Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Fayded's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    295
    Reputation
    -75
    Thanks
    14
    My Mood
    Drunk

    Desktop Icon Arrangement

    Every time I restart my PC, all of my organized icons are moved back to the left.

    Anyway I can prevent this from happening without downloading something Google search tells me to do?

    I keep it like this



    But when I restart or turn my PC on, it's all back to the left.
    Last edited by Fayded; 01-28-2012 at 01:01 AM.

  2. #2
    Ravallo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    17,106
    Reputation
    2134
    Thanks
    5,684
    My Mood
    Angelic
    I think you have 'Autoarrange icons' (if that's the correct translation, I'm running the Dutch version) enabled.
    To prevent this:

    1) Right-click desktop
    2) Image
    3) Remove the check next to 'Autoarrange icons'


     

    MSN: woutervvelsen@live.nl
    Timezone: GMT +1



    Middleman since: April 13th, 2011
    Marketplace minion since: April 18th, 2011
    Runescape minion since: June 6th, 2011
    Moderator since: September 28th, 2011
    General Moderator since: November 2nd, 2011
    Global Moderator since: April 29th, 2012
    Super User since: November 1st, 2013

  3. #3
    Fayded's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    295
    Reputation
    -75
    Thanks
    14
    My Mood
    Drunk
    I will I try it when I get back on my desktop. I noticed it mainly happens after the restart of installing new software. Mainly on restarts generally.

    And instead of making a new thread, why is my CPU% so high. When running nothing, it was like 0-3% before I ran autonuke on the HDD and I have no OS so I pirated one. Now my CPU% is like constantly 45-54% running nothing. I updated the BIOs if that even helped. Could it be the pirated OS? I installed the exact one it had before. Win7 Enterprise 64BIT.



    @Ravallo

  4. #4
    Ravallo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    17,106
    Reputation
    2134
    Thanks
    5,684
    My Mood
    Angelic
    When you view your list of processes, is there one in particular using alot of CPU?


     

    MSN: woutervvelsen@live.nl
    Timezone: GMT +1



    Middleman since: April 13th, 2011
    Marketplace minion since: April 18th, 2011
    Runescape minion since: June 6th, 2011
    Moderator since: September 28th, 2011
    General Moderator since: November 2nd, 2011
    Global Moderator since: April 29th, 2012
    Super User since: November 1st, 2013

  5. #5
    Fayded's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    295
    Reputation
    -75
    Thanks
    14
    My Mood
    Drunk
    Quote Originally Posted by Ravallo View Post
    When you view your list of processes, is there one in particular using alot of CPU?
    Service Host but that's about it. Same amount of processes, all look normal. Idk what it is.

  6. #6
    Bluthera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Gender
    female
    Location
    Shibuya, Tokyo
    Posts
    2,375
    Reputation
    13
    Thanks
    370
    My Mood
    Tired
    While this doesn't necessarily cover the question, the application "Fences" is really useful when organizing your desktop.

  7. #7
    Ravallo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    17,106
    Reputation
    2134
    Thanks
    5,684
    My Mood
    Angelic
    Quote Originally Posted by Edword View Post
    Service Host but that's about it. Same amount of processes, all look normal. Idk what it is.
    How do I fix this high CPU usage svchost virus or whatever it is?
    Also, you could try setting its priority to 'Low' within Task Manager


     

    MSN: woutervvelsen@live.nl
    Timezone: GMT +1



    Middleman since: April 13th, 2011
    Marketplace minion since: April 18th, 2011
    Runescape minion since: June 6th, 2011
    Moderator since: September 28th, 2011
    General Moderator since: November 2nd, 2011
    Global Moderator since: April 29th, 2012
    Super User since: November 1st, 2013

Similar Threads

  1. [Solved] Toggle Hide/Show Desktop Icons?
    By willrulz188 in forum Visual Basic Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-19-2012, 11:32 AM
  2. [HELP]NO DESKTOP ICONS!
    By ♪~ ᕕ(ᐛ)ᕗ in forum General
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 08-10-2011, 02:58 PM
  3. [Help] Desktop Icon For Injector
    By LegitBlackOut in forum Combat Arms Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-03-2011, 06:56 PM
  4. My Desktop icons please help :P
    By moonheadz in forum General
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 07-28-2010, 09:32 AM
  5. [Release] ((CrossFire DESKTOP Icon))
    By tabuzo013 in forum CrossFire Mods & Rez Modding
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 04-13-2010, 11:39 AM