Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Void's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Inline.
    Posts
    3,198
    Reputation
    205
    Thanks
    1,445
    My Mood
    Mellow

    Re-loading a module?

    Sawp.

    So, I'm wondering if you can emulate a module being loaded after it's already been loaded. I know for a fact that DLL's are only loaded into memory once, then the executable imports the function into the IAT, and it goes from there.

    Reason being, I edited a table full of addresses and I want to reset them. The only way I was able to edit them in the first place was if my module got loaded before that module ( at runtime ) meaning I'm only able to edit the addresses once.

    Any other way I can do this besides re loading the module, if possible? I mean, it seems pretty complex just to reset the table to it's default addresses.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Void For This Useful Post:

    therofl (11-02-2010)

  3. #2
    mmbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    ja
    Posts
    653
    Reputation
    70
    Thanks
    1,157
    My Mood
    Bitchy
    You would either have to unload and load the library again, or manually load from the file.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to mmbob For This Useful Post:

    Void (08-12-2010)

  5. #3
    faceofdevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    female
    Posts
    77
    Reputation
    9
    Thanks
    6
    Make a trigger event that would change the addresses back. Really dont have to reload or load it again as long as you trigger a event that will do as you please.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to faceofdevil For This Useful Post:

    therofl (11-02-2010)

  7. #4
    Void's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Inline.
    Posts
    3,198
    Reputation
    205
    Thanks
    1,445
    My Mood
    Mellow
    Quote Originally Posted by faceofdevil View Post
    Make a trigger event that would change the addresses back. Really dont have to reload or load it again as long as you trigger a event that will do as you please.
    I did, it won't change for some reason. It'll only change once ( at the beginning of the loading ) and then it won't let me do anything..

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Void For This Useful Post:

    therofl (11-02-2010)

  9. #5
    faceofdevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    female
    Posts
    77
    Reputation
    9
    Thanks
    6
    address->hackon;

    address->hackoff; // rewrites the address back to its original

    if u edited the addresses once u should be able to edit them again.

    Source code mabye? Your question is quite confusing..

  10. #6
    freedompeace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Gender
    female
    Posts
    3,033
    Reputation
    340
    Thanks
    2,792
    My Mood
    Sad
    You could just save the state of the addresses you need, edit them, and write back the original values - much simpler than having to reload the module.

    On a side note, I coded this thing to unload modules a while back, I might still have it on my computer somewhere, so I may be able to pull it up on request. [written in C#, was originally for Portal, but I ended up simplifying the whole thing and removing hundreds of features in exchange for user simplicity. Easily ported to C++ or an equivalent language]

  11. #7
    Hell_Demon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    I love causing havoc
    Posts
    3,976
    Reputation
    343
    Thanks
    4,320
    My Mood
    Cheeky
    Are they function pointers? if so just let your hooked function decide what to do(modify stuff or return control to the original function)

    if not then I don't know ;P
    Ah we-a blaze the fyah, make it bun dem!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-10-2021, 09:46 AM
  2. cannot load projection modules..?
    By McNeil2011 in forum Combat Arms Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-24-2010, 12:01 PM
  3. Holy Fargin Load I Finally Did It
    By Jeckels in forum WarRock - International Hacks
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 06-04-2007, 07:19 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-03-2007, 02:17 PM
  5. Loading Interface... Problems =(
    By doratehexploda in forum Gunz General
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-03-2006, 05:29 AM