Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    WhiteDagger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Ohio,
    Posts
    955
    Reputation
    16
    Thanks
    35
    My Mood
    Amused

    power supply surges??

    so my PC keeps turning off and i get power supply surges detected during previous power on, my guess is my Power supply is to low of wats for my PC but i thought i had enough, tell me what you think?

    Inland 600w power supply, Yes its shit but i didnt wanna pay aton for a power supply.
    i7 4770k
    Z87 gryphon
    EVGA geforce 780 3GB
    Crucial 8GB of Duel channel 1600mhz ram
    250GB samsung SSD
    3TB seagate HHD


    is it the power supply? or something else with asus boards? the PC works fine, its just when i start to play titanfall i get about 10mins in and boom, power failure.
    Last edited by WhiteDagger; 02-17-2014 at 08:22 PM.

  2. #2
    AZN_JZN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    AUS
    Posts
    75
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    10
    My Mood
    Asleep
    600W should be enough I think for your computer.

  3. #3
    orlyy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    1,081
    Reputation
    26
    Thanks
    82
    Quote Originally Posted by AZN_JZN View Post
    600W should be enough I think for your computer.
    The brand is "Inland", though. I've never even heard of it. I'd say try a spare PSU, if everything is fine then you know your problem.

    Quote Originally Posted by orlyy View Post
    is it the power supply? or something else with asus boards? the PC works fine, its just when i start to play titanfall i get about 10mins in and boom, power failure.
    Have you over clocked anything?

  4. #4
    Justin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    7,012
    Reputation
    1207
    Thanks
    2,820
    My Mood
    Inspired
    Quote Originally Posted by WhiteDagger View Post
    so my PC keeps turning off and i get power supply surges detected during previous power on, my guess is my Power supply is to low of wats for my PC but i thought i had enough, tell me what you think?

    Inland 600w power supply, Yes its shit but i didnt wanna pay aton for a power supply.
    i7 4770k
    Z87 gryphon
    EVGA geforce 780 3GB
    Crucial 8GB of Duel channel 1600mhz ram
    250GB samsung SSD
    3TB seagate HHD


    is it the power supply? or something else with asus boards? the PC works fine, its just when i start to play titanfall i get about 10mins in and boom, power failure.
    I would spend more on a more common/Reliable brand and up your wattage to 700-800 just to be safe. Seasonic are a good brand and also an OEM.
    Also, make sure your BIOS is up to date as well.

    Minion Statistics

    Ex-Console Minion: 13/01/2011 ~ 19/04/2011
    Console Re-Minion: 14/06/2012 ~ 27/02/2013
    AVA Minion: 22/06/2012 ~ 12/11/2012
    Battlefield Minion: 04/02/2013 ~ 27/02/2013

    Computer Specifications
    Case: NZXT Phantom 820
    PSU: Corsair HX-850W V2
    Mobo: ASUS Z87-Deluxe
    CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K
    CPU Cooling: Swiftech H220 All-In-One Liquid Cooler (Cooled by 2x Noctua NF-F12 PWM 120mm Fans)
    RAM: Corsair Platinum Dominators CMD16GX3M2A2400C10 (2x8GB DDR3 2400Mhz XMP)
    GFX: ASUS GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II OC 2GB
    Monitor: LG 29EB93 29" Ultrawide LED IPS Panel (2560x1080)(29:1 Ratio)
    Mouse: Razer Deathadder 2012
    Keyboard: Ducky DK 9008G2 Cherry MX-Brown Mechanical Keyboard


  5. #5
    WhiteDagger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Ohio,
    Posts
    955
    Reputation
    16
    Thanks
    35
    My Mood
    Amused
    i updated my bio's to the newest one when i built the computer, so i know that is good! but i think i am going to have to just upgrade the power supply like you said, i plan on going for a 700-800wat but as for brand, no clue what would be a good start, ill look into seasonic and OEM for sure tho

  6. #6
    WhiteDagger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Ohio,
    Posts
    955
    Reputation
    16
    Thanks
    35
    My Mood
    Amused
    Quote Originally Posted by orlyy View Post
    The brand is "Inland", though. I've never even heard of it. I'd say try a spare PSU, if everything is fine then you know your problem.



    Have you over clocked anything?
    inland is a very low end brand from micro center cheap ass power supply s cause i didnt have a spare and i needed something xD no spare PSU so no luck in that. gf has a 500wat so cant use that.

    as for overclocking? nope no overclocking at all.

  7. #7
    Aborted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Shitpost Defense
    Posts
    17,471
    Reputation
    3076
    Thanks
    6,394
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Having a sufficient wattage never actually equates to having enough power. Many issues are caused by not having enough amperage on the 12V rail, which powers your main components (CPU, GPU, HDD). The 12 Volts of power that come in from your wall are multiplied by the amperage on your rail, which equals effective wattage. Such as if you have 40 Amps on your 12V, 40x12 = 480 Watts of power. The issue comes in when a PSU has multiple rails, which are then denominated to seperate components. If one component exceeds the amperage given to a single rail, your Rig can overload and shut down. A good PSU will have sufficient wattage in constant power, preferably on a single rail. If you give me the exact model of your PSU I can probably figure out your issue. Seeing that it's very low end it most likely has multiple rails.
    When the earth is changed into a humid dungeon,
    In which Hope like a bat
    Goes beating the walls with her timid wings
    And knocking her head against the rotten ceiling;
    When the rain stretching out its endless train
    Imitates the bars of a vast prison
    And a silent horde of loathsome spiders
    Comes to spin their webs in the depths of our brains,
    All at once the bells leap with rage
    And hurl a frightful roar at heaven,
    Even as wandering spirits with no country
    Burst into a stubborn, whimpering cry.
    — And without drums or music, long hearses
    Pass by slowly in my soul; Hope, vanquished,
    Weeps, and atrocious, despotic Anguish
    On my bowed skull plants her black flag.

  8. #8
    WhiteDagger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Ohio,
    Posts
    955
    Reputation
    16
    Thanks
    35
    My Mood
    Amused
    Quote Originally Posted by Aborted View Post
    Having a sufficient wattage never actually equates to having enough power. Many issues are caused by not having enough amperage on the 12V rail, which powers your main components (CPU, GPU, HDD). The 12 Volts of power that come in from your wall are multiplied by the amperage on your rail, which equals effective wattage. Such as if you have 40 Amps on your 12V, 40x12 = 480 Watts of power. The issue comes in when a PSU has multiple rails, which are then denominated to seperate components. If one component exceeds the amperage given to a single rail, your Rig can overload and shut down. A good PSU will have sufficient wattage in constant power, preferably on a single rail. If you give me the exact model of your PSU I can probably figure out your issue. Seeing that it's very low end it most likely has multiple rails.
    i think its a inland ATX ILS-600r2 but i am thinking youre right, that the power for my 12v rail was lower then what the card needed.

  9. #9
    Aborted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Shitpost Defense
    Posts
    17,471
    Reputation
    3076
    Thanks
    6,394
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Quote Originally Posted by WhiteDagger View Post
    i think its a inland ATX ILS-600r2 but i am thinking youre right, that the power for my 12v rail was lower then what the card needed.
    http://forum-en.msi.com/faq/article/...graphics-cards

    Your card's amperage reqs:
    GeForce GTX 780 - 42A and a 600W PSU minimum

    Your PSU specs:
    Power Specifications
    Efficiency 76%
    Input Voltage AC 115V/230V
    Input Frequency Range 50Hz - 60Hz
    Input Current 10A @ 115VAC / 6A @ 230VAC
    Load Range +3.3V@20A; +5V@28A; +12V@36A; -12V@0.6A; +5VSB@2A


    I guess I've found the issue here.
    When the earth is changed into a humid dungeon,
    In which Hope like a bat
    Goes beating the walls with her timid wings
    And knocking her head against the rotten ceiling;
    When the rain stretching out its endless train
    Imitates the bars of a vast prison
    And a silent horde of loathsome spiders
    Comes to spin their webs in the depths of our brains,
    All at once the bells leap with rage
    And hurl a frightful roar at heaven,
    Even as wandering spirits with no country
    Burst into a stubborn, whimpering cry.
    — And without drums or music, long hearses
    Pass by slowly in my soul; Hope, vanquished,
    Weeps, and atrocious, despotic Anguish
    On my bowed skull plants her black flag.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Aborted For This Useful Post:

    WhiteDagger (02-18-2014)

  11. #10
    WhiteDagger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Ohio,
    Posts
    955
    Reputation
    16
    Thanks
    35
    My Mood
    Amused
    God damn good work! lol i went out and picked up a Corsair CX750m and this fixed the problem for me! i guess the load range was way to low for my build! thanks aton for the help guys! iv pretty much replaced everything in my PC over the pass weekend, so i should be set for awhile now!

Similar Threads

  1. SeaSonic 850W ATX12V 80 Plus Gold Power Supply (SS-850KM Active PFC F3)
    By Dave84311 in forum Computer Builds & Upgrades
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-13-2013, 03:58 PM
  2. [Solved] HELP: What power supply should I get?
    By kpate111 in forum Hardware & Software Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-10-2012, 08:30 PM
  3. What kind of power supply should i buy ?
    By PasterOfMuppets in forum General
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-02-2012, 07:04 PM
  4. [Solved] Power supply
    By Stevenom in forum Hardware & Software Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-09-2012, 01:09 AM
  5. Computer Power Supply Help
    By ChimiBang in forum General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-22-2010, 10:16 PM