Thread: New GPU?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Terio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Hmm Let me Think
    Posts
    5,775
    Reputation
    125
    Thanks
    475
    My Mood
    Blah

    New GPU?

    I currently have a GTX 650 Ti and was wondering if I should change it soon. I want to play the new games, farcry AC etc...

  2. #2
    ミHorizon彡's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,236
    Reputation
    405
    Thanks
    528
    My Mood
    Tired
    760/R9 280/280X would be fine for high settings
    750ti would be good for medium settings

  3. #3
    MMilen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    191
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    5
    My Mood
    Tired
    I am with Sapphire Dual X R9 280 3GB and Intel Core i5 4460 and i am able to run every game on high setting with about 40-60 FPS on Shadow of Mordor so yeah R9 280/280X is good and not so expensive.

  4. #4
    yugurt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Back on friday
    Posts
    3,372
    Reputation
    364
    Thanks
    668
    My Mood
    Tired
    Quote Originally Posted by Terio View Post
    I currently have a GTX 650 Ti and was wondering if I should change it soon. I want to play the new games, farcry AC etc...
    You are still able to play new games with that gpu just depends on if you want to put out the cash and you feel your having bad performance.

  5. #5
    VietTank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    In your Attic
    Posts
    480
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    286
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by Terio View Post
    I currently have a GTX 650 Ti and was wondering if I should change it soon. I want to play the new games, farcry AC etc...
    I got a 650 ti boost and I can play Far Cry 4 fine. I just want another GPU to play DayZ mod at higher fps. You can go for a GTX 750 ti like I wanted too. But someone told me it wasn't a worthy investment and that I should save a little more for a GPU at around 200$

  6. #6
    Terio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Hmm Let me Think
    Posts
    5,775
    Reputation
    125
    Thanks
    475
    My Mood
    Blah
    Quote Originally Posted by VietTank View Post
    I got a 650 ti boost and I can play Far Cry 4 fine. I just want another GPU to play DayZ mod at higher fps. You can go for a GTX 750 ti like I wanted too. But someone told me it wasn't a worthy investment and that I should save a little more for a GPU at around 200$
    ill probably wait until next year or so, gonna buy more RAM this year

  7. #7
    WumboKnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Under a rock in the Ocean
    Posts
    1,947
    Reputation
    101
    Thanks
    327
    My Mood
    Bored
    Quote Originally Posted by Terio View Post


    ill probably wait until next year or so, gonna buy more RAM this year
    ok here is where you are at. Dayz is a very poorly optimized game and lags like shit no matter what gpu, but a higher end gpu would help a little, but to do this you need to know if your hardware will bottleneck the new card, so what is your current cpu? If it is an amd 4 core I suggest a hd 7970 or a gtx 660 if it is an Intel 4 core to a amd 6-8 core I would suggest an r9-280x or a gtx 760-970.


    FORMER MPGH MIDDLEMAN

    Skype: aaron.plascencia2

    ~!~!~!~Over 50+ Successful Transactions~!~!~!~
     
    http://www.mpgh.net/forum/showthread.php?t=889923

     
    AMD Fx-6300 cpu
    ASUS M5A78L-M LX PLUS AM3+ Motherboard
    8Gb of Corsair Xms3 ram
    Evga GTX 660 SC
    Seagate Barracuda 1Tb HDD
    Enermax 80+ 500w power supply
    Windows 7 home premium 64 bit


    Troll of the Year Award:

    http://www.mpgh.net/forum/showthread.php?t=908628

  8. #8
    Apex?'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    In MPGH's heart
    Posts
    1,971
    Reputation
    154
    Thanks
    335
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Go for Geforce GTX 980, i like it.

  9. #9
    Terio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Hmm Let me Think
    Posts
    5,775
    Reputation
    125
    Thanks
    475
    My Mood
    Blah
    Quote Originally Posted by WumboKnight View Post
    ok here is where you are at. Dayz is a very poorly optimized game and lags like shit no matter what gpu, but a higher end gpu would help a little, but to do this you need to know if your hardware will bottleneck the new card, so what is your current cpu? If it is an amd 4 core I suggest a hd 7970 or a gtx 660 if it is an Intel 4 core to a amd 6-8 core I would suggest an r9-280x or a gtx 760-970.
    i have an i5 4670k

  10. #10
    WumboKnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Under a rock in the Ocean
    Posts
    1,947
    Reputation
    101
    Thanks
    327
    My Mood
    Bored
    Quote Originally Posted by Terio View Post


    i have an i5 4670k
    Yea man your good, IDE say go for a 760 or for even better performance a r9 290 it's not much more if you can find a nice deal, amazon has many.


    FORMER MPGH MIDDLEMAN

    Skype: aaron.plascencia2

    ~!~!~!~Over 50+ Successful Transactions~!~!~!~
     
    http://www.mpgh.net/forum/showthread.php?t=889923

     
    AMD Fx-6300 cpu
    ASUS M5A78L-M LX PLUS AM3+ Motherboard
    8Gb of Corsair Xms3 ram
    Evga GTX 660 SC
    Seagate Barracuda 1Tb HDD
    Enermax 80+ 500w power supply
    Windows 7 home premium 64 bit


    Troll of the Year Award:

    http://www.mpgh.net/forum/showthread.php?t=908628

  11. #11
    VietTank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    In your Attic
    Posts
    480
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    286
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by WumboKnight View Post
    Yea man your good, IDE say go for a 760 or for even better performance a r9 290 it's not much more if you can find a nice deal, amazon has many.
    So for an amd II phenom x6 1090t what would a good upgrade be? GTX 760 like the op?
    That's what I'm getting according to your last post about I5 to Amd 6-8 cores.

  12. #12
    WumboKnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Under a rock in the Ocean
    Posts
    1,947
    Reputation
    101
    Thanks
    327
    My Mood
    Bored
    Quote Originally Posted by VietTank View Post
    So for an amd II phenom x6 1090t what would a good upgrade be? GTX 760 like the op?
    That's what I'm getting according to your last post about I5 to Amd 6-8 cores.
    That is still a pretty capable cpu so yea you can go for a 760 or maybe even a r9-280x


    FORMER MPGH MIDDLEMAN

    Skype: aaron.plascencia2

    ~!~!~!~Over 50+ Successful Transactions~!~!~!~
     
    http://www.mpgh.net/forum/showthread.php?t=889923

     
    AMD Fx-6300 cpu
    ASUS M5A78L-M LX PLUS AM3+ Motherboard
    8Gb of Corsair Xms3 ram
    Evga GTX 660 SC
    Seagate Barracuda 1Tb HDD
    Enermax 80+ 500w power supply
    Windows 7 home premium 64 bit


    Troll of the Year Award:

    http://www.mpgh.net/forum/showthread.php?t=908628

  13. #13
    VietTank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    In your Attic
    Posts
    480
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    286
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by WumboKnight View Post
    That is still a pretty capable cpu so yea you can go for a 760 or maybe even a r9-280x
    But how big of an improvement would it be from a 650ti boost ---> 760?
    Because if the improvement is little to none then there is no reason to waste a hundred bucks for nothing

  14. #14
    WumboKnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Under a rock in the Ocean
    Posts
    1,947
    Reputation
    101
    Thanks
    327
    My Mood
    Bored
    Quote Originally Posted by VietTank View Post
    But how big of an improvement would it be from a 650ti boost ---> 760?
    Because if the improvement is little to none then there is no reason to waste a hundred bucks for nothing
    yea you would see anywhere from a 30-45% boost in performance basically if we take BF4 for an example its like going from 20 fps to a comfortable 50 stable at ultra.


    FORMER MPGH MIDDLEMAN

    Skype: aaron.plascencia2

    ~!~!~!~Over 50+ Successful Transactions~!~!~!~
     
    http://www.mpgh.net/forum/showthread.php?t=889923

     
    AMD Fx-6300 cpu
    ASUS M5A78L-M LX PLUS AM3+ Motherboard
    8Gb of Corsair Xms3 ram
    Evga GTX 660 SC
    Seagate Barracuda 1Tb HDD
    Enermax 80+ 500w power supply
    Windows 7 home premium 64 bit


    Troll of the Year Award:

    http://www.mpgh.net/forum/showthread.php?t=908628

  15. #15
    VietTank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    In your Attic
    Posts
    480
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    286
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by WumboKnight View Post
    yea you would see anywhere from a 30-45% boost in performance basically if we take BF4 for an example its like going from 20 fps to a comfortable 50 stable at ultra.
    Alright thanks a lot. I know what I'm getting with my Christmas money lol

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to VietTank For This Useful Post:

    WumboKnight (12-18-2014)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. New GPU & PSU
    By PP_CrazyApple in forum Hardware & Software Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-07-2011, 01:41 PM
  2. New GPU?
    By zatchbell3 in forum Hardware & Software Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-01-2011, 09:48 PM
  3. PSU + Crossfire 5770's or a new GPU
    By Marauder in forum General
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-21-2011, 04:48 PM
  4. Need new GPU
    By Moto in forum General
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-06-2011, 11:42 AM
  5. New GPU or CPU for BO?
    By PikachuHzz in forum Call of Duty Black Ops Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-04-2010, 02:08 PM