Thread: Dual monitor

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Bödvar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Blank
    Posts
    2,619
    Reputation
    524
    Thanks
    1,173

    Dual monitor

    So I just bought a new monitor today and I wanted to make it dual monitor with my old monitor. I bought this VGA splitter and now I have attached both my monitors to my PC. Everything works fine apart from the fact that my PC doesn't detect another screen, and that my second screen just shows what I do on my first screen, instead of me being able to do other tasks on it. Any solutions? I heard people saying that I have to buy a new GPU with 2 VGA inputs, but I'm not up for that. Just want a simple solution that is either free or really cheap.
    Rep power: 15

    Quote Originally Posted by _Tavi View Post
    Skrillex and Justin bieber are great artists
    Quote Originally Posted by Transferred View Post
    i love donald trump.
     



  2. #2
    RiceAndDice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    anus
    Posts
    1,081
    Reputation
    116
    Thanks
    162
    My Mood
    Twisted
    I think that's always the case if you use a VGA splitter

  3. #3
    Kingpin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Afghanistan
    Posts
    2,817
    Reputation
    879
    Thanks
    852
    My Mood
    Cheerful
    I literally set up my dual monitor setup today. What you need to do:

    1. Right click on desktop, go to Display settings or whatever it is called.
    2. Click on the second screen and choose the option extend these displays
    3. You can noe move around tabs and programs. If you want you screen to extend to the left simply drag the 2 in front of the 1.

    But if your computer doesn't recognise anything nothing will work indeed. Also try DVI-D. It is way better.
    I cannot access my Skype at the moment. Looks like it is either deactivated or hacked. DO NOT TRADE THROUGH SKYPE. PM ME


  4. #4
    Bödvar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Blank
    Posts
    2,619
    Reputation
    524
    Thanks
    1,173
    Quote Originally Posted by Thijmen84 View Post
    I literally set up my dual monitor setup today. What you need to do:

    1. Right click on desktop, go to Display settings or whatever it is called.
    2. Click on the second screen and choose the option extend these displays
    3. You can noe move around tabs and programs. If you want you screen to extend to the left simply drag the 2 in front of the 1.

    But if your computer doesn't recognise anything nothing will work indeed. Also try DVI-D. It is way better.
    And what do I need to buy for the DCI-D thing? And will it always work? My graphic card is a GT 730, monitor one is a Philips 246V and the old one is some 2005 monitor, new one is 16:9 old one is 4:3 (if that matters)
    Rep power: 15

    Quote Originally Posted by _Tavi View Post
    Skrillex and Justin bieber are great artists
    Quote Originally Posted by Transferred View Post
    i love donald trump.
     



  5. #5
    H!nt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Currently in bed with you.
    Posts
    704
    Reputation
    22
    Thanks
    43
    My Mood
    Chatty
    Well, give us some details about your monitor and GPU, what it can be connected with and such, that would make explanation a little bit easier.

    Cheap solution is; Buy an HDMI cable if your monitor and GPU support it then connect that to your monitor.

    Quote Originally Posted by Hunter's Sheep View Post


    And what do I need to buy for the DCI-D thing? And will it always work? My graphic card is a GT 730, monitor one is a Philips 246V and the old one is some 2005 monitor, new one is 16:9 old one is 4:3 (if that matters)
    It doesn't really matter.
    Last edited by H!nt; 09-22-2015 at 04:50 PM.

  6. #6
    Bödvar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Blank
    Posts
    2,619
    Reputation
    524
    Thanks
    1,173
    Quote Originally Posted by H!nt View Post
    Well, give us some details about your monitor and GPU, what it can be connected with and such, that would make explanation a little bit easier.

    Cheap solution is; Buy an HDMI cable if your monitor and GPU support it then connect that to your monitor.



    It doesn't really matter.
    https://tweakers.net/pricewatch/39826...specificaties/
    https://www.amazon.com/Philips-246V5L.../dp/B00CCY8AJU (New monitor)
    https://tweakers.net/pricewatch/37254...ver-zwart.html (old)

    But about the HDMI, I need to connect 2 screens so 1 HDMI will solve it? I don't really get you 100%, can you explain a little bit more?
    Rep power: 15

    Quote Originally Posted by _Tavi View Post
    Skrillex and Justin bieber are great artists
    Quote Originally Posted by Transferred View Post
    i love donald trump.
     



  7. #7
    Kingpin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Afghanistan
    Posts
    2,817
    Reputation
    879
    Thanks
    852
    My Mood
    Cheerful
    Quote Originally Posted by Hunter's Sheep View Post


    https://tweakers.net/pricewatch/39826...specificaties/
    https://www.amazon.com/Philips-246V5L.../dp/B00CCY8AJU (New monitor)
    https://tweakers.net/pricewatch/37254...ver-zwart.html (old)

    But about the HDMI, I need to connect 2 screens so 1 HDMI will solve it? I don't really get you 100%, can you explain a little bit more?
    Haal een HDMI kabeltje (of deze heb je al liggen) en connect je nieuwe monitor met HDMI. Gebruik vervolgens VGA om je oude monitor aan te sluiten. Dit moet gewoon werken. Volg daarna de stappen die ik eerder vertelde.
    I cannot access my Skype at the moment. Looks like it is either deactivated or hacked. DO NOT TRADE THROUGH SKYPE. PM ME


  8. #8
    Bödvar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Blank
    Posts
    2,619
    Reputation
    524
    Thanks
    1,173
    Quote Originally Posted by Thijmen84 View Post
    Haal een HDMI kabeltje (of deze heb je al liggen) en connect je nieuwe monitor met HDMI. Gebruik vervolgens VGA om je oude monitor aan te sluiten. Dit moet gewoon werken. Volg daarna de stappen die ik eerder vertelde.
    Zal het binnenkort eens proberen en zal wel zien hoe het afloopt. Dus nieuwe monitor in de HDMI en de oude gewoon met de VGA verbinden zonder de nieuwe bij de VGA in te steken als ik me niet vergis?
    Rep power: 15

    Quote Originally Posted by _Tavi View Post
    Skrillex and Justin bieber are great artists
    Quote Originally Posted by Transferred View Post
    i love donald trump.
     



  9. #9
    Kingpin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Afghanistan
    Posts
    2,817
    Reputation
    879
    Thanks
    852
    My Mood
    Cheerful
    Quote Originally Posted by Hunter's Sheep View Post


    Zal het binnenkort eens proberen en zal wel zien hoe het afloopt. Dus nieuwe monitor in de HDMI en de oude gewoon met de VGA verbinden zonder de nieuwe bij de VGA in te steken als ik me niet vergis?
    Klopt.
    1. Oude Monitor > PC - met VGA
    2. Nieuwe Monitor > PC - met HDMI
    I cannot access my Skype at the moment. Looks like it is either deactivated or hacked. DO NOT TRADE THROUGH SKYPE. PM ME


  10. #10
    H!nt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Currently in bed with you.
    Posts
    704
    Reputation
    22
    Thanks
    43
    My Mood
    Chatty
    You can simply use your new monitor with HDMI and old one with VGA Works fine.

  11. #11
    Kongou.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    1,358
    Reputation
    85
    Thanks
    201
    My Mood
    Bored
    Once you go dual monitors you never go back trust me on this one.

  12. #12
    H!nt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Currently in bed with you.
    Posts
    704
    Reputation
    22
    Thanks
    43
    My Mood
    Chatty
    Quote Originally Posted by Mio Akiyama! View Post
    Once you go dual monitors you never go back trust me on this one.
    It's pretty much same with 3 monitors, the more you have the less likely you'll go back.

  13. #13
    ZectixV1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    1,735
    Reputation
    607
    Thanks
    2,105
    My Mood
    Stressed
    Nice, dual monitors are the best.









    Threads:
    Resignation
    🚀 GTA: V 1.37 | Mod Menu Mega Thread Revamped | Info Thread 🚀








    Joined - 10-27-2014
    Donated - 3-6-2015
    GTAV Minion - 10-12-2015
    CoD Minion - 12-23-2015
    Resigned - 07-17-2016


  14. #14
    Dylan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    AnimeBytes
    Posts
    1,830
    Reputation
    300
    Thanks
    1,906
    My Mood
    Sleepy
    I set up my dual monitors with one using HDMI, one using VGA. Then going to display properties, click extend this display.

    NewsForce December 2015 - April 2016
    Premium Member April 2013 - Current
    MPGH Member March 2013 - Current



  15. #15
    Bödvar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Blank
    Posts
    2,619
    Reputation
    524
    Thanks
    1,173
    Quote Originally Posted by Normen's Sheep View Post
    Nice, dual monitors are the best.
    Getting my HDMI on friday, things are going down than! Just kidding, but yeah I hope they are going to work fine and it will be fucking amazing. I was playing on a 4:3 screen since 2005, and now that I switched to 16:9 it's so fucking nice, finally a good resolution too
    Rep power: 15

    Quote Originally Posted by _Tavi View Post
    Skrillex and Justin bieber are great artists
    Quote Originally Posted by Transferred View Post
    i love donald trump.
     



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-20-2013, 05:47 PM
  2. [Help Request] Dual monitor display
    By zsniprx in forum Hardware & Software Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-06-2012, 03:44 PM
  3. Dual Monitors
    By Killian in forum General
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 01-29-2011, 12:41 PM
  4. Dual monitor member
    By MRashikun in forum Spammers Corner
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 07-10-2010, 08:38 PM
  5. Cool!!!MY DUAL MONITOR COMPUTER!!!
    By Xm8Ghost in forum General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-01-2010, 06:05 AM