Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    lostedminds's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    293
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    20
    My Mood
    Bored

    Specs to run Battlefield 3 on High settings

    My current computer is
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    AMD Athlon II X2 220 Processor
    6144MB Ram
    ATI Radeon HD 4200

    I know that i cant run battlefield at all with this current set up because i just bought it from Futureshop. So I was wondering what I could change to run battlefield or any high graphic game like COD , and mass effect. I know i have a crappy video card and if someone could recommend me one that would be great! (: My budget would be around $100-500. Also if you cant really recommend me something just tell me if I have enough ram, or like my process will or will not work with it.
    Thanks!

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Paladin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    In my swamp, taking a fat ogre shit
    Posts
    7,564
    Reputation
    744
    Thanks
    1,534
    My Mood
    Yeehaw
    Better CPU/GPU, you can still run BF3 on low smooth, though.



  4. #4
    P4N1K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Gender
    female
    Posts
    315
    Reputation
    41
    Thanks
    19
    My Mood
    Dead
    5770 and a 500w PSU is all you would need to play on medium to high settings at a decent frame rate. But make sure your case has a standard PSU and mobo, you also need to know if you've got a PCI-e slot open.

  5. #5
    Paladin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    In my swamp, taking a fat ogre shit
    Posts
    7,564
    Reputation
    744
    Thanks
    1,534
    My Mood
    Yeehaw
    Quote Originally Posted by P4N1K View Post
    5770 and a 500w PSU is all you would need to play on medium to high settings at a decent frame rate. But make sure your case has a standard PSU and mobo, you also need to know if you've got a PCI-e slot open.


    He'd want a quad core from AMD for value, and then a 6870, just because it's a tank, and it performs admirably.



  6. #6
    P4N1K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Gender
    female
    Posts
    315
    Reputation
    41
    Thanks
    19
    My Mood
    Dead
    Quote Originally Posted by Paladin View Post


    He'd want a quad core from AMD for value, and then a 6870, just because it's a tank, and it performs admirably.
    his budget is $100-500. its not as simple as just slotting in the quad core and 6870. he would need a new mobo and ram becuase ddr2 won't work with a quad core, a 6870 won't run with anything under a 500w psu.

  7. #7
    Paladin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    In my swamp, taking a fat ogre shit
    Posts
    7,564
    Reputation
    744
    Thanks
    1,534
    My Mood
    Yeehaw
    Quote Originally Posted by P4N1K View Post
    his budget is $100-500. its not as simple as just slotting in the quad core and 6870. he would need a new mobo and ram becuase ddr2 won't work with a quad core, a 6870 won't run with anything under a 500w psu.
    $500, he didn't list his Mobo or PSU, so assuming they can handle his current card, it'd be a decent mobo/psu combo. But if it isn't, he can still get a 600W, a cheaper mobo, processor, and a 6870 for $500 before shipping.



  8. #8
    P4N1K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Gender
    female
    Posts
    315
    Reputation
    41
    Thanks
    19
    My Mood
    Dead
    Quote Originally Posted by Paladin View Post
    $500, he didn't list his Mobo or PSU, so assuming they can handle his current card, it'd be a decent mobo/psu combo. But if it isn't, he can still get a 600W, a cheaper mobo, processor, and a 6870 for $500 before shipping.
    i'd like to know where you can find a mobo, quad core processor, 6870 and 600w PSU for under $500. if you could list the website you found that at i would be grateful.
    Last edited by P4N1K; 02-20-2012 at 02:00 AM.

  9. #9
    Paladin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    In my swamp, taking a fat ogre shit
    Posts
    7,564
    Reputation
    744
    Thanks
    1,534
    My Mood
    Yeehaw
    Quote Originally Posted by P4N1K View Post
    i'd like to know where you can find a mobo, quad core processor, 6870 and 600w PSU for under $500. if you could list the website you found that at i would be grateful. :3
    $170 GPU: Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100314-3L Radeon HD 6870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card
    $125 CPU: Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 960T Zosma 3.0GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor HD96ZTWFGRBOX
    $100 Mobo: Newegg.com - ASUS M4A87TD/USB3 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
    $75 PSU: Newegg.com - OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W Modular High Performance Power Supply compatible with Intel Sandybridge Core i3 i5 i7 and AMD Phenom


    Total cost, $470 before shipping, as I had mentioned, and you can probably still squeeze in shipping.



  10. #10
    P4N1K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Gender
    female
    Posts
    315
    Reputation
    41
    Thanks
    19
    My Mood
    Dead
    at that point i would just suggest to him that he gets a case, ddr3 ram and just scavenge his old hdd and dvd drive. not pretty, but that'll work /shrug.

  11. #11
    Paladin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    In my swamp, taking a fat ogre shit
    Posts
    7,564
    Reputation
    744
    Thanks
    1,534
    My Mood
    Yeehaw
    Quote Originally Posted by P4N1K View Post
    at that point i would just suggest to him that he gets a case, ddr3 ram and just scavenge his old hdd and dvd drive. not pretty, but that'll work /shrug.
    Again, who says his current stuff is bad? He never fully mentioned his specs, he might have DDR3 ram and a great case. In any case, good looking PCs are vanity and not worth dropping money for.



Similar Threads

  1. [Discussion] can i run bf3 in full settings ? pc specs included
    By astrosid1996 in forum Battlefield 3 (BF3) Hacks & Cheats
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 09-25-2011, 11:40 AM
  2. [Help] Will my PC be able to run Battlefield 3 on high settings...
    By Xbox Camper in forum Battlefield 3 (BF3) Hacks & Cheats
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 08-25-2011, 02:12 AM
  3. [Tutorial] Make Crossfire run 100% Faster/High FPS
    By Arthur Ace in forum CrossFire Tutorials
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-13-2011, 05:30 PM
  4. How to run crossfire on high priority
    By DestinSoul in forum CrossFire Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-11-2010, 09:15 AM
  5. Run Crossfire In High Priority
    By serpentine in forum CrossFire Discussions
    Replies: 55
    Last Post: 04-21-2010, 11:48 PM