Thanks
    My Mood
    Yeehaw

Looking for an "Introduction" and some help for a game similar to DN (I think)

Hey there everyone, this is my first post on MPGH. I've lurked for a few years, especially back when I played on a large MC server, but it's been a while. If this post doesn't belong here or would be more fitting somewhere else, feel free to move/delete it. I'm used to posting on the SA forums where the smallest infraction loses you $10+, and I'm not sure how strict MPGH is yet, so this is kind of testing the waters.

So, this post isn't about Dragons Nest (I have played it, it wasn't bad, just too repetitive for me), it's for a similar translated MMO called 'Age of Wushu'. There is another version of the game called 'Age of Wulin' that just released in EU, but both are kind of dead. I am a first year CS student, so I've started tinkering with some very minor parts of modifying the client, but there are a couple of snags I have hit, especially since the last large content update.

1. They implemented GPK (which I googled to find is in DN) to stop jump hacking stuff. It may have been there before, but it never worked if it was.
    2. The game is written in a huge cluster**** of lua bytecode, and decompiling it is slow, and I don't really know lua.
    3. The plaintext ini and xml files (which there are a TON of that shouldn't be client side...) have random mandarin characters stuck in them left over from translation. If you speak Chinese it would be insanely easy for you to figure out what some of the variables do. If you don't you have to constantly select a different encoding in np++ and try and use google translate to get anywhere, which is extremely slow and painful.