Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    rowan112's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    623
    Reputation
    14
    Thanks
    460

    a new psu for my computer

    guys i have a dell inspiron 531, i would like to upgrade my psu "power supply unit".
    because dell inspiron 531 has only 300 watts and i want to upgrade to 400watts due to my g card needs at least 350watts. and i been looking on website and they been saying all sorts one said that it would burn my motherboard n stuff. i am so confused.
    Power supply issues - Dell inspiron 531

    can someone tell me a psu that would support my computer thats 400watts

  2. #2
    Alen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Liquid Generator
    Posts
    27,930
    Reputation
    2539
    Thanks
    4,216
    My Mood
    Fine
    Any ATX psu should do. And what gfx card are you talking about? If it needs 350W by itself then you would need way more for the whole PC.

  3. #3
    trenth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    80
    Reputation
    27
    Thanks
    11
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by rowan112 View Post
    guys i have a dell inspiron 531, i would like to upgrade my psu "power supply unit".
    because dell inspiron 531 has only 300 watts and i want to upgrade to 400watts due to my g card needs at least 350watts. and i been looking on website and they been saying all sorts one said that it would burn my motherboard n stuff. i am so confused.
    Power supply issues - Dell inspiron 531

    can someone tell me a psu that would support my computer thats 400watts
    I'd go with, 550watts just to be safe.

    350W = Grahpics Card
    100+w for Processor
    You've already got 400w their.

    So 550-600w will be plenty for safeness

  4. #4
    Alen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Liquid Generator
    Posts
    27,930
    Reputation
    2539
    Thanks
    4,216
    My Mood
    Fine
    A 9500gt doesn't draw 350W. I think the max is around 170W or something.

  5. #5
    Falingrave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    1,878
    Reputation
    27
    Thanks
    387
    My Mood
    Bored
    Alot of cards say they're going to draw alot but in reality they don't

    Example: My Sapphire Vapor-X HD5770 apparently requires at least.... 450W, But in reality only uses maybe 170w Idle and 250w Full load. Because of the nature of my system I'm running a 750w PSU, and using maybe 650w of it though.

    @OP: it could fry your mobo yes, if you get a PSU that has a much higher Amperage output than what your current hardware is rated for. symptoms would be failure to boot, random BSOD's and shutdows due to overheating, and eventually complete failure.
    Just find out what your hardware is rated for and get a PSU that matches or slightly exceeds it.

    I was running an HD3650 on a 250w PSU for at least a year and it worked great (and it required 350w+).

    TL;DR: just look only at wattage. while it may be enough, or not enough, there's other factors that determine how it works with your setup.

  6. #6
    Alen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Liquid Generator
    Posts
    27,930
    Reputation
    2539
    Thanks
    4,216
    My Mood
    Fine
    Quote Originally Posted by Falingrave View Post
    Alot of cards say they're going to draw alot but in reality they don't

    Example: My Sapphire Vapor-X HD5770 apparently requires at least.... 450W, But in reality only uses maybe 170w Idle and 250w Full load. Because of the nature of my system I'm running a 750w PSU, and using maybe 650w of it though.

    @OP: it could fry your mobo yes, if you get a PSU that has a much higher Amperage output than what your current hardware is rated for. symptoms would be failure to boot, random BSOD's and shutdows due to overheating, and eventually complete failure.
    Just find out what your hardware is rated for and get a PSU that matches or slightly exceeds it.

    I was running an HD3650 on a 250w PSU for at least a year and it worked great (and it required 350w+).

    TL;DR: just look only at wattage. while it may be enough, or not enough, there's other factors that determine how it works with your setup.
    I think you're mixing the recommended PSU power with the gfx card consumption. Most cards come with a "recommended" PSU power for the whole system (a card like that can't possible demand 350W from something that has a max output of 300W).

  7. #7
    Falingrave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    1,878
    Reputation
    27
    Thanks
    387
    My Mood
    Bored
    Quote Originally Posted by Coeus View Post
    I think you're mixing the recommended PSU power with the gfx card consumption. Most cards come with a "recommended" PSU power for the whole system (a card like that can't possible demand 350W from something that has a max output of 300W).
    Quotes Self:

    Quote Originally Posted by Falingrave View Post
    Alot of cards say they're going to draw alot but in reality they don't.

    ...only uses maybe 170w Idle and 250w Full load. Because of the nature of my system I'm running a 750w PSU, and using maybe 650w of it though.

  8. #8
    Jailbroken671's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    13 28 N, 144 47 E
    Posts
    9,021
    Reputation
    704
    Thanks
    2,054
    My Mood
    Devilish
    get a new computer, cuz dell computers dont really react well with upgrades

Similar Threads

  1. I got a new motorbike for christmas...
    By SATANICAT in forum General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-23-2007, 03:50 PM
  2. Dave's new Cash for H4X policy.
    By SadisticGrin in forum General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-15-2007, 11:22 PM
  3. new sig for a new member.. me!
    By apitite.for.distruction in forum Art & Graphic Design
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 10-28-2006, 09:24 AM
  4. New Skins for Warrock Korean :D
    By Kyojiro in forum WarRock - International Hacks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-29-2006, 09:38 PM
  5. anyone have the new runnable for 06-02-06!!!!!!!!
    By AssasinZ in forum Gunz General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-07-2006, 08:56 PM