Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Tall kiwi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Living in Kiwi land
    Posts
    4,536
    Reputation
    325
    Thanks
    573
    My Mood
    Cheerful

    Help with shutting down apps on android?

    i need some help on how to shut down apps that are already open

    is there a way or app that i can get that will shut them down completely? or is there a simple way to do it like on ipod or iphone you double tap the home, hold down on the app icon then just hit the red button that appears on the top left

    ive tried google and its not that helpful i want someone that has had a lot of experience with android

    my way of doing it is opening: settings -> applications -> running services -> then clicking on app and stopping it... problem is, is that it doesnt show all my apps open

    so is there another of shutting apps dowwwwwwwwwwwwwn


    (ive only had the phone for 1 day)
    Last edited by Tall kiwi; 06-29-2012 at 02:13 AM.
    Oh hai der.

  2. #2
    Jabuuty671's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    21,231
    Reputation
    1468
    Thanks
    4,095
    Advanced Task Killer Free
    or get Hi Launcher (a free home-screen replacement app) and it comes with a 1-click clean button


  3. #3
    parag0nx9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    riding kangaroos
    Posts
    313
    Reputation
    -33
    Thanks
    14
    My Mood
    Sad
    download task manager
    then hold down home button and press task manager and press end all.
    comes default on samsung phones.


    Feel free to add me on steam: Dvorak

  4. #4
    Tall kiwi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Living in Kiwi land
    Posts
    4,536
    Reputation
    325
    Thanks
    573
    My Mood
    Cheerful
    Quote Originally Posted by Jabuuty671 View Post
    Advanced Task Killer Free
    or get Hi Launcher (a free home-screen replacement app) and it comes with a 1-click clean button
    also, how do did you take a screen shot like that?
    Quote Originally Posted by parag0nx9 View Post
    download task manager
    then hold down home button and press task manager and press end all.
    comes default on samsung phones.
    im guessing its this one?


    which is better, advanced task killer or task manager?
    Oh hai der.

  5. #5
    Ravallo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    17,106
    Reputation
    2134
    Thanks
    5,715
    My Mood
    Angelic
    Quote Originally Posted by Tall kiwi View Post

    also, how do did you take a screen shot like that?


    im guessing its this one?


    which is better, advanced task killer or task manager?
    Advanced Task Killer; you should actually get the Pro version.
    (Google for a free apk)


     

    MSN: woutervvelsen@live.nl
    Timezone: GMT +1



    Middleman since: April 13th, 2011
    Marketplace minion since: April 18th, 2011
    Runescape minion since: June 6th, 2011
    Moderator since: September 28th, 2011
    General Moderator since: November 2nd, 2011
    Global Moderator since: April 29th, 2012
    Super User since: November 1st, 2013

  6. #6
    Occidi de Pax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Back To The Drum!
    Posts
    3,069
    Reputation
    102
    Thanks
    180
    My Mood
    Bored
    Here´s a tip.
    Use a custom rom so that you dont get anoying Stock rom programs
    Music historian here to please and displease,learning to teach all you peeps,so stop by the music part of the forum,and ask the question to your needs.

  7. #7
    Tall kiwi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Living in Kiwi land
    Posts
    4,536
    Reputation
    325
    Thanks
    573
    My Mood
    Cheerful
    Quote Originally Posted by Ravallo View Post


    Advanced Task Killer; you should actually get the Pro version.
    (Google for a free apk)
    i have the free version, whats the difference with the pro version?


    ---------- Post added at 10:52 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:51 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by ultimateon View Post
    Here´s a tip.
    Use a custom rom so that you dont get anoying Stock rom programs
    i dont want to jailbreak/root (whatever it is) my phone
    Oh hai der.

  8. #8
    Occidi de Pax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Back To The Drum!
    Posts
    3,069
    Reputation
    102
    Thanks
    180
    My Mood
    Bored
    Quote Originally Posted by Tall kiwi View Post


    i have the free version, whats the difference with the pro version?


    ---------- Post added at 10:52 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:51 PM ----------



    i dont want to jailbreak/root (whatever it is) my phone
    Jailbreaking isnt jailbraking Unlike the iphone rooting is perfectly legal.
    You just lose all guarantees on the phone and stuff like that.
    And it grants better performance, Better apps, more control over the phone, less shit from the original brand.
    Music historian here to please and displease,learning to teach all you peeps,so stop by the music part of the forum,and ask the question to your needs.

  9. #9
    Ravallo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    17,106
    Reputation
    2134
    Thanks
    5,715
    My Mood
    Angelic
    Quote Originally Posted by Tall kiwi View Post


    i have the free version, whats the difference with the pro version?


    Not quite sure, aren't some features restricted in the Free Version?


     

    MSN: woutervvelsen@live.nl
    Timezone: GMT +1



    Middleman since: April 13th, 2011
    Marketplace minion since: April 18th, 2011
    Runescape minion since: June 6th, 2011
    Moderator since: September 28th, 2011
    General Moderator since: November 2nd, 2011
    Global Moderator since: April 29th, 2012
    Super User since: November 1st, 2013

  10. #10
    Occidi de Pax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Back To The Drum!
    Posts
    3,069
    Reputation
    102
    Thanks
    180
    My Mood
    Bored
    Quote Originally Posted by Ravallo View Post


    Not quite sure, aren't some features restricted in the Free Version?
    That+ The adds we get.[/COLOR]
    Music historian here to please and displease,learning to teach all you peeps,so stop by the music part of the forum,and ask the question to your needs.

  11. #11
    Tall kiwi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Living in Kiwi land
    Posts
    4,536
    Reputation
    325
    Thanks
    573
    My Mood
    Cheerful
    Quote Originally Posted by ultimateon View Post

    Jailbreaking isnt jailbraking Unlike the iphone rooting is perfectly legal.
    You just lose all guarantees on the phone and stuff like that.
    And it grants better performance, Better apps, more control over the phone, less shit from the original brand.
    ok i will look into it when im more familiar with the phone so i can fix it if something goes wrong?
    Quote Originally Posted by Ravallo View Post


    Not quite sure, aren't some features restricted in the Free Version?
    ok thats fine, also how do you install apps if you have downloaded them from your pc? i tried connecting my phone by usb and putting it in my sd card and that didnt work...

    sorry for all the questions >.<
    [/COLOR]
    Oh hai der.

  12. #12
    Ravallo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    17,106
    Reputation
    2134
    Thanks
    5,715
    My Mood
    Angelic
    Quote Originally Posted by Tall kiwi View Post
    ok thats fine, also how do you install apps if you have downloaded them from your pc? i tried connecting my phone by usb and putting it in my sd card and that didnt work...

    sorry for all the questions >.<
    You should indeed put them on your SD Card (/Downloads), but your phone itself won't show the apk files.
    For that you will need 'App installer'


     

    MSN: woutervvelsen@live.nl
    Timezone: GMT +1



    Middleman since: April 13th, 2011
    Marketplace minion since: April 18th, 2011
    Runescape minion since: June 6th, 2011
    Moderator since: September 28th, 2011
    General Moderator since: November 2nd, 2011
    Global Moderator since: April 29th, 2012
    Super User since: November 1st, 2013

  13. #13
    Occidi de Pax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Back To The Drum!
    Posts
    3,069
    Reputation
    102
    Thanks
    180
    My Mood
    Bored
    Quote Originally Posted by Ravallo View Post


    You should indeed put them on your SD Card (/Downloads), but your phone itself won't show the apk files.
    For that you will need 'App installer'
    Or any File maneger will work :|
    Music historian here to please and displease,learning to teach all you peeps,so stop by the music part of the forum,and ask the question to your needs.

  14. #14
    Jabuuty671's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    21,231
    Reputation
    1468
    Thanks
    4,095
    Quote Originally Posted by Tall kiwi View Post

    also, how do did you take a screen shot like that?
    I used an app developed for the Motorola Atrix 4g (screen grabber) i don't know if it may work for your phone so.... yeah
    then I used the Imgur app to upload it.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tall kiwi View Post

    im guessing its this one?


    which is better, advanced task killer or task manager?
    I used Advanced Task Killer Free for near 8 months until I got Hi Launcher.


  15. #15
    For every dark night, there's a brighter day.
    MPGH Member
    Shadow-Dancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Gender
    female
    Location
    Lookin' at the sky
    Posts
    1,037
    Reputation
    19
    Thanks
    143
    My Mood
    Angelic
    Task manager comes default on S. phones.
    Didn't try ATKiller.
    BY REAP

Similar Threads

  1. [Help Request] UGghhhh. Error occurred with Hackshield "Shutting Down"
    By udp in forum Combat Arms Help
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-25-2011, 02:57 PM
  2. Block Calling App For Android Help
    By Drtro in forum General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-19-2011, 08:55 PM
  3. Game shuts down if im hack please help!
    By nurettin in forum Combat Arms EU Help
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 09-10-2010, 08:04 AM
  4. Help, Check If windows is shutting down!
    By Zoom in forum Visual Basic Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-07-2009, 07:15 AM
  5. Problem with hacks, CA keeps shutting down
    By minho in forum Combat Arms Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-13-2009, 05:43 AM