Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    J Miliam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    8,287
    Reputation
    392
    Thanks
    432
    My Mood
    Tired

    Exclamation Wireless router help?

    So i have this wireless g broadband router (Linksys Wireless-G Broadband Router WRT54GL Wireless router - 4-port switch (integrated) - EN, Fast EN, IEEE 802.11b, IEEE 802.11g) And i have my old router (RCA Digital Broadband Modem Model DCM425 NEAR MINT ITEM on eBay!). My connection is a cable that plugs into a wall, not ethernet cord, like one of those ones that you have to turn the screw or whatever it is on the thing to tighten it, like what plugs into your tv to give your tv cable. The back of the wireless router doesn't take the cable, it needs ethernet, so what i was thinking is that i could have the cable plug into my OLD modem and then plug the ethernet in to the OLD one and plug the other end into the wireless router to give that internet. I tried it and it had the numbers lit up, but WLAN and DMZ weren't lit up... Anything i'm doing wrong? I'm googling it now so don't say to do that. I want to know if i'm doing anything wrong by you guys first, or what i should do... please help me!

  2. #2
    Empire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    .Alwayz.
    Posts
    19,896
    Reputation
    659
    Thanks
    1,346
    My Mood
    Pensive
    ethernet converter cord.


  3. #3
    ac1d_buRn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    female
    Location
    CA Source Section
    Posts
    3,406
    Reputation
    157
    Thanks
    3,999
    My Mood
    Flirty
    Keep that old modem.
    Connect the cable connection to the old modem.
    Now get an ethernet cable, and plug it into the old, then into the router.
    Then get another one, and go from the router to the pc.

  4. #4
    Polo™'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Im awsome and i fuck dolphins. Shwag Shwag Shwagg
    Posts
    10,120
    Reputation
    612
    Thanks
    861
    My Mood
    Pensive
    Switch over to fiber wire.

  5. #5
    J Miliam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    8,287
    Reputation
    392
    Thanks
    432
    My Mood
    Tired
    Quote Originally Posted by iGir View Post
    Switch over to fiber wire.
    Embellish please?

  6. #6
    Dave84311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Gender
    male
    Location
    The Wild Wild West
    Posts
    29,803
    Reputation
    4042
    Thanks
    37,637
    My Mood
    Devilish
    Connect your cable wire to your modem, connect an ethernet wire from your modem to your router, you can then connect multiple connections to your router and share internets.





    THE EYE OF AN ADMINISTRATOR IS UPON YOU. ANY WRONG YOU DO IM GONNA SEE, WHEN YOU'RE ON MPGH, LOOK BEHIND YOU, 'CAUSE THATS WHERE IM GONNA BE


    "First they ignore you. Then they laugh at you. Then they fight you. Then you lose.” - Dave84311

    HAD VIRTUAL DETOX

  7. #7
    DoubleDutch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Koning
    Posts
    11,253
    Reputation
    1149
    Thanks
    1,174
    My Mood
    Bored
    Manual .

  8. #8
    J Miliam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    8,287
    Reputation
    392
    Thanks
    432
    My Mood
    Tired
    After research, asking on computer help based forums, and trying every-fucking-thing, i think my router is "faulty".

  9. #9
    StayTrue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    4,345
    Reputation
    391
    Thanks
    282
    My Mood
    Breezy
    Quote Originally Posted by J Miliam View Post
    After research, asking on computer help based forums, and trying every-fucking-thing, i think my router is "faulty".
    That could be right. but did you double check everything ?

    "Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former."
    - Albert Einstein

  10. #10
    J Miliam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    8,287
    Reputation
    392
    Thanks
    432
    My Mood
    Tired
    Quote Originally Posted by StayTrue View Post


    That could be right. but did you double check everything ?
    Yep. I'm still talking to this computer dude that's telling me to do some things, so i'm not completely done.