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Behind You!
    Posts
    1,005
    Reputation
    33
    Thanks
    60
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by Doc View Post


    32-bit is limited to 4GB of RAM. Should've done your research first.
    fuck.... whatever, ill return it and get 2 4gb ones...
     
    Alexiozm123 (m4 patriot account)
    freeasabird (ocg training account)
    Nazmark (shovel X-mas acc)
    Nazmark (Acc for my Brother)
    Nazmark (OCG honorable acc)
    Dosey (Brass Knuckles acc)
    Dosey (m4s crystal acc)
    LosingFaithInHumanity(He went first)(AK-47 Halloween account)
    Dosey(perm axe acc)
    Maxedout (AWM RD acc)
    Anonymous.exe(Perm Axe OCG acc)
    Wassabi(OCG beginner thingy)
    Wassabi(farmed for me to have the OCG account back)
    Dosey(Acc after i got scammed)
    Unsocial(Traded for steam acc)
    xWallee(AK-fury acc)
    Wassabi?(Combat Axe Octane)
    Wassabi?(awm vip)
    Lataler(Awesome Acc)
    Lavigne(Kukri-G Acc)

     

    Natsu14 (recovered his account]
    Ithink(didnt do trade fully when i went first]

    I do not go first unless i know you, or you're trusted(middleman or gm or someone like dosey)
    MSN: finalshotcrossfire@outlook.com
    skype: kriosgraal


  10. #10
    Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    female
    Location
    In your meatus
    Posts
    23,560
    Reputation
    2912
    Thanks
    5,336
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Quote Originally Posted by shoracko View Post

    fuck.... whatever, ill return it and get 2 4gb ones...
    That won't work either... 32-bit will only use a maximum 4GB...

  11. #11
    FangedBeast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,884
    Reputation
    69
    Thanks
    143
    My Mood
    Stressed
    Quote Originally Posted by shoracko View Post

    fuck.... whatever, ill return it and get 2 4gb ones...
    .
    Quote Originally Posted by Irie View Post

    It's funny how everyone comes to MPGH with their problems


    Fuck her and get it over with..
    Press that 'Thanks' button below this if I helped you in my post

  12. #12
    shoracko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Behind You!
    Posts
    1,005
    Reputation
    33
    Thanks
    60
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by Doc View Post


    That won't work either... 32-bit will only use a maximum 4GB...
    so i just need to commit and get the 64 bit and not return it? cuz my mobo has 32 gigs or ram capacity
     
    Alexiozm123 (m4 patriot account)
    freeasabird (ocg training account)
    Nazmark (shovel X-mas acc)
    Nazmark (Acc for my Brother)
    Nazmark (OCG honorable acc)
    Dosey (Brass Knuckles acc)
    Dosey (m4s crystal acc)
    LosingFaithInHumanity(He went first)(AK-47 Halloween account)
    Dosey(perm axe acc)
    Maxedout (AWM RD acc)
    Anonymous.exe(Perm Axe OCG acc)
    Wassabi(OCG beginner thingy)
    Wassabi(farmed for me to have the OCG account back)
    Dosey(Acc after i got scammed)
    Unsocial(Traded for steam acc)
    xWallee(AK-fury acc)
    Wassabi?(Combat Axe Octane)
    Wassabi?(awm vip)
    Lataler(Awesome Acc)
    Lavigne(Kukri-G Acc)

     

    Natsu14 (recovered his account]
    Ithink(didnt do trade fully when i went first]

    I do not go first unless i know you, or you're trusted(middleman or gm or someone like dosey)
    MSN: finalshotcrossfire@outlook.com
    skype: kriosgraal


  13. #13
    Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    female
    Location
    In your meatus
    Posts
    23,560
    Reputation
    2912
    Thanks
    5,336
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Quote Originally Posted by shoracko View Post

    so i just need to commit and get the 64 bit and not return it? cuz my mobo has 32 gigs or ram capacity
    Correct .

Similar Threads

  1. [Help Request] Processor/motherboard/RAM/Video card upgrade
    By iAngeIiK in forum Hardware & Software Support
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-09-2012, 06:46 AM
  2. [Release] demonnators upgraded ram server ( no hamachi-no whitelist-pvp-freeplay)
    By demonnator in forum Minecraft Server Advertising
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-16-2011, 06:28 AM
  3. 4G ram? upgrading to 8G?
    By GuitarModz in forum General
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-05-2011, 12:56 AM
  4. Should I Upgrade My Ram?
    By Comet in forum General
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 08-10-2011, 06:30 PM
  5. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-03-2009, 10:29 AM