Thread: IBuyPower

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 28 of 28
  1. #16
    Better MPGH Event Organizer Than Arun Since '12
    Former Staff
    Premium Member
    Color's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    California
    Posts
    19,641
    Reputation
    2154
    Thanks
    7,654
    Quote Originally Posted by kevinvo View Post
    and isnt ssd for laptops only? and hard drives for desktop? sorry im not good in this kind of stuff
    No ssd's and hdd's are both for desktops, ssd's run faster then hdd's so if you can't afford a ssd that's to big then at least get like 30-60 gigs for the operating system. Also you should of just built your own pc seeing that this prebuilt pc had good parts from when it was bought and it was overpriced and still could be, regarding the PSU you may not even be able to change it seeing that this pc has already been built at a factory or w/e I couldn't remove my psu from a old comp so be sure to check if you can remove the wires from the psu to the other components and such.

    Quote Originally Posted by kevinvo View Post
    is that the reason why im having these problems?
    Well the light switch thing couldn't really be a issue with your pc, it's probably a issue with the wiring in your house..

    Member Since 8/05/2012
    Editor 4/04/13 - 4/21/13
    Middleman 7/14/13 - 11/4/13

    Battlefield Minion 6/13/14-3/20/15
    Steam Minion 7/16/14-3/20/15

    Minion+ 10/1/14-3/20/15
    M.A.T. Minion 10/19/14-3/20/15
    ROTMG Minion 1/14/15-3/20/15

    Donator Since 2/26/15 (Thanks @Cursed!)
    Steam Minion 5/9/15 - 11/5/15
    OSFPS Minion 9/15/15 - 11/5/15


  2. #17
    kevinvo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Ball Is Life
    Posts
    1,126
    Reputation
    31
    Thanks
    313
    My Mood
    Relaxed
    Quote Originally Posted by Color View Post


    No ssd's and hdd's are both for desktops, ssd's run faster then hdd's so if you can't afford a ssd that's to big then at least get like 30-60 gigs for the operating system. Also you should of just built your own pc seeing that this prebuilt pc had good parts from when it was bought and it was overpriced and still could be, regarding the PSU you may not even be able to change it seeing that this pc has already been built at a factory or w/e I couldn't remove my psu from a old comp so be sure to check if you can remove the wires from the psu to the other components and such.



    Well the light switch thing couldn't really be a issue with your pc, it's probably a issue with the wiring in your house..
    what ssd and power supply would you recommend from the looks that i said about my build.

  3. #18
    Better MPGH Event Organizer Than Arun Since '12
    Former Staff
    Premium Member
    Color's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    California
    Posts
    19,641
    Reputation
    2154
    Thanks
    7,654
    Quote Originally Posted by kevinvo View Post
    what ssd and power supply would you recommend from the looks that i said about my build.
    well whats your price range?

    Member Since 8/05/2012
    Editor 4/04/13 - 4/21/13
    Middleman 7/14/13 - 11/4/13

    Battlefield Minion 6/13/14-3/20/15
    Steam Minion 7/16/14-3/20/15

    Minion+ 10/1/14-3/20/15
    M.A.T. Minion 10/19/14-3/20/15
    ROTMG Minion 1/14/15-3/20/15

    Donator Since 2/26/15 (Thanks @Cursed!)
    Steam Minion 5/9/15 - 11/5/15
    OSFPS Minion 9/15/15 - 11/5/15


  4. #19
    kevinvo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Ball Is Life
    Posts
    1,126
    Reputation
    31
    Thanks
    313
    My Mood
    Relaxed
    Quote Originally Posted by Color View Post


    well whats your price range?
    uhm any......

  5. #20
    Better MPGH Event Organizer Than Arun Since '12
    Former Staff
    Premium Member
    Color's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    California
    Posts
    19,641
    Reputation
    2154
    Thanks
    7,654
    Quote Originally Posted by kevinvo View Post
    uhm any......
    PSU
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-011-_-Product
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...&leaderboard=1

    Put windows on the SSD and a few selective games such as Dayz that rely on CPU so that the game runs a bit faster. Also don't bother updating the PSU for a loooong time since it's 850 watts and it's gold standard so it will last you for more then 7 years probably.

    Member Since 8/05/2012
    Editor 4/04/13 - 4/21/13
    Middleman 7/14/13 - 11/4/13

    Battlefield Minion 6/13/14-3/20/15
    Steam Minion 7/16/14-3/20/15

    Minion+ 10/1/14-3/20/15
    M.A.T. Minion 10/19/14-3/20/15
    ROTMG Minion 1/14/15-3/20/15

    Donator Since 2/26/15 (Thanks @Cursed!)
    Steam Minion 5/9/15 - 11/5/15
    OSFPS Minion 9/15/15 - 11/5/15


  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Color For This Useful Post:

    Majin Vegeta (10-23-2014)

  7. #21
    kevinvo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Ball Is Life
    Posts
    1,126
    Reputation
    31
    Thanks
    313
    My Mood
    Relaxed
    Quote Originally Posted by Color View Post


    PSU
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-011-_-Product
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...&leaderboard=1

    Put windows on the SSD and a few selective games such as Dayz that rely on CPU so that the game runs a bit faster. Also don't bother updating the PSU for a loooong time since it's 850 watts and it's gold standard so it will last you for more then 7 years probably.
    so should i get a new power supply or not. people say the azza causes the prob and its shit. and idk how to install the ssd, do i replace it with my hard drive>?

  8. #22
    Better MPGH Event Organizer Than Arun Since '12
    Former Staff
    Premium Member
    Color's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    California
    Posts
    19,641
    Reputation
    2154
    Thanks
    7,654
    Quote Originally Posted by kevinvo View Post
    so should i get a new power supply or not. people say the azza causes the prob and its shit. and idk how to install the ssd, do i replace it with my hard drive>?
    Why would you replace your hdd with it? You can run both drives at the same time lol. Also like I said it could just be your wiring in your house not your PSU. This is why you build your pc's not buy overpriced ones, you could of gotten a pc that was around $600-$700 that had all the parts this comp had lol.

    Member Since 8/05/2012
    Editor 4/04/13 - 4/21/13
    Middleman 7/14/13 - 11/4/13

    Battlefield Minion 6/13/14-3/20/15
    Steam Minion 7/16/14-3/20/15

    Minion+ 10/1/14-3/20/15
    M.A.T. Minion 10/19/14-3/20/15
    ROTMG Minion 1/14/15-3/20/15

    Donator Since 2/26/15 (Thanks @Cursed!)
    Steam Minion 5/9/15 - 11/5/15
    OSFPS Minion 9/15/15 - 11/5/15


  9. #23
    Majin Vegeta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    'Straya
    Posts
    432
    Reputation
    108
    Thanks
    101
    My Mood
    Amazed
    If your computer is going off when you turn your lights on in your room, then that is definitely a wiring issue, no electricians do mixed circuits anymore (running lights and power on the same circuit) unless your house is 20+ years old, I'd highly suggest using an extension lead and running it to the closest power point near the circuit board just to see if it's actually a wiring issue.

  10. #24
    kevinvo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Ball Is Life
    Posts
    1,126
    Reputation
    31
    Thanks
    313
    My Mood
    Relaxed
    no its going on when i turn the lights on not turning it on and when i play games the screen turns black and the tower is still running so idk

  11. #25
    Majin Vegeta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    'Straya
    Posts
    432
    Reputation
    108
    Thanks
    101
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by kevinvo View Post
    no its going on when i turn the lights on not turning it on and when i play games the screen turns black and the tower is still running so idk
    So your computer actually boots up once you turn your lights on? if so that's a power supply issue I think, maybe your power supply is faulty.
    Are you using HDMI cable? and if so have you checked if all the pins are straight and not bent due to inserting them wrong?
    If I were you I'd try to SE a brand new IBUY computer.
    maybe try and get some of the specs changed to better suit you, and yeh get rid of that shitty PSU
    Last edited by Majin Vegeta; 10-23-2014 at 09:07 PM.

  12. #26
    kevinvo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Ball Is Life
    Posts
    1,126
    Reputation
    31
    Thanks
    313
    My Mood
    Relaxed
    Quote Originally Posted by chaosfurian View Post
    So your computer actually boots up once you turn your lights on? if so that's a power supply issue I think, maybe your power supply is faulty.
    Are you using HDMI cable? and if so have you checked if all the pins are straight and not bent due to inserting them wrong?
    If I were you I'd try to SE a brand new IBUY computer.
    maybe try and get some of the specs changed to better suit you, and yeh get rid of that shitty PSU
    yeah so its prob the psu. so im getting a crosair and a ssd from so its the CORSAIR HX Series HX850 850W ATX12V 2.3 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI CrossFire 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply New 4th Gen CPU Certified Haswell Ready and the Crucial MX100 CT256MX100SSD1 2.5" 256GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

  13. #27
    Jelli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Gender
    female
    Posts
    105
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    13
    My Mood
    Tired
    Quote Originally Posted by kevinvo View Post
    no its going on when i turn the lights on not turning it on and when i play games the screen turns black and the tower is still running so idk
    You have two potential problems based on what you said:
    1. Damaged/defective PSU: More likely, and you seem to be in no budget cuts so you can just buy a new one instead of popping it open and fixing it manually.
    2. Damaged/defective outlet: Pretty easy fix, you can find a youtube video

  14. #28
    kevinvo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Ball Is Life
    Posts
    1,126
    Reputation
    31
    Thanks
    313
    My Mood
    Relaxed
    Quote Originally Posted by Jelli View Post
    You have two potential problems based on what you said:
    1. Damaged/defective PSU: More likely, and you seem to be in no budget cuts so you can just buy a new one instead of popping it open and fixing it manually.
    2. Damaged/defective outlet: Pretty easy fix, you can find a youtube video
    what do you mean for #1 u mean buy a new computer? the psu is only like 160 bucks

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. iBuyPower Desktop?
    By Instagram in forum General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-29-2012, 11:11 PM
  2. iBUYPOWER
    By Skrew in forum General
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 06-07-2011, 09:52 PM
  3. iBUYPOWER
    By Killian in forum General
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 11-24-2010, 11:52 PM