Thread: SSD's vs HDD's?

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Yotsuba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    The Moon
    Posts
    1,308
    Reputation
    148
    Thanks
    712
    My Mood
    Cheerful

    SSD's vs HDD's?

    So as I get more familiar with building a computer I came upon the problem of HDD's vs. SSD's.
    I don't know much about these except the fact that HDD's cost way less per GB/TB, but SSD's perform writing(?) speeds faster. Can anyone tell me what's the better route? I already have a 500GB HDD on my desktop which I plan to reuse since it has a lot of my files and to transfer the files over to a new HDD would take forever.

    Thanks!
     

    Quote Originally Posted by artufe
    Vouch for @Yotsuba . He went first and was very polite, deffinetly legit. Would recomment trading with this guy!


  2. #2
    Terio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Hmm Let me Think
    Posts
    5,775
    Reputation
    125
    Thanks
    475
    My Mood
    Blah
    Well, you can buy a 120GB SSD, install your OS on it, and connect your HDD also. So all your files will stay on your HDD but your OS and your most used games could be on your SSD

  3. #3
    Yotsuba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    The Moon
    Posts
    1,308
    Reputation
    148
    Thanks
    712
    My Mood
    Cheerful
    Quote Originally Posted by Terio View Post
    Well, you can buy a 120GB SSD, install your OS on it, and connect your HDD also. So all your files will stay on your HDD but your OS and your most used games could be on your SSD
    Do you have an image of how this looks on my computer? Like when I go to My Computer my C: drive is my HDD, if I have two at once(HDD & SSD) how do I know which is which?
     

    Quote Originally Posted by artufe
    Vouch for @Yotsuba . He went first and was very polite, deffinetly legit. Would recomment trading with this guy!


  4. #4
    Justin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    7,012
    Reputation
    1207
    Thanks
    2,820
    My Mood
    Inspired
    Quote Originally Posted by TazWuzHereLowlz View Post


    Do you have an image of how this looks on my computer? Like when I go to My Computer my C: drive is my HDD, if I have two at once(HDD & SSD) how do I know which is which?
    windows will assign drive letters automatically. So your SSD will be C and your HDD will be D or the next available letter.

    Minion Statistics

    Ex-Console Minion: 13/01/2011 ~ 19/04/2011
    Console Re-Minion: 14/06/2012 ~ 27/02/2013
    AVA Minion: 22/06/2012 ~ 12/11/2012
    Battlefield Minion: 04/02/2013 ~ 27/02/2013

    Computer Specifications
    Case: NZXT Phantom 820
    PSU: Corsair HX-850W V2
    Mobo: ASUS Z87-Deluxe
    CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K
    CPU Cooling: Swiftech H220 All-In-One Liquid Cooler (Cooled by 2x Noctua NF-F12 PWM 120mm Fans)
    RAM: Corsair Platinum Dominators CMD16GX3M2A2400C10 (2x8GB DDR3 2400Mhz XMP)
    GFX: ASUS GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II OC 2GB
    Monitor: LG 29EB93 29" Ultrawide LED IPS Panel (2560x1080)(29:1 Ratio)
    Mouse: Razer Deathadder 2012
    Keyboard: Ducky DK 9008G2 Cherry MX-Brown Mechanical Keyboard


  5. #5
    Terio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Hmm Let me Think
    Posts
    5,775
    Reputation
    125
    Thanks
    475
    My Mood
    Blah
    Quote Originally Posted by TazWuzHereLowlz View Post


    Do you have an image of how this looks on my computer? Like when I go to My Computer my C: drive is my HDD, if I have two at once(HDD & SSD) how do I know which is which?
    What Justin said

  6. #6
    Yotsuba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    The Moon
    Posts
    1,308
    Reputation
    148
    Thanks
    712
    My Mood
    Cheerful
    Quote Originally Posted by Justin View Post


    windows will assign drive letters automatically. So your SSD will be C and your HDD will be D or the next available letter.
    Quote Originally Posted by Terio View Post


    What Justin said
    Okay, so when I have both my SSD and HDD in my desktop will the files in it stay similar to those on my HDD?
    Like will it contain similar folders such a C://Program Files because if I do buy a SSD I am going to install Windows 7 on it while my HDD has Vista on it already.

    And second question is that, how will I run a program from my HDD/SSD? Both hard drives will run two different OS's as my HDD already has Vista and I will install Windows 7 on my SSD.
     

    Quote Originally Posted by artufe
    Vouch for @Yotsuba . He went first and was very polite, deffinetly legit. Would recomment trading with this guy!


  7. #7
    Justin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    7,012
    Reputation
    1207
    Thanks
    2,820
    My Mood
    Inspired
    Quote Originally Posted by TazWuzHereLowlz View Post




    Okay, so when I have both my SSD and HDD in my desktop will the files in it stay similar to those on my HDD?
    Like will it contain similar folders such a C://Program Files because if I do buy a SSD I am going to install Windows 7 on it while my HDD has Vista on it already.

    And second question is that, how will I run a program from my HDD/SSD? Both hard drives will run two different OS's as my HDD already has Vista and I will install Windows 7 on my SSD.
    Well, when you install windows 7 on the SSD and have Vista on the HDD; Windows 7s boot manager will be able to Dual boot into Vista and will be able to access the Vista hard drive with no problem at all. You can just go to my computer in windows 7 and open the hard drive like you normally would and run programs from it if you want to.

    I don't recommend it though but you can do it to save time transferring files over and then reformatting the Vista drive entirely.

    Minion Statistics

    Ex-Console Minion: 13/01/2011 ~ 19/04/2011
    Console Re-Minion: 14/06/2012 ~ 27/02/2013
    AVA Minion: 22/06/2012 ~ 12/11/2012
    Battlefield Minion: 04/02/2013 ~ 27/02/2013

    Computer Specifications
    Case: NZXT Phantom 820
    PSU: Corsair HX-850W V2
    Mobo: ASUS Z87-Deluxe
    CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K
    CPU Cooling: Swiftech H220 All-In-One Liquid Cooler (Cooled by 2x Noctua NF-F12 PWM 120mm Fans)
    RAM: Corsair Platinum Dominators CMD16GX3M2A2400C10 (2x8GB DDR3 2400Mhz XMP)
    GFX: ASUS GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II OC 2GB
    Monitor: LG 29EB93 29" Ultrawide LED IPS Panel (2560x1080)(29:1 Ratio)
    Mouse: Razer Deathadder 2012
    Keyboard: Ducky DK 9008G2 Cherry MX-Brown Mechanical Keyboard


  8. #8
    Yotsuba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    The Moon
    Posts
    1,308
    Reputation
    148
    Thanks
    712
    My Mood
    Cheerful
    Quote Originally Posted by Justin View Post


    Well, when you install windows 7 on the SSD and have Vista on the HDD; Windows 7s boot manager will be able to Dual boot into Vista and will be able to access the Vista hard drive with no problem at all. You can just go to my computer in windows 7 and open the hard drive like you normally would and run programs from it if you want to.

    I don't recommend it though but you can do it to save time transferring files over and then reformatting the Vista drive entirely.
    Is there an easier way of transferring my files from my HDD to somewhere else and then reset it?

    Also this may sound stupid, but if I reset/erase/wipe my whole HDD will I recieve back all the space as when I first recieved it?
     

    Quote Originally Posted by artufe
    Vouch for @Yotsuba . He went first and was very polite, deffinetly legit. Would recomment trading with this guy!


  9. #9
    Justin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    7,012
    Reputation
    1207
    Thanks
    2,820
    My Mood
    Inspired
    Quote Originally Posted by TazWuzHereLowlz View Post

    Is there an easier way of transferring my files from my HDD to somewhere else and then reset it?

    Also this may sound stupid, but if I reset/erase/wipe my whole HDD will I recieve back all the space as when I first recieved it?
    You could transfer your files to an External source such as an External Hard Drive, USB, CDs, etc.

    Ater reformation you will gain pretty much all of the space back

    Minion Statistics

    Ex-Console Minion: 13/01/2011 ~ 19/04/2011
    Console Re-Minion: 14/06/2012 ~ 27/02/2013
    AVA Minion: 22/06/2012 ~ 12/11/2012
    Battlefield Minion: 04/02/2013 ~ 27/02/2013

    Computer Specifications
    Case: NZXT Phantom 820
    PSU: Corsair HX-850W V2
    Mobo: ASUS Z87-Deluxe
    CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K
    CPU Cooling: Swiftech H220 All-In-One Liquid Cooler (Cooled by 2x Noctua NF-F12 PWM 120mm Fans)
    RAM: Corsair Platinum Dominators CMD16GX3M2A2400C10 (2x8GB DDR3 2400Mhz XMP)
    GFX: ASUS GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II OC 2GB
    Monitor: LG 29EB93 29" Ultrawide LED IPS Panel (2560x1080)(29:1 Ratio)
    Mouse: Razer Deathadder 2012
    Keyboard: Ducky DK 9008G2 Cherry MX-Brown Mechanical Keyboard


  10. #10
    MOST PLAYED's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    326
    Reputation
    25
    Thanks
    54
    Quote Originally Posted by TazWuzHereLowlz View Post

    Is there an easier way of transferring my files from my HDD to somewhere else and then reset it?

    Also this may sound stupid, but if I reset/erase/wipe my whole HDD will I recieve back all the space as when I first recieved it?
    D RO P BO X just buy a plan and cancel it.
    And its secure so you wont just loose it

  11. #11
    Yotsuba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    The Moon
    Posts
    1,308
    Reputation
    148
    Thanks
    712
    My Mood
    Cheerful
    Quote Originally Posted by MOST PLAYED View Post


    D RO P BO X just buy a plan and cancel it.
    And its secure so you wont just loose it
    Yeah and it will take years just to upload and redownload it
     

    Quote Originally Posted by artufe
    Vouch for @Yotsuba . He went first and was very polite, deffinetly legit. Would recomment trading with this guy!


Similar Threads

  1. HDD vs SSD
    By Diminished in forum General
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 10-31-2012, 10:45 AM
  2. [Solved] SSD + HDD
    By Drtro in forum Hardware & Software Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-13-2012, 11:02 PM
  3. Dazzle DVC100 | 20GB HDD
    By hotdog393 in forum Selling Accounts/Keys/Items
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-20-2010, 03:26 AM
  4. [TuT] Open ur HDD
    By tuve2 in forum XBOX General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-02-2010, 08:42 AM
  5. Emachines T3522 HDD problem.
    By ArchPure in forum Hardware & Software Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-26-2009, 12:24 AM