Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    fl4zh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    On the streets of Denmark
    Posts
    782
    Reputation
    104
    Thanks
    786
    My Mood
    Devilish

    Exclamation Graphics Card won't work..?

    I've bought an ASUS GTX 750Ti OC and tried to install it into my computer, in the PCI-E x16 slot but there is this 6-pin power thingy on top of the card.. In which case I don't have in my machine atm., I've ordered a 2x4-pin to 6-pin molex.

    Here is what I've tried so far:

    - I've replaced my old card with my new card without a 6-pin power thingy. (The little LED turned Red)
    - Tried to plug a 6-pin from another power supply from another old computer, than from my computer. (The little LED turned Green)
    Nothing on the screen.
    - I tried to plug a VGA cable from the motherboard's output. (Tried to go to dxdiag, showing nothing about a new card, no driver either.)

    I gave up at last. Couldn't think of any other ways.

    Specs:
    Processor: AMD Phenom X3 8550 @ 2.21 GHz. 1 processor, 3 cores
    Motherboard: PEGATRON CORPORATION NARRA3
    Memory: 4096 MB DDR2 SDRAM 402MHz
    Power Supply: HP 300W POWER SUPPLY 5188-2625 DPS-300AB HP-D3057F3R

  2. #2
    Aborted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Shitpost Defense
    Posts
    17,471
    Reputation
    3076
    Thanks
    6,394
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Make sure you've installed your new drivers and removed your old ones. Secondly, the rest of your rig is really, and I mean really pushing it on what it can handle. I'm going to be perfectly blunt here, your motherboard is a heap of shit, as is your RAM. The 2 biggest problems though are your PSU and your Processor. Your GPU, to lay it out clearly, isn't strong enough to power your new Graphics card. In addition, you're not going to get much out of it at all due to the incredibly low output of your CPU, and it's going to be bottlenecked to hell and back. I know this is going to sound insane, but I'd honestly suggesting scrapping your entire rig, and starting from scratch. What we have here is you dropping a Jet engine into a rusty bicycle. It's not going to work out, and it can possibly damage your new card.
    When the earth is changed into a humid dungeon,
    In which Hope like a bat
    Goes beating the walls with her timid wings
    And knocking her head against the rotten ceiling;
    When the rain stretching out its endless train
    Imitates the bars of a vast prison
    And a silent horde of loathsome spiders
    Comes to spin their webs in the depths of our brains,
    All at once the bells leap with rage
    And hurl a frightful roar at heaven,
    Even as wandering spirits with no country
    Burst into a stubborn, whimpering cry.
    — And without drums or music, long hearses
    Pass by slowly in my soul; Hope, vanquished,
    Weeps, and atrocious, despotic Anguish
    On my bowed skull plants her black flag.

  3. #3
    Better MPGH Event Organizer Than Arun Since '12
    Former Staff
    Premium Member
    Color's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    California
    Posts
    19,638
    Reputation
    2154
    Thanks
    7,649
    Your PSU wattage is wayyy to low for it to run that kind of card, you would need at least 550w to be safe maybe 600w.

    Member Since 8/05/2012
    Editor 4/04/13 - 4/21/13
    Middleman 7/14/13 - 11/4/13

    Battlefield Minion 6/13/14-3/20/15
    Steam Minion 7/16/14-3/20/15

    Minion+ 10/1/14-3/20/15
    M.A.T. Minion 10/19/14-3/20/15
    ROTMG Minion 1/14/15-3/20/15

    Donator Since 2/26/15 (Thanks @Cursed!)
    Steam Minion 5/9/15 - 11/5/15
    OSFPS Minion 9/15/15 - 11/5/15


  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Color For This Useful Post:

    Doc (03-30-2014)

  5. #4
    Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    female
    Location
    In your meatus
    Posts
    23,560
    Reputation
    2912
    Thanks
    5,336
    My Mood
    Twisted
    300w. Wow. You're going to need an upgrade for your PSU. Then MAYBE you'll be able to use that card.

Similar Threads

  1. Graphics card help
    By Aoe3_CA in forum General
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-08-2008, 01:16 PM
  2. My Anti-kick Won't WORK!
    By superHackz in forum Visual Basic Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-18-2008, 10:20 AM
  3. How? Won't work... :(
    By bj123 in forum Gunz General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-02-2008, 01:12 PM
  4. What Kind Of Graphics Card Do You Have?
    By yacobo in forum General
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 02-01-2008, 12:39 AM
  5. "Your Graphics Card doesn't Support Pixel Shaders Or Vertex Shaders"
    By radnomguywfq3 in forum Suggestions, Requests & Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-24-2007, 12:11 PM