Thread: So fuck me.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Moto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    13,057
    Reputation
    707
    Thanks
    13,904
    My Mood
    Blah

    So fuck me.



    My old gpu (5770) was constantly failing (the fan going to fucking 400% and blowing up)

    Basically computer go boom boom and monitor says no input detected..

    Computer won't even start up now, Tried getting the dust out of it , that didn't help. Also checked if it is connected to the PSU correctly and what not .. yep its fine..

    @iverson954360

    I need le help .
    Last edited by Moto; 05-05-2011 at 11:14 PM.



  2. #2
    [S2]ilyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    127
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    5
    That is some shitty hardware.
    Lyle's post banned, why else would I be on this thing. So don't ask.

  3. #3
    Moto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    13,057
    Reputation
    707
    Thanks
    13,904
    My Mood
    Blah
    Quote Originally Posted by [S2]ilyle View Post
    That is some shitty hardware.
    I'm fucking done with it.



  4. #4
    iverson954360's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    10,280
    Reputation
    940
    Thanks
    1,656
    My Mood
    Dead
    Explain what you mean by not turning on, there are different kinds of not turning on. What happens when you press the power button?

  5. #5
    Moto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    13,057
    Reputation
    707
    Thanks
    13,904
    My Mood
    Blah
    Quote Originally Posted by iverson954360 View Post
    Explain what you mean by not turning on, there are different kinds of not turning on. What happens when you press the power button?
    I press le power button. GPU fan GOES WOOOSHHHH like a fucking jet, everything starts up regularly like it would if the computer was working fine.. Monitor says Bleh no input detected, fuck yourself



  6. #6
    [S2]ilyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    127
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    5
    Perhaps it's your monitor?

    Or your cable got fucked up?
    Lyle's post banned, why else would I be on this thing. So don't ask.

  7. #7
    PyrexxHero®'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    My house
    Posts
    4,952
    Reputation
    575
    Thanks
    493
    My Mood
    Lurking
    Hook it up to a different monitor to test
    Its probably the cable or the adaptor

    SuperBadassExtraordinaire says (5:53 PM):
    babysitting is ghey
    Corndog says (5:53 PM):
    ur ghey
    Baron De Montesquieu..Wtf? [Czar] says (5:53 PM):
    you're a breaded hotdog

  8. #8
    Moto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    13,057
    Reputation
    707
    Thanks
    13,904
    My Mood
    Blah
    Quote Originally Posted by [S2]ilyle View Post
    Perhaps it's your monitor?

    Or your cable got fucked up?
    Definitely not my monitor, as i have already tried it using my dad's laptop, works fine . its brand new btw.

    Definately not cable as i have tried a dvi cable, instead of the vga w/ a vga - dvi adapter that i use now.



  9. #9
    [S2]ilyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    127
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    5
    Perhaps something overheated and is unusable now. Those fans must've been going ape shit for some reason.

    Time to go computer shoppin
    Lyle's post banned, why else would I be on this thing. So don't ask.

  10. #10
    iverson954360's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    10,280
    Reputation
    940
    Thanks
    1,656
    My Mood
    Dead
    Do you have an on board graphics device on your motherboard? You're really SOL without being able to test your card in a different computer, but my suspicion is that something went horribly wrong with your card, although most newer cards and i believe this applies for the 5770 is that they'll protect themselves from getting damaged (heat), you may have had some other sort of issue such as a power surge or possibly your pci-e slot meeting its demise from the heat of the card.

  11. #11
    .Raiden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    599
    Reputation
    25
    Thanks
    38
    My Mood
    In Love
    Quote Originally Posted by Moto View Post


    Definitely not my monitor, as i have already tried it using my dad's laptop, works fine . its brand new btw.

    Definately not cable as i have tried a dvi cable, instead of the vga w/ a vga - dvi adapter that i use now.
    I'd say it'd be your GPU. At first I thought it might be the PSU but you said everythings is poewring on. I would also say it may be your RAM, but you've used your comp before so it probs isnt a bad config or anything. But if you some spare RAM sticks try putting them in and see if you can get the POST to show up.

  12. #12
    HannibalJr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    On your screen Gender: Shemale
    Posts
    2,113
    Reputation
    264
    Thanks
    107
    My Mood
    Sick
    Did you fucked with the refresh rate?



  13. #13
    Moto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    13,057
    Reputation
    707
    Thanks
    13,904
    My Mood
    Blah
    @[S2]ilyle

    No, time to go GPU shopping.

    @iverson954360

    I'm pretty sure i do not , Actually i could test my card in a different computer, but not for like a couple of days.. I bought the card from a friend that does in fact treat his cards well, although i'm not the original owner.. Usually when this happens after a day or 2 it will work again, i will try to set the fan speed down to 30% because its on default atm, which could be causing it to go boom boom.

    @.Raiden

    Yeah as iverson said when i bought new ram, mix and matching could fuck shit up. Except i took out my new ram, tried it again, and it didn't work.. My PSU is fine cuz everything else powers on, i dont have a problem with buying a new gpu though.

    @HempJr

    I never changed that.. Not my monitor .



  14. #14
    .Raiden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    599
    Reputation
    25
    Thanks
    38
    My Mood
    In Love
    Your PSU might also be sending too much power to your GPU. Maybe.

  15. #15
    Krypton1x's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Tacoma
    Posts
    13,305
    Reputation
    1184
    Thanks
    1,196
    My Mood
    Brooding
    VERY misleading title.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast