Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    aonix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    755
    Reputation
    5
    Thanks
    72
    My Mood
    Cheerful

    Need help picking out new PC parts.

    Hello people of MPGH, first off I know I can find the answers I need on google but I like having a direct responce to my particular needs, also I fucking love MPGH it is the shit and I respect it more then I respect my GF..

    anyways back to buisiness.

    SO i built a new PC rig consisting of

    Motherboard: Asus Sabertooth p67
    Processor: Intel 2600k I7 1155LGA socket
    Ram: 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz
    I also purchased a NZXT Phantom Full tower and a V6GT Coolermaster CPU cooling fan

    older parts which I need help replacing
    GPU: Asus GeForce 450 ENGTS 1GB GDDR5
    HDD1: 1.5 GB/s 200GB Sata
    HDD2: 3.0 GB/s 1T Sata (used as a slave as it can not be used as a main)
    and a 600W power supply



    For a new GPU I was thinking of grabbing a 580 but people are telling me I should get a 590 cause it's like "2 580's in 1 card"
    and for a new primary HDD I was either going to wait for the price of SSD drives to go down or purchase a 120GB and use it to run windows and necessary programs (AKA: games) and then use my 1TB for the rest of my crap.

    any thoughts of what parts I should add on and is my power supply good enough or will that need to be replaced to?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails
    403903_10151223290920576_844315575_22506999_1852708243_n.jpg  


  2. #2
    Stevenom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Summoner's Rift
    Posts
    17,746
    Reputation
    1087
    Thanks
    1,916
    My Mood
    Doubtful
    Two 580s in one card my ass.
    If you want two 580s in one card I suggest you get a 900w PSU with at least 62amps for the ASUS ROG MARS II
    Shit costs 1k.
    Plus minimum PSU wattage for a single 580 is 650w and it requires 42 amps.
    By the way, don't ever get Sabertooth P67, there is a start up problem.
    Get some Z68 chipset motherboard.
    It's even cheaper.

    Your build is so much like mine.
    Sabertooth P67.
    i7 2600k
    I had a cooler master V6 GT, now I use a liquid cooler.
    Last edited by Stevenom; 02-15-2012 at 02:14 AM.

  3. #3
    Alen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Liquid Generator
    Posts
    27,930
    Reputation
    2539
    Thanks
    4,216
    My Mood
    Fine
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevenom View Post
    Two 580s in one card my ass.
    If you want two 580s in one card I suggest you get a 900w PSU with at least 62amps for the ASUS ROG MARS II
    Shit costs 1k.
    Plus minimum PSU wattage for a single 580 is 650w and it requires 42 amps.
    ^ that, but if you want some power single slot cards go for the 7970 (fuck multi gpu cards) or go for sli / crossfire with some more bang for the buck cards.

    Quote Originally Posted by Stevenom View Post
    By the way, don't ever get Sabertooth P67, there is a start up problem.
    Get some Z68 chipset motherboard.
    It's even cheaper.
    No point in Z68, he doesn't need the Intel gpu. Also dunno where you got the price thingy from, any Z68 board with the P67's extra features would cost more.

    The most important question right now might be your budget, I have no clue what to suggest till i know how much you have to work with

  4. #4
    Nachos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Between Equator and The North Pole
    Posts
    2,986
    Reputation
    176
    Thanks
    913
    My Mood
    Blah
    I know this sounds kinda silly, but why do you want that insane hardware? I don't know many games or anything that uses all the hardware. I can run Skyrim and BF3 on max everything and around 90 FPS. And i don't have anything amazing... I've spend 1.5k on my stuff and all prices are at least 30% higher here in Denmark... usually 50. It's much smarter just buying from Newegg and getting it shipped to DK.

    You can only really use dual GPU if you have two screens.


    The lines in my Steam are i's

  5. #5
    Stevenom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Summoner's Rift
    Posts
    17,746
    Reputation
    1087
    Thanks
    1,916
    My Mood
    Doubtful
    Quote Originally Posted by Alen:5762002
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevenom View Post
    Two 580s in one card my ass.
    If you want two 580s in one card I suggest you get a 900w PSU with at least 62amps for the ASUS ROG MARS II
    Shit costs 1k.
    Plus minimum PSU wattage for a single 580 is 650w and it requires 42 amps.
    ^ that, but if you want some power single slot cards go for the 7970 (fuck multi gpu cards) or go for sli / crossfire with some more bang for the buck cards.

    Quote Originally Posted by Stevenom View Post
    By the way, don't ever get Sabertooth P67, there is a start up problem.
    Get some Z68 chipset motherboard.
    It's even cheaper.
    No point in Z68, he doesn't need the Intel gpu. Also dunno where you got the price thingy from, any Z68 board with the P67's extra features would cost more.

    The most important question right now might be your budget, I have no clue what to suggest till i know how much you have to work with
    My point is many Sabertooth P67 users have booting problems.
    I suggested a cheaper alternative like a cheaper Z68 maybe like ASUS P8Z68-V LE or something.
    Sabertooth P67 costs around 250AUD.
    Last edited by Stevenom; 02-15-2012 at 05:14 PM.

  6. #6
    Alen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Liquid Generator
    Posts
    27,930
    Reputation
    2539
    Thanks
    4,216
    My Mood
    Fine
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevenom View Post
    My point is many Sabertooth P67 users have booting problems.
    I suggested a cheaper alternative like a cheaper Z68 maybe like ASUS P8Z68-V LE or something.
    Sabertooth P67 costs around 250AUD.
    Well aware, the Sabertooth is, well, fancy as fuck. I don't really recommend anyone but a real enthusiast even bothers with such boards, they're just marginally better for normal users, if not just as good. On a side note: upgrade your BIOS, if you haven't already.

  7. #7
    Stevenom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Summoner's Rift
    Posts
    17,746
    Reputation
    1087
    Thanks
    1,916
    My Mood
    Doubtful
    Quote Originally Posted by Alen View Post
    Well aware, the Sabertooth is, well, fancy as fuck. I don't really recommend anyone but a real enthusiast even bothers with such boards, they're just marginally better for normal users, if not just as good. On a side note: upgrade your BIOS, if you haven't already.
    BIOS doesn't help with the booting problem.
    mmz

  8. #8
    Alen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Liquid Generator
    Posts
    27,930
    Reputation
    2539
    Thanks
    4,216
    My Mood
    Fine
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevenom View Post
    BIOS doesn't help with the booting problem.
    mmz
    PSU with a too large delay when switching power states? That was the reason for most of my woes with x58, dunno if that's still an active issue today

  9. #9
    Stevenom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Summoner's Rift
    Posts
    17,746
    Reputation
    1087
    Thanks
    1,916
    My Mood
    Doubtful
    Quote Originally Posted by Alen View Post
    PSU with a too large delay when switching power states? That was the reason for most of my woes with x58, dunno if that's still an active issue today
    Not really.
    Turn on your thing on power point.
    You would have to short out all power.
    Switch off PSU.
    Wait for Stand By LED to go off. (It appears even though you shut your computer down.
    Turn on PSU again then press the power button.

    I read on Asus and other computer forums that many sabertooth users have that problem.

  10. #10
    Alen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Liquid Generator
    Posts
    27,930
    Reputation
    2539
    Thanks
    4,216
    My Mood
    Fine
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevenom View Post
    Not really.
    Turn on your thing on power point.
    You would have to short out all power.
    Switch off PSU.
    Wait for Stand By LED to go off. (It appears even though you shut your computer down.
    Turn on PSU again then press the power button.

    I read on Asus and other computer forums that many sabertooth users have that problem.
    Sounds like an issue with ACPI, I would personally try switching the PSU (at least temporarily) to see if that solves it. I'm assuming of course that you're 100% sure no BIOS patch or anything like that was released to fix these issues.

  11. #11
    Stevenom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Summoner's Rift
    Posts
    17,746
    Reputation
    1087
    Thanks
    1,916
    My Mood
    Doubtful
    Quote Originally Posted by Alen View Post
    Sounds like an issue with ACPI, I would personally try switching the PSU (at least temporarily) to see if that solves it. I'm assuming of course that you're 100% sure no BIOS patch or anything like that was released to fix these issues.
    I'm currently trying an old one someone suggested.
    He uses this BIOS version and he has no problems with it.
    I think it's 3rd or 4th BIOS.
    But if it solves my booting problems I'm happy.
    And I used to have Antec High Current Gamer 900w.

  12. #12
    Elegant Elephant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    143
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    19
    You should of waited. Cheaper 2011 cpus should release soon. Thats what im waiting for. Then gonna buy myself a Gigabyte UD5 2011. I dont play any huge games. 560TI will do me just fine. 8GB ram. 1tb hdd and a 120ish gb ssd for win7. Not gonna spend a lot on a case. It just sits there.

    I actually wouldnt prefer any asus mobo. You have to oc pretty much any decent ram. Most Gigabyte can handle 2133Mhz without oc.

    And if you want a cheap ssd, try ebay.
    You're just a trend, just a fucking disease.
    How could you look at yourself in the mirror?
    You stand for nothing and your heart is untrue.
    Every single thing about you's just a clone of the last "you."

  13. #13
    Alen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Liquid Generator
    Posts
    27,930
    Reputation
    2539
    Thanks
    4,216
    My Mood
    Fine
    Quote Originally Posted by Elegant Elephant View Post
    You should of waited. Cheaper 2011 cpus should release soon. Thats what im waiting for. Then gonna buy myself a Gigabyte UD5 2011. I dont play any huge games. 560TI will do me just fine. 8GB ram. 1tb hdd and a 120ish gb ssd for win7. Not gonna spend a lot on a case. It just sits there.

    I actually wouldnt prefer any asus mobo. You have to oc pretty much any decent ram. Most Gigabyte can handle 2133Mhz without oc.

    And if you want a cheap ssd, try ebay.
    By the time the 2011 cpus fall to a reasonable price the 500 series will be a waste of money. Also no point in getting ram that's better than 1600MHz CL8, you won't notice any difference.

  14. #14
    Elegant Elephant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    143
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by Alen View Post
    By the time the 2011 cpus fall to a reasonable price the 500 series will be a waste of money. Also no point in getting ram that's better than 1600MHz CL8, you won't notice any difference.
    I noticed a difference. I went from 4GB 1600 CL8 to 4GB 1866 CL9 and software performs much faster. And compared to the $600-$1250 prices of 2011 cpus now, I don't mind at all paying $200-$300 for the newer ones. That's cheap to me.

  15. #15
    Alen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Liquid Generator
    Posts
    27,930
    Reputation
    2539
    Thanks
    4,216
    My Mood
    Fine
    Quote Originally Posted by Elegant Elephant View Post
    I noticed a difference. I went from 4GB 1600 CL8 to 4GB 1866 CL9 and software performs much faster. And compared to the $600-$1250 prices of 2011 cpus now, I don't mind at all paying $200-$300 for the newer ones. That's cheap to me.
    I sincerely doubt it was the ram that was the reason for any improvements. Perhaps your CPU got OCed or something, because the difference is next to unnoticeable unless you're doing benchmarking and OCing.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [Help Request] Need help figuring out HFS edit
    By cyTOist in forum Vindictus Help
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-17-2011, 09:03 PM
  2. [Request] Need help picking a badge
    By Music in forum CrossFire Mods & Rez Modding
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-14-2010, 05:21 AM
  3. Replies: 21
    Last Post: 03-24-2010, 08:27 AM
  4. Need Help About A New PC!!
    By hsn1994 in forum Art & Graphic Design
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-12-2009, 10:19 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-13-2008, 03:48 PM