Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Markus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    5,141
    Reputation
    101
    Thanks
    593
    My Mood
    Daring

    intel turbo boost

    I got a i5 with 3.1GhZ
    Turbo boost boosts it to 3.3GhZ
    I wonder, why dont everyone use it ?

  2. #2
    Ed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Gender
    female
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    18,294
    Reputation
    1007
    Thanks
    1,163
    My Mood
    In Love
    Because they all have i7 or AMD builds





  3. #3
    Occidi de Pax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Back To The Drum!
    Posts
    3,069
    Reputation
    102
    Thanks
    180
    My Mood
    Bored
    Because its a small weak overclock :|
    Besides myne goes from 3.4 to 3.6 so not a big surprise :|
    Music historian here to please and displease,learning to teach all you peeps,so stop by the music part of the forum,and ask the question to your needs.

  4. #4
    Expert at leaving women disappointed physically and emotionally.
    Premium Seller
    Premium Member
    Minionforce
    Wyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Gender
    female
    Location
    Tijuana
    Posts
    23,269
    Reputation
    3495
    Thanks
    3,633
    My Mood
    Lurking
    Never did overclock.
     
    I smoke dix daily.
    I am Dix, and Arun is my master.
    I'M #1 NIGXMAS SCAMMER

  5. #5
    Mauled's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    2,429
    Reputation
    212
    Thanks
    196
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by Ecstasy View Post
    Never did overclock.
    How do i overclock ;/

  6. #6
    Occidi de Pax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Back To The Drum!
    Posts
    3,069
    Reputation
    102
    Thanks
    180
    My Mood
    Bored
    Quote Originally Posted by mAULed View Post
    How do i overclock ;/
    Go to bios cpu clock INCREASE TO 4...wait 10 min smell the burn
    Music historian here to please and displease,learning to teach all you peeps,so stop by the music part of the forum,and ask the question to your needs.

  7. #7
    Markus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    5,141
    Reputation
    101
    Thanks
    593
    My Mood
    Daring
    Quote Originally Posted by mAULed View Post
    How do i overclock ;/
    @Ecstasy
    @mAULed
    ITS SAFE
    U dont do anything... U just install it and it does everything for u

  8. #8
    Stevenom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Summoner's Rift
    Posts
    17,746
    Reputation
    1087
    Thanks
    1,916
    My Mood
    Doubtful
    Pretty sure it's automatic unless you disable it in BIOS.
    My stock is 3.8Ghz turbo.
    Too bad I overclocked mine to 4.5Ghz.


    Quote Originally Posted by Ecstasy View Post
    Never did overclock.
    It's automatic, no need to overclock.

    Quote Originally Posted by ultimateon View Post

    Go to bios cpu clock INCREASE TO 4...wait 10 min smell the burn
    I'm pretty sure it will fail and BIOS is gonna reset itself because increasing clocks to that high won't do shit if you don't add voltages.
    Last edited by Stevenom; 03-30-2012 at 06:53 AM.

  9. #9
    InCognito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    15,772
    Reputation
    1546
    Thanks
    4,294,967,295
    Not like .2 will do anything for you.

  10. #10
    Drtro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    540
    Posts
    3,085
    Reputation
    6
    Thanks
    161
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevenom View Post
    Pretty sure it's automatic unless you disable it in BIOS.
    My stock is 3.8Ghz turbo.
    Too bad I overclocked mine to 4.5Ghz.




    It's automatic, no need to overclock.



    I'm pretty sure it will fail and BIOS is gonna reset itself because increasing clocks to that high won't do shit if you don't add voltages.
    What possibly takes 4.5 GHz?

    I can run FL Studio with about 20 plugins running on 2.6Ghz. This would cause a shit PC like Mac to freeze.

    Run most games with 10-15% usage.

  11. #11
    Stevenom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Summoner's Rift
    Posts
    17,746
    Reputation
    1087
    Thanks
    1,916
    My Mood
    Doubtful
    Quote Originally Posted by Drtro View Post


    What possibly takes 4.5 GHz?

    I can run FL Studio with about 20 plugins running on 2.6Ghz. This would cause a shit PC like Mac to freeze.

    Run most games with 10-15% usage.
    I don't know.
    Video rendering?
    CPU benchmarking?

  12. #12
    Drtro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    540
    Posts
    3,085
    Reputation
    6
    Thanks
    161
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevenom View Post


    I don't know.
    Video rendering?
    CPU benchmarking?
    Is the extra money really worth it just to benchmark? My CPU was $90. Not a problem yet. Though my GFX is shit and screen goes black when loading too many windows.

  13. #13
    Stevenom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Summoner's Rift
    Posts
    17,746
    Reputation
    1087
    Thanks
    1,916
    My Mood
    Doubtful
    Quote Originally Posted by Drtro View Post


    Is the extra money really worth it just to benchmark? My CPU was $90. Not a problem yet. Though my GFX is shit and screen goes black when loading too many windows.
    You ignored video rendering.
    The hyperthreading helps a lot.

  14. #14
    Drtro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    540
    Posts
    3,085
    Reputation
    6
    Thanks
    161
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevenom View Post


    You ignored video rendering.
    The hyperthreading helps a lot.
    I rarely make videos other than Crossfire gameplay which takes about 10 mins to render a 5-6 min video. I can't complain.

    I'm thinking of making a new build as soon as I get money with the new LGA2011 CPU's.

  15. #15
    Occidi de Pax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Back To The Drum!
    Posts
    3,069
    Reputation
    102
    Thanks
    180
    My Mood
    Bored
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevenom View Post
    P

    I'm pretty sure it will fail and BIOS is gonna reset itself because increasing clocks to that high won't do shit if you don't add voltages.
    Forgot about that silly me :|
    Music historian here to please and displease,learning to teach all you peeps,so stop by the music part of the forum,and ask the question to your needs.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. FPS Lag Guide + Advanced System Care + Turbo Boost
    By 1wizz in forum General Hacking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-26-2010, 04:18 AM
  2. New XPS with Intel i7
    By Juan in forum General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-17-2009, 11:09 PM
  3. Intel(R) 82915G/GV/910GL Express Chipset Family 6.14.10.4277
    By m164life in forum Hardware & Software Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-13-2008, 09:22 AM
  4. exp boosting
    By qwat in forum Combat Arms Hacks & Cheats
    Replies: 90
    Last Post: 08-02-2008, 09:36 PM
  5. Site Needs Design Section Boost!
    By -[standoff]- in forum Art & Graphic Design
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-06-2006, 03:08 AM