Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Dracconus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    1,073
    Reputation
    71
    Thanks
    437
    My Mood
    Tired

    Will HD6870 or 6850 be able to run in this?

    Hello all, I am trying to make sure that the power supply I just bought a few weeks ago (unfortunately past it's return policy at Altex) will be able to run an HD6850. I'm not typically the type of person to request information on topics such as these, but I'm wondering if I am already drawing too much power out of this PSU to do what I want
    ----------------------------------------------------------
    Build Specs:
    -------------------------
    Proc: AMD Athlon II x4 640 clocked @ stock 3.0Ghz
    CPU Cool: Stock AMD cooler w/Single 92mm Fan
    R.A.M: 3x2Gb 1333Mhz
    HDD: 1x WD500Green 7200RPM / 1x 1Tb Seagate 7200RPM
    Media: DVD Multi Recorder R DL Litescribe Re-Write capable
    Case: Sentey Black Box v.2.1
    Fans: 3x120 LED(Blue) / 2x120 NoLED / 1x80mm / 1x92mm Powered via USB (can disable if necessary.)
    Mobo: MSI 870S-G46 Full Size ATX w/8Pin PSU Connection
    PCI Card: None
    E-Media: No card reader installed, or necessary (that's why they make media printers :P)
    PSU: Antec 450 Basiq Model VP450
    -----------------------
    PSU Current Ratings:
    5v= 15A Max Load
    +3.3v= 24A Max Load
    +12V= 18A Max Load (This is the first 12 volt rail?)
    +12V= 18A Max Load(I really had no idea this has two )
    -12V= 0.3A Max Load
    +5Vsb= 2.5A Max Load

    *note* I would REALLY like to run a 6870, but I know that probably isn't possible.
    The motherboard, PSU, and Video card will ALL be almost brand new (the psu has about 100 run hours on it, if that. the mobo has the same (installed at same time.)
    I will be using the card for gaming, and am a quality enthusiast, so I'd like to get what I can out of the card. I'm going to be upgrading from a 4850 to this.
    Purchase date will be within the day, to next two or three. A.S.A.P in other words.
    Please help me determine whether this will be enough. Believe it or not, I'm not really the type of person to ever have comp issues, or questions, but as I just bought all these parts to "do up" the HP P6710F that this computer was...I'd like to know if I did so in vain.
    I want to run a 6870, but a 6850 will do.
    Thanks for any and all help

  2. #2
    αяgуяσѕ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    A Box
    Posts
    1,687
    Reputation
    64
    Thanks
    137
    My Mood
    Lurking
    Depends on how much it takes out of power i'm running a 600 WAT power supply with a GTS 450.
    So get a power supply that is 500+ Watts

    If you would like here is a good power supply: Rosewill RV2-600 600 W ATX12V v2.2 / EPS12V SLI Ready Power Supply
    50$ on Newegg, thats where I got mine.
    But remember the PSU is the part that you need to spend the most on.
    Last edited by αяgуяσѕ; 10-17-2011 at 05:33 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave84311 View Post
    Valid keys, he gave me one himself.

    ____________________________
    Need help? Pm me
    ___________________________
    Please Press The Thanks If I Helped

  3. #3
    Ian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    ส้้้้้้้้้้้้้
    Posts
    5,828
    Reputation
    506
    Thanks
    892
    I'd recommend upgrading your PSU.

  4. #4
    Dracconus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    1,073
    Reputation
    71
    Thanks
    437
    My Mood
    Tired
    I think I may end up using another 400 watt supply that I have sisting around that's got 22amps on the 12 volt rail and use it to power the video card discretely (yes, I know how to do that.)
    Also @bl00dpkzdrag Sounds like you got lucky, every rosewill I've seen under 100 USD at newegg have MASSIVE fail stamped all over them.
    I can either buy one, or use the extra one I have, either way I'll be fine. I've got the space necessary to throw two psu's in this case, or just leave the other external, mount it to the back, and have the necessary wires going in, either way.

  5. #5
    αяgуяσѕ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    A Box
    Posts
    1,687
    Reputation
    64
    Thanks
    137
    My Mood
    Lurking
    Quote Originally Posted by dracconus View Post
    I think I may end up using another 400 watt supply that I have sisting around that's got 22amps on the 12 volt rail and use it to power the video card discretely (yes, I know how to do that.)
    Also @bl00dpkzdrag Sounds like you got lucky, every rosewill I've seen under 100 USD at newegg have MASSIVE fail stamped all over them.
    I can either buy one, or use the extra one I have, either way I'll be fine. I've got the space necessary to throw two psu's in this case, or just leave the other external, mount it to the back, and have the necessary wires going in, either way.
    Well im covered for a couple of months i got the warranty.
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave84311 View Post
    Valid keys, he gave me one himself.

    ____________________________
    Need help? Pm me
    ___________________________
    Please Press The Thanks If I Helped

  6. #6
    Stevenom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Summoner's Rift
    Posts
    17,746
    Reputation
    1087
    Thanks
    1,916
    My Mood
    Doubtful
    You got the 2x 12v power slot?
    You need to plug that into the card.
    And here is how much each card uses.

  7. #7
    Aznganxter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    409
    Reputation
    16
    Thanks
    29
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by dracconus View Post
    Hello all, I am trying to make sure that the power supply I just bought a few weeks ago (unfortunately past it's return policy at Altex) will be able to run an HD6850. I'm not typically the type of person to request information on topics such as these, but I'm wondering if I am already drawing too much power out of this PSU to do what I want
    ----------------------------------------------------------
    Build Specs:
    -------------------------
    Proc: AMD Athlon II x4 640 clocked @ stock 3.0Ghz
    CPU Cool: Stock AMD cooler w/Single 92mm Fan
    R.A.M: 3x2Gb 1333Mhz
    HDD: 1x WD500Green 7200RPM / 1x 1Tb Seagate 7200RPM
    Media: DVD Multi Recorder R DL Litescribe Re-Write capable
    Case: Sentey Black Box v.2.1
    Fans: 3x120 LED(Blue) / 2x120 NoLED / 1x80mm / 1x92mm Powered via USB (can disable if necessary.)
    Mobo: MSI 870S-G46 Full Size ATX w/8Pin PSU Connection
    PCI Card: None
    E-Media: No card reader installed, or necessary (that's why they make media printers :P)
    PSU: Antec 450 Basiq Model VP450
    -----------------------
    PSU Current Ratings:
    5v= 15A Max Load
    +3.3v= 24A Max Load
    +12V= 18A Max Load (This is the first 12 volt rail?)
    +12V= 18A Max Load(I really had no idea this has two )
    -12V= 0.3A Max Load
    +5Vsb= 2.5A Max Load

    *note* I would REALLY like to run a 6870, but I know that probably isn't possible.
    The motherboard, PSU, and Video card will ALL be almost brand new (the psu has about 100 run hours on it, if that. the mobo has the same (installed at same time.)
    I will be using the card for gaming, and am a quality enthusiast, so I'd like to get what I can out of the card. I'm going to be upgrading from a 4850 to this.
    Purchase date will be within the day, to next two or three. A.S.A.P in other words.
    Please help me determine whether this will be enough. Believe it or not, I'm not really the type of person to ever have comp issues, or questions, but as I just bought all these parts to "do up" the HP P6710F that this computer was...I'd like to know if I did so in vain.
    I want to run a 6870, but a 6850 will do.
    Thanks for any and all help
    Upgrade you PSU to at least 600watts. BTW the 12V rail is what gives power to your graphics card and CPU. You times the Volts by the Amps and you get the watts for the Graphics card and CPU.

  8. #8
    Dracconus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    1,073
    Reputation
    71
    Thanks
    437
    My Mood
    Tired
    Just figured I'd inform everyone..
    I got the 6850 in this build, and it's working absolutely fine, even overvolted, and overclocked. I grabbed a kill-o-watt, and although HIS decided to relabel this graphics card box to say it is a recommended 500 watt it originally said 400.
    This 450's new, so of course a year or so from now it probably will run into complications, but at this moment I'm running just fine, even when I overclocked, and overvolted it (as well as the processor) just to see what kind of life expectancy I can receive before the PSU won't be able to handle it.
    i'm guesstimating around a year, which isn't bad, least it let's me use it for a while. I upgrade most of my parts every 6 months anyways.

Similar Threads

  1. [Help] Will my PC be able to run Battlefield 3 on high settings...
    By Xbox Camper in forum Battlefield 3 (BF3) Hacks & Cheats
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 08-25-2011, 02:12 AM
  2. Anyone Think we ever will be able to crack Attributes?
    By Alex in forum Combat Arms Mod Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-07-2010, 09:24 AM
  3. [Help] Will My PC Run Call Of Duty Modern Warfare 2?
    By vBlaiRv in forum Call of Duty Hacks & Cheats
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-01-2010, 02:48 PM
  4. [Help] Would my computer be able to run WarRock?
    By gdog163 in forum WarRock Discussions
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 12-05-2009, 09:05 AM
  5. Will fraps run with MPGH pub hack
    By Gotchuthief in forum Combat Arms Hacks & Cheats
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-11-2008, 05:44 AM