Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Jew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    <dd style="overflow: hidden;">here</dd>
    Posts
    3,866
    Reputation
    289
    Thanks
    2,142
    My Mood
    Amazed

    Meh,stupid RAM need help choosing

    SOOOO i chose a motherboard with the help of a few people and now i need to choose my RAM,since i live in israel we dont have much choice...

    the motherboard is http://bit.do/MOBO

    choice of ram:
    http://bit.do/RAM1

    http://bit.do/RAM2

    since my MOBO is Dual channel i think the second option makes more sence...BUT i heard the pro series is only for intel...so i need some help

    ty
    @Aborted help pls.
    Last edited by Jew; 04-09-2014 at 07:15 AM.

  2. #2
    Aborted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Shitpost Defense
    Posts
    17,471
    Reputation
    3076
    Thanks
    6,395
    My Mood
    Twisted
    The performance advantage from running in dual channel is minimal at best, and not really worth the price, nor extra DIMM slot.
    Getting one stick also makes it a lot easier to upgrade in the future.
    When the earth is changed into a humid dungeon,
    In which Hope like a bat
    Goes beating the walls with her timid wings
    And knocking her head against the rotten ceiling;
    When the rain stretching out its endless train
    Imitates the bars of a vast prison
    And a silent horde of loathsome spiders
    Comes to spin their webs in the depths of our brains,
    All at once the bells leap with rage
    And hurl a frightful roar at heaven,
    Even as wandering spirits with no country
    Burst into a stubborn, whimpering cry.
    — And without drums or music, long hearses
    Pass by slowly in my soul; Hope, vanquished,
    Weeps, and atrocious, despotic Anguish
    On my bowed skull plants her black flag.

  3. #3
    Jew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    <dd style="overflow: hidden;">here</dd>
    Posts
    3,866
    Reputation
    289
    Thanks
    2,142
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by Aborted View Post
    The performance advantage from running in dual channel is minimal at best, and not really worth the price, nor extra DIMM slot.
    Getting one stick also makes it a lot easier to upgrade in the future.
    but the second 8gb would not run dual with the first.

  4. #4
    Jew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    <dd style="overflow: hidden;">here</dd>
    Posts
    3,866
    Reputation
    289
    Thanks
    2,142
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by Aborted View Post
    The performance advantage from running in dual channel is minimal at best, and not really worth the price, nor extra DIMM slot.
    Getting one stick also makes it a lot easier to upgrade in the future.
    aborted,got another problem.....my MOBO just went out of stock....they have This one tho...is it good?

    and do you have any recommendations for a good case? the 200r also went out of stock *facepalm*
    Last edited by Jew; 04-09-2014 at 12:21 PM.

  5. #5
    uhZylon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    192.168.1.1
    Posts
    809
    Reputation
    39
    Thanks
    364
    My Mood
    Amused
    Quote Originally Posted by Ex0rPl4net View Post
    aborted,got another problem.....my MOBO just went out of stock....they have This one tho...is it good?

    and do you have any recommendations for a good case? the 200r also went out of stock *facepalm*
    To answer your question;
    The board ok.... But only runs PCI-E 2.0 Meaning it can become a bottleneck on any high tier cards especially the 8x slots.
    According to the site you would also need to Update the Bios for support AM3+ so i would take that into account.

    And in terms of cases, what is your budget.

  6. #6
    Jew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    <dd style="overflow: hidden;">here</dd>
    Posts
    3,866
    Reputation
    289
    Thanks
    2,142
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by uhZylon View Post
    To answer your question;
    The board ok.... But only runs PCI-E 2.0 Meaning it can become a bottleneck on any high tier cards especially the 8x slots.
    According to the site you would also need to Update the Bios for support AM3+ so i would take that into account.

    And in terms of cases, what is your budget.
    ty for answer.

    PCI-E 2.0
    and case.

    about 90 bucks

  7. #7
    uhZylon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    192.168.1.1
    Posts
    809
    Reputation
    39
    Thanks
    364
    My Mood
    Amused
    Quote Originally Posted by Ex0rPl4net View Post
    ty for answer.

    PCI-E 2.0
    and case.

    about 90 bucks
    You can get the 300r for 90:
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008B6ONXA/?tag=pcpapi-20

  8. #8
    Aborted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Shitpost Defense
    Posts
    17,471
    Reputation
    3076
    Thanks
    6,395
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Quote Originally Posted by uhZylon View Post


    To answer your question;
    The board ok.... But only runs PCI-E 2.0 Meaning it can become a bottleneck on any high tier cards especially the 8x slots.
    According to the site you would also need to Update the Bios for support AM3+ so i would take that into account.

    And in terms of cases, what is your budget.
    The performance difference between PCI-E 2.0 and PCI-E 3.0 is negligible at best.
    Don't try to make it seem like a bigger problem than it is.
    When the earth is changed into a humid dungeon,
    In which Hope like a bat
    Goes beating the walls with her timid wings
    And knocking her head against the rotten ceiling;
    When the rain stretching out its endless train
    Imitates the bars of a vast prison
    And a silent horde of loathsome spiders
    Comes to spin their webs in the depths of our brains,
    All at once the bells leap with rage
    And hurl a frightful roar at heaven,
    Even as wandering spirits with no country
    Burst into a stubborn, whimpering cry.
    — And without drums or music, long hearses
    Pass by slowly in my soul; Hope, vanquished,
    Weeps, and atrocious, despotic Anguish
    On my bowed skull plants her black flag.

  9. #9
    uhZylon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    192.168.1.1
    Posts
    809
    Reputation
    39
    Thanks
    364
    My Mood
    Amused
    Quote Originally Posted by Aborted View Post

    The performance difference between PCI-E 2.0 and PCI-E 3.0 is negligible at best.
    Don't try to make it seem like a bigger problem than it is.
    On any high end card that will fully take advantage of the extra bandwidth on 3.0 there is and will be a difference.
    Not talking much FPS changes but it can and has in my experiences bottlenecked a titan in encoding related tasks and CUDA rendering.

  10. #10
    Scotia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    boards.4chan.org/cm/
    Posts
    6,619
    Reputation
    1166
    Thanks
    1,720
    My Mood
    Relaxed
    Quote Originally Posted by uhZylon View Post

    On any high end card that will fully take advantage of the extra bandwidth on 3.0 there is and will be a difference.
    Not talking much FPS changes but it can and has in my experiences bottlenecked a titan in encoding related tasks and CUDA rendering.
    And how many people need a TITAN for Cuda Rendering? Not many so the problem isn't really a problem.

  11. #11
    Jew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    <dd style="overflow: hidden;">here</dd>
    Posts
    3,866
    Reputation
    289
    Thanks
    2,142
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by Scotia View Post


    And how many people need a TITAN for Cuda Rendering? Not many so the problem isn't really a problem.
    its not whats this all about...
    in 5 years the 100$ cards will be powerful like the titan and the high end cards very bottlenecked by this old tech.
    since the price for a pci-e gen 3 isnt diffrent why bottleneck.

  12. #12
    uhZylon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    192.168.1.1
    Posts
    809
    Reputation
    39
    Thanks
    364
    My Mood
    Amused
    Quote Originally Posted by Scotia View Post


    And how many people need a TITAN for Cuda Rendering? Not many so the problem isn't really a problem.
    The titan was more an example. Any high end card in the last year will yield the same results on 2.0 compared to 3.0.
    They didnt upgrade for no reason. There is clearly a difference and a big one at that, otherwise we'd be at PCIE 2.5 or some shit like that.

  13. #13
    Scotia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    boards.4chan.org/cm/
    Posts
    6,619
    Reputation
    1166
    Thanks
    1,720
    My Mood
    Relaxed
    Quote Originally Posted by uhZylon View Post


    The titan was more an example. Any high end card in the last year will yield the same results on 2.0 compared to 3.0.
    They didnt upgrade for no reason. There is clearly a difference and a big one at that, otherwise we'd be at PCIE 2.5 or some shit like that.
    The difference is negligible, which is why Aborted is telling the OP to stop worrying about it.

Similar Threads

  1. I need help choosing a game [X360]
    By ryokeh in forum General Gaming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-18-2013, 07:15 PM
  2. Need Help choosing a new Gaming Laptop
    By ZeroTroubles in forum General
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 01-03-2013, 04:59 AM
  3. Need Help With Choosing
    By debbe in forum General
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 08-07-2011, 09:02 PM
  4. [Solved] 2 Stupid Questions but i need help!!
    By zayat123 in forum CrossFire Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-08-2011, 02:18 PM
  5. Need some help choosing.
    By Canadian in forum CrossFire Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-19-2010, 12:58 PM