Thanks
    My Mood
    Inspired

What programming language would be best to start a game?

I'm brand new to coding but have been learning some visual basic over the weeks, trying to get introduced into the programming field. I will probably be sticking with visual basic until I can master that.

After my training in visual basic, I would like to create a game with a friend. Something close to Runescape or World of Warcraft. A MMO-RPG with decent graphics and a huge map. These 2 games have pretty big teams working on them. I am just trying to create a decent online game with 2 people. I also have to think about hacks (I know hacking community so bad that I want to keep them out of my game ) So what kind of programming could I use to do this?

I was thinking maybe adobe flash. It seems simple enough but that seems to "pixely" for a fun game and doesn't allow user input in a full screen type of game from what I hear..

I was then thinking java. The graphics on runescape were pretty nice (in the beginning..) and it seemed to be pretty stable. Many people had trouble with java though and playing it. That might be a problem. It seems like the best choice. Minecraft seemed like a nice game too.

Finally I was thinking C++ like world of warcraft. This would be the best choice for a game in terms of graphics. I then found out they use python for game logic and LUA scripting. This seems like way to much work to do for 2 people. Also I have heard C++ is a more advanced language to learn and requires a pretty solid understanding of another language.

Anything helps really.
    Last edited by zsniprx; 10-08-2012 at 08:51 PM.

Blizzard, why you no gimmi?

Thanks
    My Mood
    Happy
    C/++, it is the industry standard when it comes to games.
    Oh btw, you will NEVER make " I would like to create a game with a friend. Something close to Runescape or World of Warcraft. A MMO-RPG with decent graphics and a huge map"