Thread: Virtualization

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    K-Pop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Gender
    female
    Posts
    11
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    My Mood
    Stressed

    Virtualization

    How much RAM is sufficient for virtualization in VMWare?
    4GB
    6GB
    8GB
    12GB
    16GB

  2. #2
    yugurt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    3,410
    Reputation
    364
    Thanks
    682
    depends how many machines you plan to run i would say 16 or 32 if your going to do serius virtualization

  3. #3
    Poison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    california
    Posts
    11,575
    Reputation
    542
    Thanks
    1,132
    4 gb should be good enough
    get 8 to be sure

  4. #4
    K-Pop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Gender
    female
    Posts
    11
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    My Mood
    Stressed
    Quote Originally Posted by yugurt View Post
    depends how many machines you plan to run i would say 16 or 32 if your going to do serius virtualization
    I plan to do as much 8GB limits me to.

  5. #5
    yugurt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    3,410
    Reputation
    364
    Thanks
    682
    Quote Originally Posted by K-Pop View Post
    I plan to do as much 8GB limits me to.
    well if you going to get 8 why do you ask?

  6. #6
    K-Pop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Gender
    female
    Posts
    11
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    My Mood
    Stressed
    Quote Originally Posted by yugurt View Post
    well if you going to get 8 why do you ask?
    Because I'd like to see how much would be sufficient? If 8 isn't enough, I can probably get 16GB.

  7. #7
    yugurt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    3,410
    Reputation
    364
    Thanks
    682
    Quote Originally Posted by K-Pop View Post
    Because I'd like to see how much would be sufficient? If 8 isn't enough, I can probably get 16GB.
    ok it's all good

  8. #8
    K-Pop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Gender
    female
    Posts
    11
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    My Mood
    Stressed
    Quote Originally Posted by yugurt View Post
    ok it's all good
    How many machines would i probably be able to run? I'd like to
    1. test compatibility of programs I'll create
    2. test/analyze malware

  9. #9
    Poison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    california
    Posts
    11,575
    Reputation
    542
    Thanks
    1,132
    Quote Originally Posted by K-Pop View Post
    I plan to do as much 8GB limits me to.
    always get above what you want to do

  10. #10
    K-Pop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Gender
    female
    Posts
    11
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    My Mood
    Stressed
    Quote Originally Posted by Poison View Post


    always get above what you want to do
    How much would 8GB allow me to do though?

  11. #11
    Arhk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    3,619
    Reputation
    35
    Thanks
    217
    My Mood
    Amused
    Have 64GB just to make sure.
    ~
    "If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first." John 15:18

    "True strength isn't determined by when a man has a lot and gives enough, but when he has nothing left but keeps on giving."
    "A man is determined by the strength of his will."
    "Courage has nothing to do with ascertaining any sense of certainty, but the will to go on even
    in the face of uncertainty." - Arhk



  12. #12
    ☬Ξητσρζ Ζσ♍βε δτσηε☬
    Former Staff
    Premium Member
    Lehsyrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,900
    Reputation
    1281
    Thanks
    3,072
    What are you using these machines for specifically, what OS is going to be on these machines, and how many do you want to run maximum?

  13. #13
    K-Pop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Gender
    female
    Posts
    11
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    My Mood
    Stressed
    Quote Originally Posted by Lehsyrus View Post
    What are you using these machines for specifically, what OS is going to be on these machines, and how many do you want to run maximum?
    How many machines would i probably be able to run? I'd like to
    1. test compatibility of programs I'll create
    2. test/analyze malware

    I'd like to use XP, and Linux on those(Virtual machines)
    I'd like to be able to run at least 1-3, with my computer not lagging..

  14. #14
    ☬Ξητσρζ Ζσ♍βε δτσηε☬
    Former Staff
    Premium Member
    Lehsyrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,900
    Reputation
    1281
    Thanks
    3,072
    Quote Originally Posted by K-Pop View Post
    How many machines would i probably be able to run? I'd like to
    1. test compatibility of programs I'll create
    2. test/analyze malware

    I'd like to use XP, and Linux on those(Virtual machines)
    I'd like to be able to run at least 1-3, with my computer not lagging..
    You will need more than just RAM if you want to run multiple at once. A decent processor (at least an i5) is a big part of it as well. I recommend a minimum of 16 gb if you're running 1-5 at once. Anything more just upgrade it to 32 corsair vengeance (best IMO).

  15. #15
    Arhk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    3,619
    Reputation
    35
    Thanks
    217
    My Mood
    Amused
    Quote Originally Posted by Lehsyrus View Post


    You will need more than just RAM if you want to run multiple at once. A decent processor (at least an i5) is a big part of it as well. I recommend a minimum of 16 gb if you're running 1-5 at once. Anything more just upgrade it to 32 corsair vengeance (best IMO).
    If he runs 3 VMs at once + his host OS that's definitely an i7, and not just an entry level one, mid range.
    ~
    "If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first." John 15:18

    "True strength isn't determined by when a man has a lot and gives enough, but when he has nothing left but keeps on giving."
    "A man is determined by the strength of his will."
    "Courage has nothing to do with ascertaining any sense of certainty, but the will to go on even
    in the face of uncertainty." - Arhk



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Virtual Charades! Fun Fun Fun!
    By megaspeek in forum General
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 08-06-2008, 04:48 PM
  2. Virtual basic warrock hack help!
    By iwanthacks121 in forum Programming Tutorial Requests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-03-2008, 04:15 PM
  3. Download Virtual Basic 6!!
    By Dokuda in forum WarRock - International Hacks
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 10-01-2007, 12:09 PM
  4. Virtual Pc 2007
    By balour in forum Hardware & Software Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-05-2007, 02:57 PM
  5. Virtual Basic Help!! Experts only!!
    By M-Tune in forum WarRock - International Hacks
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-30-2007, 01:34 PM