Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 36
  1. #1
    crappy74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    in a dream, within a dream.
    Posts
    429
    Reputation
    -46
    Thanks
    35
    My Mood
    Relaxed

    little SLI setup doubt.

    sooooo, i have tried SLI with two 1GB graphic cards, but how about two 2GB graphic cards?
    really dunno and dont wanna screw up.
    is it possible?




    TROLL PHILOSOPHY
    An action is worth a thousand words, therefore, pressing thanks is worth saying thanks a thousand times....

  2. #2
    Chester Bennington's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,653
    Reputation
    389
    Thanks
    717
    My Mood
    Cheerful
    What motherboard have you got?

  3. #3
    crappy74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    in a dream, within a dream.
    Posts
    429
    Reputation
    -46
    Thanks
    35
    My Mood
    Relaxed
    ASRock Extreme4 Gen3, i have some xperience with ASRock mobos and theyre really good @Impulse
    3x PCI-E 16x slots




    TROLL PHILOSOPHY
    An action is worth a thousand words, therefore, pressing thanks is worth saying thanks a thousand times....

  4. #4
    Chester Bennington's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,653
    Reputation
    389
    Thanks
    717
    My Mood
    Cheerful
    Maybe it is possible but I don't know, it depends on how much GFX memory your motherboard can support. I mean yours supports Quad SLI but if it can't handle 4096MB of GFX RAM then it isn't possible.

  5. #5
    crappy74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    in a dream, within a dream.
    Posts
    429
    Reputation
    -46
    Thanks
    35
    My Mood
    Relaxed
    well i saw a video o a guy seting up 3 GTX 480 in SLI, dunno if it can handle it :S




    TROLL PHILOSOPHY
    An action is worth a thousand words, therefore, pressing thanks is worth saying thanks a thousand times....

  6. #6
    Chester Bennington's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,653
    Reputation
    389
    Thanks
    717
    My Mood
    Cheerful
    Quote Originally Posted by crappy74 View Post
    well i saw a video o a guy seting up 3 GTX 480 in SLI, dunno if it can handle it :S
    Yeah, like I said, your MOBO can handle quad SLI. GTX 480's are 1.5GB each if I am not mistaken which to me suggests that your MOBO CAN support that much.


  7. #7
    Nico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Germany :D
    Posts
    15,938
    Reputation
    1121
    Thanks
    8,551
    Quote Originally Posted by crappy74 View Post
    well i saw a video o a guy seting up 3 GTX 480 in SLI, dunno if it can handle it :S
    Shouldnt be a problem with your motherboard.

  8. #8
    crappy74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    in a dream, within a dream.
    Posts
    429
    Reputation
    -46
    Thanks
    35
    My Mood
    Relaxed
    Quote Originally Posted by Impulse View Post
    Yeah, like I said, your MOBO can handle quad SLI. GTX 480's are 1.5GB each if I am not mistaken which to me suggests that your MOBO CAN support that much.

    true, but cant decide, 2 560's 2GB each or 2 570's 1GB each




    TROLL PHILOSOPHY
    An action is worth a thousand words, therefore, pressing thanks is worth saying thanks a thousand times....

  9. #9
    Chester Bennington's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,653
    Reputation
    389
    Thanks
    717
    My Mood
    Cheerful
    Quote Originally Posted by crappy74 View Post
    true, but cant decide, 2 560's 2GB each or 2 570's 1GB each
    There isn't really a great difference between the 560 and the 570 is there?

    If it was me, I would go for the 2 X 560 2GB because it would surely have more of an effect over the 570's, even with their slight difference.

  10. #10
    crappy74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    in a dream, within a dream.
    Posts
    429
    Reputation
    -46
    Thanks
    35
    My Mood
    Relaxed
    Differences between 560 and 570 GeForce GTX 560 Ti vs GeForce GTX 570 – Performance Comparison Benchmarks @ Hardware Compare
    most important difference is memory bus, 570 = 320-bit 560 = 256-bit
    Last edited by crappy74; 09-22-2011 at 10:53 AM.




    TROLL PHILOSOPHY
    An action is worth a thousand words, therefore, pressing thanks is worth saying thanks a thousand times....

  11. #11
    iverson954360's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    10,280
    Reputation
    940
    Thanks
    1,656
    My Mood
    Dead
    Get two 570's, they out perform two 560's. Video RAM isn't as important as you think it is. 2gb is more than enough to buffer any game you want to play for at least two more years. VRAM should come into consideration second, after shear performance aspects.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to iverson954360 For This Useful Post:

    Lehsyrus (09-22-2011)

  13. #12
    crappy74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    in a dream, within a dream.
    Posts
    429
    Reputation
    -46
    Thanks
    35
    My Mood
    Relaxed
    whats VRAM anyways?
    oh shit i fail hard
    Last edited by crappy74; 09-22-2011 at 05:48 PM.




    TROLL PHILOSOPHY
    An action is worth a thousand words, therefore, pressing thanks is worth saying thanks a thousand times....

  14. #13
    DomoGenesisAlt'sAlt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Gender
    female
    Posts
    924
    Reputation
    72
    Thanks
    82
    Whats a SLI ?
    FTP!

  15. #14
    ☬Ξη†τσρîζ Ζσ♍βîε δτσηε☬
    Former Staff
    Premium Member
    Lehsyrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,900
    Reputation
    1281
    Thanks
    3,071
    Quote Originally Posted by crappy74 View Post
    whats VRAM anyways?
    VRAM is Video Ram. It's like DDR RAM but specific towards video performance.

  16. #15
    crappy74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    in a dream, within a dream.
    Posts
    429
    Reputation
    -46
    Thanks
    35
    My Mood
    Relaxed
    oh cool, never thod it was actually specific for video processing




    TROLL PHILOSOPHY
    An action is worth a thousand words, therefore, pressing thanks is worth saying thanks a thousand times....

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [Help Request] little doubt with my PC
    By crappy74 in forum Combat Arms Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-05-2011, 02:07 AM
  2. a little doubt
    By Decoder back in forum Combat Arms Coding Help & Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2011, 11:37 PM