Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    The Dark Angel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    In the Darkness
    Posts
    223
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    6

    [NEED HELP!]svchost.exe using 100% CPU on XP SP3

    Hello MPGHers!Recently I installed SP3,because I can't use skype without it.Now that I installed it,I can't acces it either because a task(in task manager) called svchost.exe is taking up 90-100% of the CPU.Everything I open lags like hell.I would really like help in the next couple of hours.Thanks!
    Last edited by The Dark Angel; 12-08-2013 at 04:32 AM.

  2. #2
    xXBrokenBonezXx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,074
    Reputation
    68
    Thanks
    108
    My Mood
    Relaxed
    Apparently the error only occurs in windows XP.
    Try this:
    http://www. exe - error- advisor . com/svchost-exe (Remove Spaces)

    Tell me what happens

    If it doesn't work try upgrading your OS to like vista or 7

  3. #3
    The Dark Angel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    In the Darkness
    Posts
    223
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by xXBrokenBonezXx View Post
    Apparently the error only occurs in windows XP.
    Try this:
    http :// www exe - error- advisor . com/svchost-exe (Remove Spaces)

    Tell me what happens

    If it doesn't work try upgrading your OS to like vista or 7
    Thanks for your fast reply!I will download the tool now and hope it fixes it.Will update you soon.

    EDIT:I just fixed it by turning Automatic Updates OFF.Then went to play a LoL game,and BOOM,It happened again!Could League of Legends be the cause of this?Help needed very fast!
    Last edited by The Dark Angel; 12-08-2013 at 06:16 AM. Reason: Update

  4. #4
    uhZylon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    192.168.1.1
    Posts
    809
    Reputation
    39
    Thanks
    364
    My Mood
    Amused
    Why you on XP?
    If i was you update to Vista ATLEAST.
    W7 Preferably.

  5. #5
    Justin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    7,012
    Reputation
    1207
    Thanks
    2,820
    My Mood
    Inspired
    Quote Originally Posted by The Dark Angel View Post
    Thanks for your fast reply!I will download the tool now and hope it fixes it.Will update you soon.

    EDIT:I just fixed it by turning Automatic Updates OFF.Then went to play a LoL game,and BOOM,It happened again!Could League of Legends be the cause of this?Help needed very fast!
    update to windows 7 Basic or Home Premium.

    Quote Originally Posted by uhZylon View Post
    Why you on XP?
    If i was you update to Vista ATLEAST.
    W7 Preferably.
    Never ever Reccommend Vista to anyone!

    Minion Statistics

    Ex-Console Minion: 13/01/2011 ~ 19/04/2011
    Console Re-Minion: 14/06/2012 ~ 27/02/2013
    AVA Minion: 22/06/2012 ~ 12/11/2012
    Battlefield Minion: 04/02/2013 ~ 27/02/2013

    Computer Specifications
    Case: NZXT Phantom 820
    PSU: Corsair HX-850W V2
    Mobo: ASUS Z87-Deluxe
    CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K
    CPU Cooling: Swiftech H220 All-In-One Liquid Cooler (Cooled by 2x Noctua NF-F12 PWM 120mm Fans)
    RAM: Corsair Platinum Dominators CMD16GX3M2A2400C10 (2x8GB DDR3 2400Mhz XMP)
    GFX: ASUS GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II OC 2GB
    Monitor: LG 29EB93 29" Ultrawide LED IPS Panel (2560x1080)(29:1 Ratio)
    Mouse: Razer Deathadder 2012
    Keyboard: Ducky DK 9008G2 Cherry MX-Brown Mechanical Keyboard


  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Justin For This Useful Post:

    ThePixelJunk (12-09-2013)

  7. #6
    The Dark Angel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    In the Darkness
    Posts
    223
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Justin View Post


    update to windows 7 Basic or Home Premium.



    Never ever Reccommend Vista to anyone!
    I have a very old a slow PC.I think if I upgraded to W7,It would be worse than it is now. :/

  8. #7
    Smith Ramoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    In Your Heart :">
    Posts
    94
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    2
    Well, svchost.exe is a host process that functions all services and .exe files according to Microsoft. You say svchost.exe took up your CPU usage right? I think there's a lot of processes with the same name (svchost.exe.) Try to kill them down by opening the Task Manager. Another way is to disable the unused services and startup also. If both methods still not working, then you upgrade it into new OS version.

    Please Click Thanks If I Help You Out

    Please Add me in Skype: mr.officer-catcher

  9. #8
    The Dark Angel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    In the Darkness
    Posts
    223
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Smith Ramoy View Post
    Well, svchost.exe is a host process that functions all services and .exe files according to Microsoft. You say svchost.exe took up your CPU usage right? I think there's a lot of processes with the same name (svchost.exe.) Try to kill them down by opening the Task Manager. Another way is to disable the unused services and startup also. If both methods still not working, then you upgrade it into new OS version.
    Yea,I wanted to try that.But the problem is that I heard that if you stop the svchost.exe procces,your windows status can get Critical.And I don't want to risk it really.

  10. #9
    Smith Ramoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    In Your Heart :">
    Posts
    94
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by The Dark Angel View Post
    Yea,I wanted to try that.But the problem is that I heard that if you stop the svchost.exe procces,your windows status can get Critical.And I don't want to risk it really.
    No, it's not kinda risky if you kill svchost.exe. If svchost.exe keeps on popping on your Task Manager, then kill them. Sometimes, if you have only one svchost.exe left in the Task Manager, it will appear like this "The access is denied". *Press Thanks If I Help You Out HAHAHA*

    Please Click Thanks If I Help You Out

    Please Add me in Skype: mr.officer-catcher

  11. #10
    The Dark Angel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    In the Darkness
    Posts
    223
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Smith Ramoy View Post
    No, it's not kinda risky if you kill svchost.exe. If svchost.exe keeps on popping on your Task Manager, then kill them. Sometimes, if you have only one svchost.exe left in the Task Manager, it will appear like this "The access is denied". *Press Thanks If I Help You Out HAHAHA*
    "svchost.exe is a system process belonging to the Microsoft Windows Operating System which handles processes executed from DLLs. This program is important for the stable and secure running of your computer and should not be terminated."

  12. #11
    xXBrokenBonezXx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,074
    Reputation
    68
    Thanks
    108
    My Mood
    Relaxed
    Quote Originally Posted by The Dark Angel View Post
    Thanks for your fast reply!I will download the tool now and hope it fixes it.Will update you soon.

    EDIT:I just fixed it by turning Automatic Updates OFF.Then went to play a LoL game,and BOOM,It happened again!Could League of Legends be the cause of this?Help needed very fast!
    Not sure if LoL is the problem but i seriously recommend you upgrade your OS.
    You will never get this error again and no it wont make your computer slower.. Just torrent windows 7 onto a usb and boot your computer off the USB so you wont have to waste around $100 on buying a new OS disc.
    Last edited by xXBrokenBonezXx; 12-09-2013 at 04:58 AM.

  13. #12
    The Dark Angel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    In the Darkness
    Posts
    223
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by xXBrokenBonezXx View Post
    Not sure if LoL is the problem but i seriously recommend you upgrade your OS.
    You will never get this error again and no it wont make your computer slower.. Just torrent windows 7 onto a usb and boot your computer off the USB so you wont have to waste around $100 on buying a new OS disc.
    I just bought a method from someone.Another forum.He told me I can resell it.I earned 100$ in 2 minutes..And it's legal..so I'm gonna get a new PC soon,thanks for all help guys.
    /closed

  14. #13
    ThePixelJunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    New zealand
    Posts
    1,459
    Reputation
    217
    Thanks
    258
    Quote Originally Posted by Justin View Post
    Never ever Reccommend Vista to anyone!
    This ^

    OT: I had this on my windows 8 laptop from hp, I fixed it by killing all "HP" software.
    Maybe try that
    Can't pass through the red plastic window.

  15. #14
    The Dark Angel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    In the Darkness
    Posts
    223
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by awessome.exe View Post
    This ^

    OT: I had this on my windows 8 laptop from hp, I fixed it by killing all "HP" software.
    Maybe try that
    Can't you read? -_-




    Quote Originally Posted by The Dark Angel View Post
    I just bought a method from someone.Another forum.He told me I can resell it.I earned 100$ in 2 minutes..And it's legal..so I'm gonna get a new PC soon,thanks for all help guys.
    /closed

  16. #15
    ThePixelJunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    New zealand
    Posts
    1,459
    Reputation
    217
    Thanks
    258
    Quote Originally Posted by The Dark Angel View Post
    Can't you read? -_-
    Lol sorry that was not there when I posted.
    You ninja'd me.
    Can't pass through the red plastic window.

Similar Threads

  1. [Help Request] Need help finding and using a teleport hack.
    By evanfaler in forum Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-29-2012, 12:50 PM
  2. [Help] Need Help to Make/Use a Base
    By BDang in forum CrossFire Hack Coding / Programming / Source Code
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-10-2012, 01:13 AM
  3. I need help downloading and using.. first time user
    By Thoritic in forum Combat Arms Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-21-2012, 09:18 PM
  4. Ultra noob needs help -Engine.exe?
    By mikeiswascool in forum Combat Arms Help
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-30-2010, 08:29 AM
  5. (i need help) how to use dev-c++
    By u1111u in forum C++/C Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-29-2009, 06:10 PM