Thread: DirectX

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    KoЯn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    in my Ecks Bawcks Posts: 13,371,337
    Posts
    462
    Reputation
    11
    Thanks
    7
    My Mood
    Angry

    DirectX

    Hi,
    I have Diablo II, and it was working fine on my old PC. THEN I tried downloading it on my NEW laptop, Toshiba Satellite, with newly re-installed Windows XP Professional Service Pack 1. I run the "Video Test" And I get the following error:
    THIS COMPUTER CANNOT RUN Diablo II !

    Video Test did not detect any useable video modes.
    Please update your system software as follows:


    On Windows 95, 98, or 2000:
    1) Install DirectX 6.1a or newer (DirectX 7a is included with this CD)
    2) Install current video drivers matching the version of DirectX you have installed.

    In all situations, reboot your computer after installing new system software. After you have completed these steps, run the Video Test (in the Options Section) again.
    I have files for DirectX (I think...) in 'C:\WINDOWS\system32'. There's a DirectX folder at: 'C:\WINDOWS\system32\DirectX\Dinput', but all it has is pictures and notepad files (the first file is 'actc094', and the the files are all a picture of a notepad with symbol to the right: a bronze-colored gear/cog with a grey-colored pole (to put it simply) sticking out of the top of the cog) I don't know what files I need but I believe these have something to do with it: 'ddraw.dll' & 'ddrawex.dll'.

    Any help is appreciated & thanks in advance,
    Wruoa

    PS. Sorry for so many computer problem-related threads, but I know next-to-nothing about computers...

  2. #2
    Alen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Liquid Generator
    Posts
    27,930
    Reputation
    2539
    Thanks
    4,216
    My Mood
    Fine
    Update your DirectX installation: Download details: DirectX End-User Runtime Web Installer

    Report back on whether it works after that. And specs would be appreciated (or at least the Satellite model number).

  3. #3
    KoЯn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    in my Ecks Bawcks Posts: 13,371,337
    Posts
    462
    Reputation
    11
    Thanks
    7
    My Mood
    Angry
    Quote Originally Posted by Alen View Post
    Update your DirectX installation: Download details: DirectX End-User Runtime Web Installer

    Report back on whether it works after that. And specs would be appreciated (or at least the Satellite model number).
    Yyyeeeaaahhh... That's a problem... I don't have Wireless on my Laptop... I don't know how to get it working...

    I'm on the Nintendo Wii.

    -Zurwyn

  4. #4
    Moto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    13,057
    Reputation
    707
    Thanks
    13,440
    My Mood
    Blah
    Goto the directx site and update and your



  5. #5
    KoЯn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    in my Ecks Bawcks Posts: 13,371,337
    Posts
    462
    Reputation
    11
    Thanks
    7
    My Mood
    Angry
    Quote Originally Posted by Minivan Man View Post
    Goto the directx site and update and your
    How can I update it if I DON'T have Wireless (or wired, so no Internet.......)

  6. #6
    Alen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Liquid Generator
    Posts
    27,930
    Reputation
    2539
    Thanks
    4,216
    My Mood
    Fine
    Download DirectX and Speccy, transfer them to the laptop with a usb key or something. Then install both and upload your specs so we can find you the drivers you need.

  7. #7
    KoЯn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    in my Ecks Bawcks Posts: 13,371,337
    Posts
    462
    Reputation
    11
    Thanks
    7
    My Mood
    Angry
    They're downloaded, but how do I find the "specs"?

  8. #8
    Alen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Liquid Generator
    Posts
    27,930
    Reputation
    2539
    Thanks
    4,216
    My Mood
    Fine
    Quote Originally Posted by Wruoa View Post
    They're downloaded, but how do I find the "specs"?
    Install Speccy, run it and upload the specs (should be an option to upload / publish them or something).

  9. #9
    KoЯn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    in my Ecks Bawcks Posts: 13,371,337
    Posts
    462
    Reputation
    11
    Thanks
    7
    My Mood
    Angry

    ...

    Shortly after posting my previous post, my computer stopped starting (lol...) and got stuck in a Restart Cycle and/or gave me the "Media test failure, check cable" error... over and over and OVER!!!

    How do I stop this...? I have no money to pay for anything (I'm 16, so I'm still living with my parents. That's how I have internet). I don't have any income, because I can't find a job, y'know, because of these hard times...

  10. #10
    Alen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Liquid Generator
    Posts
    27,930
    Reputation
    2539
    Thanks
    4,216
    My Mood
    Fine
    Reset your BIOS, check your HDD and it's connection. =/

  11. #11
    KoЯn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    in my Ecks Bawcks Posts: 13,371,337
    Posts
    462
    Reputation
    11
    Thanks
    7
    My Mood
    Angry
    Quote Originally Posted by Alen View Post
    Reset your BIOS, check your HDD and it's connection. =/
    I've noticed that my HDD is recognised sometimes, but other times it's not... None of my screw-drivers fit the screws to take the complete back off the Laptop (it just strips the screws), but I can get 3 panels off. I won't try at the moment, because I'm trying my laptop (the HDD is recognised this time).

    PS. What's with the "DERP"?
    Last edited by KoЯn; 04-18-2011 at 06:22 AM.