Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    My Mood
    Yeehaw

Direct3D sprites

I am using .NET 2003 and the December 2005 version of Direct X SDK.

I started a basic window, and I would like to know how to start intializing 2d sprites to show up in my window. I am a total newb, so help me real well.

BRING BACK BT, BRING BACK SAGA, BRING BACK VF, BRING BACK MPGHCRAFT, BRING BACK HABAMON

Thanks
    You are using D3D, correct?

I'd like to direct you to the game programming wiki; it has an article about this...

https://gpwiki.org

Thanks
    My Mood
    Yeehaw
    It doesn't tell anything on how to load a bitmap.

I tried using Drunken Hyena, but they got no bitmap loader.

BRING BACK BT, BRING BACK SAGA, BRING BACK VF, BRING BACK MPGHCRAFT, BRING BACK HABAMON

Thanks
    My Mood
    Devilish
    Jew I have a whole engine setup... Look at my game source.

THE EYE OF AN ADMINISTRATOR IS UPON YOU. ANY WRONG YOU DO IM GONNA SEE, WHEN YOU'RE ON MPGH, LOOK BEHIND YOU, 'CAUSE THATS WHERE IM GONNA BE

"First they ignore you. Then they laugh at you. Then they fight you. Then you lose.” - Dave84311

HAVING VIRTUAL DETOX

Thanks
    What language are you using?

If its C++ get an image library (if its C++ don't use DX use SDL).
    If its VB.NET or another then...there is some object that will do it for you (look it up).

If I'm being retarded, let me know.

Thanks
    My Mood
    Yeehaw
    I'm using C++.net.

Dave strongly advised me not to use SDL, and to use DirectX. I know for a fact that SDL doesn't look that good, but I don't want to copy-and-paste Daves code. I want to learn what I am doing. 3D is way too complicated for a C++ beginner like me, with no DirectX experience.

I tried SDL before, it's ok, but I rather use DirectX, it's more "professional".
    Heh, would look good on a resume. ^^

Thanks
    Well, why don't you work up from SDL? It's a lot simpler and the code produced is cleaner.
    "I know for a fact that SDL doesn't look that good"