Thread: LCD vs. Plasma

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Kamikaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Deutchland jajajajajajaja
    Posts
    1,456
    Reputation
    17
    Thanks
    46
    My Mood
    Buzzed

    LCD vs. Plasma

    So I was promised a new television in my room, with $700 to spend on one.
    I want to know, should I go for Plasma or LCD?
    Cheers.
    Latest:


    GIFTS


    Quote Originally Posted by Obama View Post
    If kamikazes sig had a dick, id suck it.

    Quote Originally Posted by Flash View Post
    yea im mad

  2. #2
    LegendaryAbbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    5,244
    Reputation
    23
    Thanks
    546
    My Mood
    Relaxed
    If you have room for an LCD (because they're generally bigger) I would have thought they had better picture quality over all, but I'm not 100% sure on that.

  3. #3
    reaper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    The Deep South
    Posts
    5,247
    Reputation
    58
    Thanks
    1,077
    My Mood
    Relaxed
    Plasmas are cheaper and have a smaller lifespan, go for the LCD

    I just got a 42" LG LCD and life is good

    Most LCD's also have built in HD tuners for an added bonus, not too sure about the plasmas..

  4. #4
    Dr.Dental's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Aus
    Posts
    4,197
    Reputation
    180
    Thanks
    545
    My Mood
    Busy
    I vote for LCD. Although they are generally more expensive. They do in fact have a longer life span and less prone to problems like plasma experiences. LCD also aren't more clear than PLASMAs, they have similar picture quality. Go for the big brands like SONY, Samsung and LG (famous for LCDs). PLASMAS also use more energy than LCDs and even CTRs (the fat old ones) being less environmently friendly and making your electricity bill more hectic. Overall, you should choose an LCD (the size will depend on the size of the room it's going to be in). However, if you really rich and want something stylish and thin look for LED tvs if they have arrived in Germany yet (most likely).

  5. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Dr.Dental For This Useful Post:

    jolin (12-24-2009),Kamikaze (12-24-2009),umadbruh (05-11-2010)

  6. #5
    Kamikaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Deutchland jajajajajajaja
    Posts
    1,456
    Reputation
    17
    Thanks
    46
    My Mood
    Buzzed
    Thanks, i would however like more opinions.
    HD Tuner, does that mean I have to set the HD settings myself?
    Latest:


    GIFTS


    Quote Originally Posted by Obama View Post
    If kamikazes sig had a dick, id suck it.

    Quote Originally Posted by Flash View Post
    yea im mad

  7. #6
    R3V's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Well
    Posts
    3,924
    Reputation
    36
    Thanks
    328
    LED ftw.

    .,

  8. #7
    Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    female
    Location
    In your meatus
    Posts
    23,573
    Reputation
    2920
    Thanks
    5,343
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Heres all the info you need

    And LEDs are overrated pieces of shit. Overcharged and mis-manufactured and cant deliver what they promise.

  9. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Doc For This Useful Post:

    jolin (12-24-2009),Kamikaze (12-24-2009)

  10. #8
    LegendaryAbbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    5,244
    Reputation
    23
    Thanks
    546
    My Mood
    Relaxed
    Quote Originally Posted by vaan View Post
    Thanks, i would however like more opinions.
    HD Tuner, does that mean I have to set the HD settings myself?
    I have a HD box on an older tv, you just go into menu and say find new channels and it does itself and assigns them channels.

    It may be different where you live though.

  11. #9
    Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    female
    Location
    In your meatus
    Posts
    23,573
    Reputation
    2920
    Thanks
    5,343
    My Mood
    Twisted
    He doesnt live in Germany just so you know.

  12. #10
    LegendaryAbbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    5,244
    Reputation
    23
    Thanks
    546
    My Mood
    Relaxed
    I know he's there on holidays, but he doesn't live in Aus does he?

  13. #11
    Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    female
    Location
    In your meatus
    Posts
    23,573
    Reputation
    2920
    Thanks
    5,343
    My Mood
    Twisted
    iunno. his myspace says he lives in brissy i think.

  14. #12
    Dr.Dental's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Aus
    Posts
    4,197
    Reputation
    180
    Thanks
    545
    My Mood
    Busy
    If you buy a tv with no hd tuner you need to buy a separate tuner and set it up on your TV. You might have to adjust settings but there will definitely be a guide. I recommend you buy a tv with build in hd tuner because its more convenient and mainly older TV models don't have hd tuners (its up to you). However, most TVs lcd or plasma do in fact have built in TV tuners. I personally don't like the HD channels in Australia. However, i don't really know about where you live.

    Off topic: 300th post xD
    Last edited by Dr.Dental; 12-24-2009 at 07:57 AM.

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to Dr.Dental For This Useful Post:

    jolin (12-24-2009)

  16. #13
    Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    female
    Location
    In your meatus
    Posts
    23,573
    Reputation
    2920
    Thanks
    5,343
    My Mood
    Twisted
    He lives in Australia. And yeah our HD Channels suck balls. I just watch torrented movies on my LCD.

  17. #14
    Kamikaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Deutchland jajajajajajaja
    Posts
    1,456
    Reputation
    17
    Thanks
    46
    My Mood
    Buzzed
    The catalogue i'm looking at all have Built in HD tuners, does that mean once i plug the TV in, it will auto tune?
    Yes, I live in Brisbane.
    Latest:


    GIFTS


    Quote Originally Posted by Obama View Post
    If kamikazes sig had a dick, id suck it.

    Quote Originally Posted by Flash View Post
    yea im mad

  18. #15
    Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    female
    Location
    In your meatus
    Posts
    23,573
    Reputation
    2920
    Thanks
    5,343
    My Mood
    Twisted
    It should, if it doesnt just press menu button and there should be an option to auto-tune.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Combat Arms on Plasma TV
    By SuPeR~AweSomE in forum Combat Arms Discussions
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 09-05-2011, 11:31 PM
  2. [Release] MOTM#11/Winner Acog A1 to Halo Plasma Pistol
    By BenXer in forum Combat Arms Mods & Rez Modding
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 01-27-2011, 05:37 PM
  3. Laptop VS PS3 + $500 HD LCD
    By B1RDMAN in forum General
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 08-20-2010, 03:12 AM
  4. Playstation 3 Slim Dock LCD
    By zShade41 in forum Playstation Hacking
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-29-2010, 02:43 AM
  5. Blur&Plasma
    By Flawless in forum Art & Graphic Design
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-22-2006, 06:34 PM