Thanks

Lightbulb Building a high-end computer for college.

Hi, I used to be a somewhat active member of this forum for many years but I stop when i quit online gaming 2 years ago.

Back to the point, Im going to college this august and major in computer science. I'm planning to build my own computer (dual monitor) for my personal/class needs. My budget is around 800-1000 USD. I need help choosing the best processor/video card/motherboard/ram and other important component similar. What I know right now is i will not settle for anything lower than intel i7 chip for this pc.

I'd love to read all of you guys' suggestion and appreciate for the help.

Thanks
    My Mood
    Stressed
    Alright, I could possibly help you out. Just a few questions, do you need a GPU? and brand you want? Or build it yourself?

Thanks
    You should list what parts you current have. Also what kind of cooling system do you prefer?

Thanks
    i am an expert at this stuff, i can even help you on installing the parts you will get. i am guessing that you want a GAMING pc. because you budget is low for gaming we must keep parts from your previous pc that is hopefully NOT a laptop otherwise we can't use anything. if your pc is older even a day than 2 years old then you have to get for sure a new motherboard and cpu, i am guessing it is, so you will have to buy almost everything and just use the old parts for something of an upgrade.
    you should keep your case and not get a new. below i will include the parts you need to BUILD your pc. after that add any other compatible parts from your old pc.

Motherboard: Asus Maximus VI Formula ATX LGA1150
    CPU: Intel Core i7-4790 3.6GHz Quad-Core Processor
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB (1 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory + any other ram parts you already have
    Video Card: Asus GeForce GTX 760 2GB DirectCU II Video Card (which is likely incompatible with the video card you laready have)