Thread: My Specs

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Lady GaGa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Gamerage
    Posts
    5,147
    Reputation
    140
    Thanks
    333
    My Mood
    Angelic

    My Specs

    Windows® 7 Home Premium, 64Bit, English
    3rd Generation Intel® Core™ i7-3820 (10M Cache, Overclocked up to 4.1 GHz)
    16GB Quad Channel DDR3 at 1600MHz
    Dual 1.5GB GDDR5 NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 660
    500GB SS Hybrid MAIN + 1TB 7200RPM Storage
    Single Drive: Dual Layer Blu-ray Reader (BD-ROM, DVD±RW, CD-RW)
    Integrated 7.1 Channel Audio
    Last edited by Lady GaGa; 08-20-2012 at 10:17 PM.
    Your signature has been removed due to excessive homosexuality.

  2. #2
    Gragodine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    C:\Users\Gragodine\My Documents\Grag.exe
    Posts
    703
    Reputation
    98
    Thanks
    72
    My Mood
    Amused
    Quote Originally Posted by Lady GaGa View Post
    2nd Generation Intel® Core™ i7-3820
    a 3820 is 3rd gen not 2nd lol.

    Quote Originally Posted by Lady GaGa View Post
    Dual 1.5GB GDDR5 NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 660
    DAYUMMMMM you packin some heat right durrr.
    .Gragtastic.
    Failed Genius

  3. #3
    maddoggy00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    3,414
    Reputation
    637
    Thanks
    5,325
    Not bad. Only diff I have with mine is i7 2700k (have oc'd to 5.5GHz but just run it at stock for longevity), HD6850/6870 and 2x SSD's = 500GB and 3TB of HD space. Other than RAM I never use more than 40% of my resources. How much did it cost to build?

    As of 9/17, I will be away for a few days due to medical reasons. Should be back up soon. Please refer to a GM or other mods in whatever particular section you need help with.



    Quote Originally Posted by Nico View Post
    I'm playing legit with my hacks
    MSN/Email/Skype: maddoggy00@aol.com
    If you add me on skype without an explicit message stating who you are on MPGH, you will be denied and blocked.

    Feel free to donate if I helped you earn some $$

    Tutorials for consoles and hacks

    Woo.exe Oath Mode with Next Map option, Follow-Bot, Master map (runs any S1 map), Two Moons, Mining. Requires a .dll with hacks for full functionality.

  4. #4
    Lady GaGa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Gamerage
    Posts
    5,147
    Reputation
    140
    Thanks
    333
    My Mood
    Angelic
    Quote Originally Posted by maddoggy00 View Post
    Not bad. Only diff I have with mine is i7 2700k (have oc'd to 5.5GHz but just run it at stock for longevity), HD6850/6870 and 2x SSD's = 500GB and 3TB of HD space. Other than RAM I never use more than 40% of my resources. How much did it cost to build?
    Around $1900

    and @Gragodine oops XD
    Your signature has been removed due to excessive homosexuality.

  5. #5
    maddoggy00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    3,414
    Reputation
    637
    Thanks
    5,325
    Quote Originally Posted by Lady GaGa View Post


    Around $1900

    and @Gragodine oops XD
    Not bad. I pieced mine together between 6-12 months ago was about $1700 also. Now you can contribute to the Docking@Home project

    As of 9/17, I will be away for a few days due to medical reasons. Should be back up soon. Please refer to a GM or other mods in whatever particular section you need help with.



    Quote Originally Posted by Nico View Post
    I'm playing legit with my hacks
    MSN/Email/Skype: maddoggy00@aol.com
    If you add me on skype without an explicit message stating who you are on MPGH, you will be denied and blocked.

    Feel free to donate if I helped you earn some $$

    Tutorials for consoles and hacks

    Woo.exe Oath Mode with Next Map option, Follow-Bot, Master map (runs any S1 map), Two Moons, Mining. Requires a .dll with hacks for full functionality.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to maddoggy00 For This Useful Post:

    Lady GaGa (08-20-2012)

  7. #6
    iverson954360's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    10,280
    Reputation
    940
    Thanks
    1,656
    My Mood
    Dead
    You're a fucking idiot if you just went and bought 2 1.5gb cards. You realize that when you SLi the cards together their total usable memory still only amounts to 1.5gb which is useless for higher resolutions which require more space to load textures. If you aren't running a multi monitor set up at high resolutions (which you probably aren't considering the 1.5gb of card space) then you just wasted a shit ton of money on a second card.

    You're also an idiot for purchasing a hybrid drive. I don't even need to get into that one.
    Last edited by iverson954360; 08-20-2012 at 10:28 PM.

  8. #7
    Lady GaGa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Gamerage
    Posts
    5,147
    Reputation
    140
    Thanks
    333
    My Mood
    Angelic
    Quote Originally Posted by iverson954360 View Post
    You're a fucking idiot if you just went and bought 2 1.5gb cards. You realize that when you SLi the cards together their total usable memory still only amounts to 1.5gb which is useless for higher resolutions which require more space to load textures. If you aren't running a multi monitor set up at high resolutions (which you probably aren't considering the 1.5gb of card space) then you just wasted a shit ton of money on a second card.

    You're also an idiot for purchasing a hybrid drive. I don't even need to get into that one.
    But I am running a multi-monitor setup. Why so cranky?
    Your signature has been removed due to excessive homosexuality.

  9. #8
    unicorn69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,112
    Reputation
    -147
    Thanks
    55
    My Mood
    Fine
    That's some good shit.

  10. #9
    Gragodine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    C:\Users\Gragodine\My Documents\Grag.exe
    Posts
    703
    Reputation
    98
    Thanks
    72
    My Mood
    Amused
    Quote Originally Posted by iverson954360 View Post
    You're a fucking idiot if you just went and bought 2 1.5gb cards. You realize that when you SLi the cards together their total usable memory still only amounts to 1.5gb which is useless for higher resolutions which require more space to load textures. If you aren't running a multi monitor set up at high resolutions (which you probably aren't considering the 1.5gb of card space) then you just wasted a shit ton of money on a second card.

    You're also an idiot for purchasing a hybrid drive. I don't even need to get into that one.
    I thought each monitor used the ram from the card it was hooked up too. So just hook up the 3rd monitor to the second card and it will use those 1.5gbs.
    I haven't put an SLI/Crossfire rig together yet so please correct me if I'm wrong.

    EDIT:

    I wouldn't exactly call it stupid to run those cards in SLI even if its only a one monitor setup. I like to call that future proofing your rig for the next 4-5 years.
    Its like when people said that you would never use SLI 9800GT's to their full extent.
    Last edited by Gragodine; 08-20-2012 at 10:44 PM.
    .Gragtastic.
    Failed Genius

  11. #10
    iverson954360's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    10,280
    Reputation
    940
    Thanks
    1,656
    My Mood
    Dead
    Quote Originally Posted by Gragodine View Post
    I thought each monitor used the ram from the card it was hooked up too. So just hook up the 3rd monitor to the second card and it will use those 1.5gbs.
    I haven't put an SLI/Crossfire rig together yet so please correct me if I'm wrong.

    EDIT:

    I wouldn't exactly call it stupid to run those cards in SLI even if its only a one monitor setup. I like to call that future proofing your rig for the next 4-5 years.
    Its like when people said that you would never use SLI 9800GT's to their full extent.
    When you SLI cards it uses the lowest denomination of available memory for the VRAM memory, so no matter what size combination you use, your system will only see the lowest card's VRAM as total system VRAM. When you start getting into higher resolutions this could be a problem if you SLi'd cards that have small VRAM.


    ---------- Post added at 08:47 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:46 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Lady GaGa View Post

    But I am running a multi-monitor setup. Why so cranky?
    You still wasted money considering your VRAM constraints being 1.5gb of texture space. That won't get you shit when you start cranking up texture quality in current to next gen games.

  12. #11
    BluntGod_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    The Projects.
    Posts
    471
    Reputation
    167
    Thanks
    273
    My Mood
    Mellow
    Your drivers are what really stand out.

  13. #12
    maddoggy00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    3,414
    Reputation
    637
    Thanks
    5,325
    Quote Originally Posted by iverson954360 View Post


    When you SLI cards it uses the lowest denomination of available memory for the VRAM memory, so no matter what size combination you use, your system will only see the lowest card's VRAM as total system VRAM. When you start getting into higher resolutions this could be a problem if you SLi'd cards that have small VRAM.


    ---------- Post added at 08:47 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:46 PM ----------



    You still wasted money considering your VRAM constraints being 1.5gb of texture space. That won't get you shit when you start cranking up texture quality in current to next gen games.
    It's not a dumb setup. When I'm not gaming (which is most of the time) I'm using 4x monitors, sometimes a 5th for the TV, with HD 6850/6870. I only use (and would suggest to use) SLI/Xfire when you're doing high level gaming, which reverts down to 2 monitors, at least for Xfire; dunno if SLI does the same thing. You need the extra cards for the multiple monitors as most cards only support 2-3 monitors. It's a bit overkill on 660s but if you got a good deal on em from newegg, nbd. Maybe I don't run into issues because my drivers automatically squeeze me down to 2 monitors, which is fine for 1.5Gb

    As of 9/17, I will be away for a few days due to medical reasons. Should be back up soon. Please refer to a GM or other mods in whatever particular section you need help with.



    Quote Originally Posted by Nico View Post
    I'm playing legit with my hacks
    MSN/Email/Skype: maddoggy00@aol.com
    If you add me on skype without an explicit message stating who you are on MPGH, you will be denied and blocked.

    Feel free to donate if I helped you earn some $$

    Tutorials for consoles and hacks

    Woo.exe Oath Mode with Next Map option, Follow-Bot, Master map (runs any S1 map), Two Moons, Mining. Requires a .dll with hacks for full functionality.

  14. #13
    iverson954360's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    10,280
    Reputation
    940
    Thanks
    1,656
    My Mood
    Dead
    Quote Originally Posted by maddoggy00 View Post


    It's not a dumb setup. When I'm not gaming (which is most of the time) I'm using 4x monitors, sometimes a 5th for the TV, with HD 6850/6870. I only use (and would suggest to use) SLI/Xfire when you're doing high level gaming, which reverts down to 2 monitors, at least for Xfire; dunno if SLI does the same thing. You need the extra cards for the multiple monitors as most cards only support 2-3 monitors. It's a bit overkill on 660s but if you got a good deal on em from newegg, nbd. Maybe I don't run into issues because my drivers automatically squeeze me down to 2 monitors, which is fine for 1.5Gb
    It's all about resolution, might run fine on 2 monitors for you but that is all relative to the texture quality settings and resolutions you run both monitors at. Otherwise you're going to run into a bottleneck with low vram while pushing higher quality textures at high resolutions.

  15. #14
    maddoggy00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    3,414
    Reputation
    637
    Thanks
    5,325
    Quote Originally Posted by iverson954360 View Post


    It's all about resolution, might run fine on 2 monitors for you but that is all relative to the texture quality settings and resolutions you run both monitors at. Otherwise you're going to run into a bottleneck with low vram while pushing higher quality textures at high resolutions.
    Yea I'm just sayin you're jumpin without even knowing the monitor setup. I would agree, 2x 660s is not the smartest choice if you have 2x 22" or 1x 27" monitors runnin at max res. 3+ it's good to have 2 cards. But you can't mix and match SLI/Xfire setups; you have to buy 2 of the same cards usually. And if a 1.5Gb card goes on sale for $50 off, it isn't a huge waste to get it when you were looking at something lower. In Xfire I never even get past 50% GPU useage and 70% RAM useage.

    As of 9/17, I will be away for a few days due to medical reasons. Should be back up soon. Please refer to a GM or other mods in whatever particular section you need help with.



    Quote Originally Posted by Nico View Post
    I'm playing legit with my hacks
    MSN/Email/Skype: maddoggy00@aol.com
    If you add me on skype without an explicit message stating who you are on MPGH, you will be denied and blocked.

    Feel free to donate if I helped you earn some $$

    Tutorials for consoles and hacks

    Woo.exe Oath Mode with Next Map option, Follow-Bot, Master map (runs any S1 map), Two Moons, Mining. Requires a .dll with hacks for full functionality.

  16. #15
    FrosK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Porto, Portugal
    Posts
    2,656
    Reputation
    411
    Thanks
    1,239
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Nice computers, I still use Intel Pentium
    But I have GeForce GT9600 (sh*t too )
    Last edited by FrosK; 08-20-2012 at 11:16 PM.


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Post Your PC specs and rate.
    By NumbZone in forum General
    Replies: 69
    Last Post: 07-14-2009, 04:13 AM
  2. HackShield Specs
    By [MOD]Ųŋķŋǿŵŋ in forum Combat Arms Hacks & Cheats
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-12-2009, 06:38 PM
  3. computer specs!
    By scimmyboy in forum General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-03-2008, 02:16 PM
  4. Selling level 38 warrock account check the specs!
    By gunny101 in forum Trade Accounts/Keys/Items
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 09-03-2007, 06:08 AM
  5. Post ur computer specs.
    By ~Viper~ in forum Spammers Corner
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 05-30-2006, 09:51 AM