Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Terio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Hmm Let me Think
    Posts
    5,775
    Reputation
    125
    Thanks
    475
    My Mood
    Blah

    HELP WITH SSD/HDD

    So now i have 2 windows installed, 1 on each disk. but is it possible to reformat my HDD, and just install my personal stuff on it and only keep my SSD for windows? and i heard about Raid i think, what is it and should i use it?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Justin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    7,012
    Reputation
    1207
    Thanks
    2,820
    My Mood
    Inspired
    Quote Originally Posted by Terio View Post
    So now i have 2 windows installed, 1 on each disk. but is it possible to reformat my HDD, and just install my personal stuff on it and only keep my SSD for windows? and i heard about Raid i think, what is it and should i use it?

    Thanks
    This will explain RAID configuration
    http://www.thegeekstuff.com/2010/08/...vels-tutorial/

    As for formatting your HDD,

    1. Click Start.


    2. Right-click Computer, then click Manage. The "Computer Management" window will open.


    3. In the left pane, click Disk Management (under Storage). If your disk is not initialized (as is sometimes the case with brand-new drives), you’ll be prompted to initialize it. If your disk is 2TB or more in size, select GPT; otherwise, stick with MBR.


    A list of all connected disk drives is displayed in the center. Unpartitioned drives appear with solid black bars and the label "Unallocated." Partitioned drives appear with solid blue bars and a drive letter.


    If your drive isn't partitioned, follow these instructions to partition it. Otherwise, skip down to the next section.


    1. Right-click the black bar or the unallocated white space below it and select New Simple Volume… In this case, "Volume" is another term for "partition".


    2. Click Next. To create a single, whole-drive partition, make sure the "Simple volume size in MB" value is the same as the "Maximum disk space in MB" value. Click Next.


    3. Assign a drive letter of your choice. Click Next.


    4. Select Format this volume. For File System, choose NTFS if you’ll be using the drive only with Windows machines. If you will be sharing the information on the drive with Macs, choose exFAT. Keep Allocation unit size at Default. Choose a name for the partition under Volume label. Do not select Perform a quick format or Enable file and folder compression. Click Next.


    5. Confirm your selections and click Finish.


    If your drive is already partitioned, follow these instructions.


    1. Right-click the blue bar or the white space below it and select Format.


    2. Choose a name for the partition under Volume label. For File System, choose NTFS if you’ll be using this drive only with Windows machines. If you will be sharing the information on this drive with Macs, choose exFAT. Keep Allocation unit size at Default. Do not select Perform a quick format or Enable file and folder compression. Click OK.

    3. Confirm your choices.

    Minion Statistics

    Ex-Console Minion: 13/01/2011 ~ 19/04/2011
    Console Re-Minion: 14/06/2012 ~ 27/02/2013
    AVA Minion: 22/06/2012 ~ 12/11/2012
    Battlefield Minion: 04/02/2013 ~ 27/02/2013

    Computer Specifications
    Case: NZXT Phantom 820
    PSU: Corsair HX-850W V2
    Mobo: ASUS Z87-Deluxe
    CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K
    CPU Cooling: Swiftech H220 All-In-One Liquid Cooler (Cooled by 2x Noctua NF-F12 PWM 120mm Fans)
    RAM: Corsair Platinum Dominators CMD16GX3M2A2400C10 (2x8GB DDR3 2400Mhz XMP)
    GFX: ASUS GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II OC 2GB
    Monitor: LG 29EB93 29" Ultrawide LED IPS Panel (2560x1080)(29:1 Ratio)
    Mouse: Razer Deathadder 2012
    Keyboard: Ducky DK 9008G2 Cherry MX-Brown Mechanical Keyboard


  3. #3
    andrew12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    215
    Reputation
    58
    Thanks
    240
    I have a SSD and a HDD I use the SSD for my OS and my games(Loads faster from what I've seen).
    -Injector-
    Flame Injector by Andrew12

    My goal list:
    =done =stuff i wanna do but probly will never get around to doing
    Make a MPGH account:
    Find a glitch:
    Show glitch on MPGH:
    Get 50 post:
    Get 100 post:
    Make a goal list:
    Release a Hack:
    Release a Glitch on Youtube:
    Make a Simple CA Cham:
    Buy a CA VIP Hack:

  4. #4
    Terio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Hmm Let me Think
    Posts
    5,775
    Reputation
    125
    Thanks
    475
    My Mood
    Blah
    Quote Originally Posted by Justin View Post



  5. #5
    Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    female
    Location
    In your meatus
    Posts
    23,560
    Reputation
    2912
    Thanks
    5,335
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Quote Originally Posted by Terio View Post


    You dun goofed son. Let me guess, when you installed windows on the SSD, you left the HDD plugged in? That's is a BIG NONO. You just installed your system reserved partition onto the HDD meaning that the SSD won't boot without the presence of the HDD. You can double checked by physically unplugging the HDD and trying to load into Windows.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Doc For This Useful Post:

    Terio (03-26-2014)

  7. #6
    Terio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Hmm Let me Think
    Posts
    5,775
    Reputation
    125
    Thanks
    475
    My Mood
    Blah
    Quote Originally Posted by Doc View Post


    You dun goofed son. Let me guess, when you installed windows on the SSD, you left the HDD plugged in? That's is a BIG NONO. You just installed your system reserved partition onto the HDD meaning that the SSD won't boot without the presence of the HDD. You can double checked by physically unplugging the HDD and trying to load into Windows.
    yeah thanks, i noticed later.

Similar Threads

  1. [Help Request] Need help with numpad while recording macro !
    By JonathanTBM in forum Vindictus Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-10-2011, 08:37 PM
  2. [Help Request] help with ca hacks
    By moises8 in forum Combat Arms Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-10-2011, 06:55 PM
  3. [Help Request] Anyone can help with this ?
    By devileyebg in forum Vindictus Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-01-2011, 04:57 PM
  4. [Help Request] need help with mod
    By .:MUS1CFR34K:. in forum Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 GSC Modding Help/Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-01-2011, 01:40 PM
  5. [Help Request] need help with modding
    By BayBee Alyn in forum Combat Arms Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-27-2011, 10:06 PM